HOME SOIL RAIN – Coming to a theater near you this Spring.

PROMPT: Free Association
Write down the first words that comes to mind when we say:  home… soil… rain…   Use those words in the title of your post.]

This is a favorite ‘game’ I’ve been playing in a thread over at a forum which is Stargate specific. Still it is very interesting in how it filtered into my brain. I didn’t just read it as three separate words. I saw it as a statement: Home Soil Rain.

That’s my back yard in the spring, and it is so very pleasant, sitting at the window looking out, watching, listening, breathing in the exquisite scent of how Earthy the air is any time it rains, in weather that doesn’t have that frozen over, all’s gone to seed sense, the way winter does.

The Earth is my home, and the rich lush growth which rises up from the soil with the loving caress of even a drenching rain, is a taste of paradise. Yes, I love warm sunny days, with sunlight streaming in through the windows, and not having to wear shoes on the cool carpet of grass. Yet I can so appreciate the rainy day.

I dream of those days, which unfortunately takes me away from seeing the winter wonderland we’re now going through. I do struggle through the dark days between the end of October and the beginning of April, or having moved up here, May even, when last frost comes around May 15, or early June.

This is the first year I’ve not only accepted what my tendancy is – hibernation – but have scheduled my days accordingly. No, I don’t sleep through it all. But, I don’t spend endless hours outside (with the subzero temps that have us in its clutches), and this being the Year of the Lovers (Major Arcana 6), I’m taking it to heart, especially now, to persue my passions. My being here is directly connected to that.

That, of course, doesn’t stop me from yelling out at the Universe, ‘When will you make an end of this, Buonarroti?’ [1500 points if you can tell me what movie that is a quote from]…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 00:17:30

    You know, I really struggled for years with a minor depression during the dark months. Was almost convinced I had Seasonal Affective Disorder. My doc checked my vitamin D level and I basically didn’t have any, so she put me on 50,000 once a week for 8 weeks, then a 2000 unit daily maintenance dose. I’ll be darn if it didn’t make a world of difference. I still dislike the dark months, but my mood swings are not nearly so noticeable now.

    Like

    Reply

  2. jeannesspiralpath
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 02:50:14

    Reblogged this on Jeanne's Spiral Path and commented:
    home…soil…rain
    August…1960…Las Vegas
    Clouds shielding the hot summer sun
    of the desert
    Gusts of wind.
    Light rain.
    Let’s to outside to catch the rainwater
    to wash our hair-only a fantasy.
    The parched earth is damp.
    Streams and rivers run down our street.
    The air is cool.
    The pungent and sweet smell of creosote
    is intoxicating.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 04:00:56

    It’s odd, because I always knew that I ‘faded’ away from my path at various times during the year. I never actually connected to the fact that it was specific to winter, except I started to see the pattern about four years ago. It bothered me that I had these times when I was ‘moving away from The Source’ as I put it, and then I’d be moving back toward it. This is the first year that I actually identified it with hibernation. I wasn’t actually depressed, but more just not interested in doing anything more significant than playing games (on the computer) and watching tv. What I do know is that I don’t like winter. I never have. I grew up in the North, so it’s always been part of my life, but when I got married, I moved down to Texas. That was nice! There is a winter down there but it lasts maybe 2 months, or a bit longer.

    On the Vitamin D front, my doctor has never mentioned I was deficient. My hubby was, and she put him on Vitamin D. Eventually he evened out, and hasn’t had problems with it since.

    Oh, I wanted to tell you that I got the book you recommended in one of your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

