What’s In A Word

PROMPT: Lexicographer: [Create a new word and explain its meaning.]

As with nicknames for folks, I have also made up nicks for things (like our house; and the rooms in our house). But that isn’t the same as making up a whole new word, I suppose.

When I was a wee one of about five years old, I wrote a poem with two never before known words. The link to that little girl brain has long since lost its connection, so what they meant, I could not say.

Still, my most recent made up word which I actually used in my “Paying It Forward”  post, is Alponkey. I think it might be fun, personally, if anyone, interested in finding that word in that post, can also figure out what the exact meaning is.

Maybe a contest would be in order. Though I’m uncertain what prize the winner would receive, were they to guess correctly. That might be worthy of a poll.

SO, to be continued, if anyone is game.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Faraday's Candle
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 17:32:53

    Alponkey!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Faraday's Candle
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 17:38:29

    Pile- to describe it’s fuzziness….lol—–Alponkey!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Safar Fiertze
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 15:05:24

    An alpaca crossed with a donkey? A mythological creature of unknown origin!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 15:45:27

    Oh I like that one. It isn’t the actual meaning of the word. The information is right in a link from the post “What’s In a Word.” You are now added to the contest list. I’m making a poll of what the winner gets (though in truth, we’re all winners, just because… we are!). Keep your eyes open for the poll!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Trackback: WHAT A GOOD DAY FOR A CONTEST! | Quantum Hermit

Leave a Reply

