Mellow Like Yellow

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Have You Never Been Mellow?.”

I suppose if I said they call me Mellow Yellow, it might call up that odd New York City time when a mayor recommended when and when not to flush. What? You never heard of that?

Would Donovan ring a bell? It’s what I was getting at anyway. Those were the days. Who worked? Who was still in school? No, it was all standing on the blacktop, thumb out, and making our way across country. It was the time of flowers in our hair, going back to the garden. Woodstock wasn’t a little Peanuts bird; it was that moment, that time out of time, when a nation of people gathered for… well if you can remember the number of days, then you weren’t there, so they say.  But most of all it was music that wafted out across a throng of bodies beneath a Mellow Yellow sun, groovin’ and movin’ and lovin.

Those were the days because when these days get me all in a “Dizzy Miss Lizzie” tizzy, I grab my headphones, plug in my MP3 player and zone out to that “Magical Mystery Tour.” Peace Out.

Quote

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. avsweb1
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 02:09:58

    Great blog! Thanks for helping earlier on blogging101

    Like

    Reply

  2. Roz Hill
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 05:18:59

    Flowers in my hair? I was there sister! Singing Dylan songs! A retired folkie at that….
    .

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Edge OSeventeen
      Jan 08, 2015 @ 14:26:40

      Let’s raise a glass to “those were the days, my friend. We thought they’d never end…” It’s always great to find a kindred! 🙂

      On Thu, Jan 8, 2015 at 12:19 AM, Quantum Hermit wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

