Bridget Jones Inspired

DAILY PROMPT: [Rare Medium… in a form rarely used before.]

FOR TODAY
I WILL:

Wake up.
Get out of bed.
Try not to fall in the toilet, because my eyes are still closed.
Pry my eyes open, and pick up my kindle. Read a page.
Having forgotten to turn on the hot water first, freeze my hands off. curse the winter, cold water and… did I say winter?
Go downstairs, even though its barely 60 down there, (it’s 2, count them: one, two whole degrees on the thermometer outside the kitchen window).
Curse that I forgot to turn the heat up on my way to turn on the computer that has its home in the bowels of this should-be-an-igloo house.
Trudge back upstairs wondering if I can count that as my exercise for today.

I WILL NOT:
Answer the phone.
Grumble about cooking, even if it is the bain of my existence.
Skip writing my daily prompt
Skip doing a reading, even though I have for the last nine days.
Go outside until it reaches at least above freezing (an easy cheat).
Forget to take the wood out of the back seat of my little halfcar.
Curse the post office for being slow in delivering my next movie.
Forget to give my sweetie his treat at lunch time. (minds out of the gutter folks; we’re talking donuts here, not sex).
Stay up past 1:30 a.m.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tj720
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 19:32:54

    This is such a great post! Its really creative, fun, engaging, and well written. Where do you live that it gets so cold? I’m so sorry. I think it’s too cold outside if its below 20 haha. I can’t imagine 2. Thanks for putting a smile on my face! ~The TJ Blog

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 14, 2015 @ 19:40:08

      Thank you very much! Maybe it’s the fact that I used to live in Wisconsin where 22 blow zero seemed the norm through winter, but that was then and this is now, and 2 degrees is still WAY cold. I’m just 800 miles east now, but still near enough to Canada that it ruins about 5 months out of the year for me.

      Like

      Reply

  2. sydgrant
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 19:38:09

    I loved this! I’ve never really seen a post written in this format. I’m such a believer in to-do lists and shopping lists – I never even thought of using it as a writing tool! Loved it! Thanks for sharing! (Also it’s 5 degrees where I am right now too! So cold! Stay warm!!!)

    Like

    Reply

  3. thesimplysassylife
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 19:41:59

    This was a fantastic read! Very creative and much like the kind of Daily posts I would love to write. Thanks for the inspiration and laughs! Where do you live? I think its cold where I am and as I write to you I have a heating pad to my back on High trying to stay warm! What movie are you looking to watch? Is this daily prompt the from our blogging 101 course or elsewhere? Also, what “readings” do you do? Sorry for so many questions. I am new to the blogging world and love to hear what others do so perhaps I can pick up some of their activities:)
    All the best,
    Kalyssa
    http://www.thesimplysassylife.com

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 14, 2015 @ 20:04:27

      @thesimplysassylife Thank you for your comments! I live too close to Canada, and that’s no fun after spending 8 fabulous years in the Southwest. Actually, we’re waiting on the next disc in a sci fi series (Babylon 5) from long ago, and far away from the sophisticated technology of todays series.
      On the readings question: Tarot.

      Don’t apologize for so many questions. It’s fun to connect. Also, yes, this is a daily prompt, from the blogging 101, called “Rare Medium,” which was one of the alternates for today’s prompt. Good luck and have fun with your own blogging.

      Like

      Reply

  4. thesimplysassylife
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 20:08:53

    Thank you so much! I am sorry you live so close to Canada and the freezing cold. I am certainly not someone who enjoys the cold. I am in Georgia with my house at 68 degrees and have my heating pad on my back on High. To you I imagine this temperature would be a luxury:) That sounds fascinating. I hope disc 5 arrives today!
    Tarot cards, do you read these online or have a deck? I love connecting with others as well! I am still so new to blogging 101 that I didnt even know there were alternatives. Where are you finding these? Thanks, Kalyssa

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 14, 2015 @ 20:19:42

      Do you have the link for the prompts page? It’s https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ and if you scroll down a bit, you’ll see all the previous prompts that we’ve been given. If you click on any one of them, you’ll see the actual specifics of that prompt. Right below the description of the prompt, you’ll see a place to click that says “try another prompt.” That will bring up another daily, maybe in the same category. I just kept clicking until I found one which felt like a good idea. 🙂

      I hope that helps.

      Like

      Reply

  5. lachouett "book reviews for pleasure"
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 22:08:03

    This is really good, will be sharing this on Twitter!!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Warsaurus
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 22:48:04

    Love posts like this – easy read yet insightful and fun! I must try to incorporate this style more into my blog! Keep writing 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 15, 2015 @ 02:03:11

      Thank you! I stopped by your site, and I read your post about your Dream Reader, and thought it was very very good. It is also wonderful to find through the process what really matters! I had quite a problem with the Dream Reader post as well, but did manage to get one done.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  7. Hannah Haynes
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 00:01:09

    Lovely post! I really enjoyed reading it. Very creative, I would’ve never thought to use a to do list to respond to the prompt. This type of list is something I should think about more often. Thanks for posting!

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 15, 2015 @ 01:57:40

      It’s funny, when I was reading how to do my ‘about’ page, they really put the cabosh on making it sound like a list. But this was a daily prompt which said to write it in a way I wouldn’t ordinarily use, so Bridget Jones’ Diary popped into my head as something I remembered from journal communities years ago. It was all the rage. So I tried it. Now I can see why the book was so popular 🙂 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  8. avsweb1
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 09:25:23

    Loved reading your post! Great writing.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Blogging 101 Inspired By… |

Leave a Reply

