Better Late Than Never

Prompt: RE-SPRINGING MY STEP: Ā [Tell about the last experience I had that left me feeling fresh energized, and rejuvenated. What was it that has such a positive effect on me?]

I let the water run just long enough so the bathroom feels a bit like a sauna. It’s warm, as the heat in the house hasn’t made it past 62 just yet, so I luxuriate in the embrace of the steam. Even breathing, though not like the winter-scented morning air, tickles my nose; makes it feel less stuffy. Leaving the clothing of the night behind, I step into the spray. It’s hot, and I want to feel it on my shoulders, and my back. My muscles relax under the needle-like fingers of the shower. Then I tilt my head back so my hair is beneath the waterfall, and saturates each strand. I can’t help emitting a satisfying Mmmmm as I settle into this morning ritual.

There are levels of fresh, energized, and rejuvenated. The morning bathing is but one step. Breakfast, with its aromas, and tastes, brings the sweetness of sating my appetite. With my hair dried and pulled back into a ponytail, and the fresh smelling day’s attire warming me, I’m ready for whatever the day brings.

Each hour of this day will be refreshing, rejuvenating, and energizing, as I meet a moment I’ve never known before. I step from one into the next, and this morning is now another past. Maybe I’ll hit a wall, but it’ll be one that will teach me more about myself. These will give me new chances to do something in a different way.

And I will go to sleep tonight with the thought of a favorite quote from a book: “Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?ā€ From Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitnessyogafreak
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 02:01:25

    This was so descriptive that I could almost feel it while I was reading it! Beautifully written!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Elle Knowles
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 21:25:47

    I had forgotten that quote from Anne of Green Gables. Great book from my childhood. ~Elle

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 22, 2015 @ 21:57:50

      It is a wonderful book, and an equally wonderful series. I always remember it wrong, so yesterday I looked it up to get the exact way she said it. But I was reminded of what an amazing character she was šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Faraday's Candle
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 14:08:43

    This is beautifully written.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

