Mouse Racing, An Offer I Couldn’t Refuse

PROMPT: Race the Clock [title of your post: “An Offer I Couldn’t Refuse.” Set a timer for ten minutes, and write it. Go!]
I suppose that the one offer I couldn’t (or didn’t) refuse was to attend a retreat back in 1992 in Rowe, MA. What I believe made it thus, is something that came from an inner knowing that this was the place, and the experience which would change my life.  And it did. I’d been agoraphobic for years, and it had gotten so bad that I wasn’t able to even leave my own home.

I got a catalog from Rowe, and saw a week long retreat for women. It was a spiritual retreat, and I made the decision that I’d not only step out of my house, but I’d get into my car and drive outside of my town, to a neighboring state (Only about 4 or 5 hours away) and I’d join a group of about sixty strangers in a gathering which opened a door of empowerment.

This was a step that was inner driven; a push from my higher self, to get thee to a [kind of] nunnery. This place was set amidst the towering trees of the Berkshire Mountains, and here there was no silence, as I’d been used to, but community, sharing, playing, dancing, eating truly amazing food, and attending seminars which brought me to greater understanding of my path, putting a name on it – or that part of it, at least.

Thus began a more indepth look into the endless possibilities. I learned about the Gobblin Mud, and singing morning songs, and waking up to the songs of birds, and the rich scent of The Earth. And while the process is still achingly slow, I’ve come a long way, baby.

And the story continues…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roz Hill
    Feb 21, 2015 @ 21:34:51

    Wow! Brave girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Feb 22, 2015 @ 04:17:20

      It is so interesting you used “brave girl.” Because when departing, saying good-bye to a woman I’d met there, she said to me, “you’re a brave woman.” In that moment I knew I’d been given my next name and when I returned over the six years after that, my name tag read Brave Woman. Life unfolding. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. calensariel
    Feb 21, 2015 @ 22:02:27

    Your soul knew when the time was right. Slow growth is better than no growth.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. badfish2
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 03:54:18

    Very interesting that something you experienced so long ago came rushing to the front from this prompt. Those kinds of experiences should be a mandatory part of everyone’s life. I love the look of your blog. Is this a Premium WP theme? And I’m a little miffed at you right now because I sooo love the title, Quantum Hermit. I am so a hermit. When I’m not traveling. When I travel, I become a different person.

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Feb 22, 2015 @ 04:52:58

      I’m finding much is dislodging from The Wall, so bits and pieces escape out, as I’m working through this new and interesting realm of Blogging. I suppose it is a matter of ‘it’s time has come.’ I agree, about experiences like that, and the memories, of them, should be a mandatory part of life’s journey.

      Thank you @ liking the look of my blog. It is a free theme, called The Fiore Theme.

      Quantum Hermit is actually a ‘handle’ I’ve used in Letterboxing. It is a little bit of my hubby (Quantum) and a little bit of me (Hermit) which actually is somewhat newly embraced through my Tarot readings. The Hermits are often quite wonderful cards, visually, and of course, a kindred sense of self. 🙂

      I think we become other people when we’re out and about. Besides, we’re like cats; we have at least 3 different names, don’t we? So you might have as your secret name, Hermit. Perhaps with a wandering in front of it. Like The Wandering Taoist. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  4. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 04:20:05

    Aye, I wish I listened more to my Soul over these years. And you’re so right. Slow growth is better than no growth. I will make that into something to put into my discovery book. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

