POST, NO PROMPT

How interesting it is to me that a phrase can have so many diverse meanings.

A day or so ago, browsing through a few blogs, following links here and there, meandering, as it were, I came across a weekly event, “Wordless Wednesdays.”  Oh! I thought, could this be about Silence? I’ve wanted for all the years since I went on my first silent retreat, to choose a day during the month – the first draft of the thought – where I wouldn’t speak a word. I think I actually remember reading in some magazine at a doctor’s office, about a celebrity who actually did this, and I was quite inspired to try it, myself. Mr. Quantum (my other half) was not quite encouraged by this possibility. I couldn’t imagine he wouldn’t jump at the chance to have a respite it from my chattering. Time passes and I arrive again at the desire to pursue this possibility, and not so long ago, when we moved into our new abode, I’d considered that same possibility, only this time I thought about trying it out once a week. Mr. Quantum was even more disturbed by this. But I am uncertain whether he realizes that I’m not suggesting he keep silence; Only to understand my own desire to have a full day of me-time.

Well, when I inquired as to what Wordless Wednesday meant here, in the blogging community, you can imagine me ROTFL at my misinterpretation of the phrase. I mean, had I taken but a simple moment to consider where I was when seeing this, I’d have realized, it was more an exercise in expression through other means – like photographs.

Can you say DUH? Or perhaps the new expression is “Seriously?”

It is still a very tempting endeavor. Of course, I’d need a camera. Oh those wonderful stumbling blocks. And I’m sure most are wondering, who in the world doesn’t have a camera (be it smart phone, digital cam, or even a vidcam). *meekly raises hand* Of course, there is that mp3 player, which takes blurry photos, that almost never come out as anything recognizable. I might get some mileage out of having everyone guess what the photo is supposed to be.

Onward and upward.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Safar Fiertze
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 20:09:02

    Pencil sketch?
    I liked your interpretation of ‘wordless wednesday’. Silence is so hard to come by.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. reallifemarti
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 20:11:15

    Wordless huh? I’m just happy to have the television off!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. calensariel
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 22:56:03

    Our women’s group at church used to do a three-day retreat over a weekend in the fall. From 9:00 Saturday night till 10:00 Sunday morning worship was Compline (observing silence throughout the night until morning service the next day). The first time we did it they nearly had a melt down not being able to talk to each other. Especially at breakfast. By our 13th year, it was the favorite part of the retreat for everyone. We’d all sit in the commons room with candles going and soft music playing, just sitting there being companionable. It was so healing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 01:09:30

    How well I understand both situations. I wrote about silence for the Oasis prompt from blogging 101: https://fimnorawestcaw.wordpress.com/2015/01/08/that-sweet-territory-of-silence/ and this one is almost one of those ‘throwback thursday’ events I’ve seen around. I do think it would be harder to be silent with others I know. Usually, after the first time, I just went to retreats where I didn’t know anyone, simply because I wanted to get away and spend the time in reflection, without interruption.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Faraday's Candle
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 18:09:03

    Silent days are hard to come by lately. Never though of planning for it. People tend to never be silent in fear of facing their inner voice & thoughts….only an opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 21, 2015 @ 01:07:42

    But eventually you even get beyond the thoughts and chattering, and then there is peace. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

