The Key

PROMPT: TEACHER’S PET

[Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?]

Pick a teacher. Any teachcer. So, imagine this. If you had to remember back to last century (doesn’t that sound like ages? Eons? – it feels like it) just how much do you think you’d recall? Okay, sure, I know, so Mr Quantum can remember everyone of his teachers. Does that mean not a one of mine had an impact one me?Β  Actually I remember names, but the specifics of the people. Not at all. They could have been Schrodinger’s Cat, locked inside that box – or were they? I’ll never know.
So, having to tell you about what kind of impact one had on me; it’s just not gonna happen.

But that means starting off on a wrong foot in Blogging 201, and really, I’m a serious student now. But I had a talk with myself. Seriously. I opened my vid cam,Β and looked myself straight in the eye and read me the riot act, and my Miranda rights, and… I still ended up with nada.

The vid journal went on about the whole idea of influences, and of course, my mother came to mind. And she was a teacher – of life. And somewhere in my confessions to myself, it hit me. Dude! you’re looking right at the teachers. There’s 78 of them! Hand to head! “I coulda had a V8!” moment.

When I started talking about going in and doing a reading – 1st of the month, and Imbolc to boot – the pieces just started falling right into place. OMB! All my life, (not ALL, because until I was five years old I didn’t really have a clue about teachers; a truly foreign concept) I’d been wanting to find that mentor, who would take me under their wing, and guide my little birdie flappers
to flying. I had some who were memorable. I studied with a Taoist Monk in NYC’s Chinatown. I also studied with one of the groups in the city who followed the great philosopher, George Gurdjieff. Then there was Sri Chinmoy and Pema Chodron, though, the latter was met only through tapes, books, and eventually youtube videos. And the folks I’d met at Womencircles, where I could put a face, as it were, on a tradition that finalized my tri-fold path. All wonderful people, but somehow didn’t seem to crack that shell of mine. I began thinking that I was missing a pretty major point. I think the Monk actually hit upon it once. The teacher is within! And that was quite a revelation, to be sure. Yet, there was still how to actually connect with that higher aspect?

The crumbs of the trail began showing up somewhere around 20 years ago. I’d actually started, and stopped, and started and stopped again, until 2010 when I finally stopped sweeping the crumbs to the curb, and picked them up. It was like suddenly finding that backscratcher and reaching that itch I’ve been trying to get at for ever.

The 78 teachers were kings, and queens, knights and pages, and Majors and minors; a deck of cards which got me to look up at that bright lightbulb of an idea. They were The KEY! And the door they’d unlock was to the kingdom of knowledge buried inside of me.

So, I commenced The Seeker’s Journey. I stepped onto the road less traveled, or trod upon less than the traditional philosophical highways, and byways that prevailed. And what a time I had, splashing through bogs, eating like hogs, and sleeping like logs. Now I get more glimpses into the Mystery School which is myself. I’m making progress, and it is the greatest impact I’ve ever had upon my life.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vagrant Rhodia
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 11:17:19

    What lyrical language! I too am on the Seekers Road and I love every moment of it πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Feb 06, 2015 @ 20:22:01

      Thank you! This year, the Seeker’s Road brings me to The Lovers (6th Arcana) which equals a year of following my passions. That is how I ended up here at Blogging U! πŸ™‚ Of course, every Road has its ups and downs, and I’m finding that this winter (every winter, any winter lol) is exceedingly challenging, as is the fact that I’ve lost internet access and am having to rely on my neighbor to get me to my email, at the very least, and sometimes post. I am sad that I will not have had a chance to complete the tasks for prettying up my blog, but tomorrow is another day, I’ve heard πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Vagrant Rhodia
        Feb 06, 2015 @ 20:52:26

        The offer for the interview is still up for grabs if you want it or a guest post. I’m glad you enjoyed the video. The twist was that it was my sister (in the photo introducing the post) who wrote and produced that short film πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 05, 2015 @ 16:23:21

      Now we’re starting to move out of some of the snow. Our internet is working most days. I wasn’t sure if you received my reply about the offer you made to be interviewed. If that is still open, I am here. I’ll keep checking my spam folder for anything thing which slips past the guardian of mail.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 21:04:49

    Oh cool that your sister created the film! A budding writer/director, I see! The interview would be cool. If it’s not time sensitive. I’ll be back tomorrow, unless we’re snowed in again. (three days ahead of snow, but I hope it won’t amount to much).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

