MCMLXVI

PROMPT: Buffalo Nickel
[Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?]

I couldn’t find the buffalo nickel, though I do have some, but we have coins in jars, ready to be rolled up and taken to the bank. Of course, they’ve been in the jars for about 8 years. That’s us, ‘not-so-johnny-on-the-spot.’ But let’s not go there. I let my fingers drift down through the jar and pulled out a coin. It was a quarter, and I looked at the date. What was I doing that year? It didn’t take me long to remember. It was a rather momentus year, actually. It was my sweet sixteen year.

I don’t know if that’s still the big deal it was back then. But I clearly remember that the catering houses made good money off the families with daughters in them. The gala was usually like a prom, or a cotillion, or something along those lines. When my parents asked me what I wanted to do for my party, I didn’t have to think about it. I wanted to go to Fahnstock State Park for a camp out!

park-map-fahnestock

My catering house was Mama Gaia. Of course, then, we brought all manner of hotdogs, hamburgers, potato salad, probably tons of cocoa cola, and cake. Yes, of course there had to be cake. What birthday doesn’t have cake?

The ride up there was probably an hour and a half. I knew about this place because I spent my summers up there camping with my folks since I was nine years old. Before that is was bungalow colonies in the Catskills, but my parents got the camping bug, which was very contageous, I can tell you, and I still have that bug today.

I knew that I had to be selective in how many friends I could bring up with me. We wouldn’t all fit into the car (a station wagon) otherwise. So it was perhaps six or seven of us, which I’m sure was crazy making for my folks.

Fahnstock is a manficient state park, in the mountains, probably the Taconics, on the east side of the Hudson River.  We had a fabulous camp fire going, and trampsed around the trails to our hearts content, and came back to base camp for lunch.

Fahnstock picnic area

The specifics of the day are somewhat blurry. That happens when it is way more than a single year before. But it was definitely the best Sweet Sixteen birthday party I could think of.

Other dates of note that year:

I had a deviated septum corrected.

But probably the most memorable was seeing

Beatles Shea Stadium Poster
Yes, The Beatles at Shea Stadium that year! It was the 3rd time I’d seen them.

shea-stadium-concerts-beatles-1966

Can anyone guess which Beatle made this young girl’s heart swoon? (600,000 points if you guess right).

Talk about a time capsule!  *sighs contentedly*

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. somemaid
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 18:30:06

    What a beautiful place for a 16th birthday party. I love camping, although I haven’t been for the longest time. Very jealous that you got to see the Beatles 3 times. Was it George who made you swoon?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Feb 24, 2015 @ 01:54:19

      Oh my gosh! YES, it was George! *sigh* Oh the stories I used to write.

      And yes, it is a most beautiful place, and happily we’re now only 20 minutes away from there! I hope this year I’ll get to show Mr. Quantum where I spent my formative years, on summer vacations. There will be some amazing secret spot hikes we’ll do there.

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply

  2. Faraday's Candle
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 18:41:05

    Oh Wow! How stunning! The picnic tables by the water are just amazing. What a place to celebrate a birthday & to see the Beatles the same year to boot. Awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Karl
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 23:07:16

    Well Paul is in the middle of the photo – but still I want it to be George.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 02:07:03

    Thank you for your kind thoughts. A lot of my friends were big Paul fans, and they were quite sure what my problem was lol Each to their own, I always thought. After all, “the heart has its reason which reason knows nothing about.”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • badfish2
      Feb 24, 2015 @ 03:18:07

      I was going to vote for Ringo. I never went to a Beatles concert. Or a Stones. I did see Sonny and Cher. She kept forgetting the lines to the songs…but if we’re talking about ogling rock stars, I’m a Cher fan. But Bob Seger’s music speaks to my soul.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Fimnora Westcaw
        Feb 24, 2015 @ 05:19:19

        George was my fave rave. But I did end up loving John’s solo work. I don’t think I saw the Stones, but my first metal concert was Jimi Hendrix. I completely agree with you about Bob Seger. So much of his music is amazing. One of the last concerts I saw was a Seger concert. For a brief while I published a music magazine, so I got to see lots of great music. Sonny and Cher were fun! And, I hear their song, “I got you babe,” every Groundhog day, because that’s one of our Wheel movies.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  5. calensariel
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 03:39:58

    Really? George… My crush was John Lennon until they flashed on the screen on the Ed Sullivan show that he was married. Then I decided it HAD to be Paul. LOL We’re so fickle at that age, aren’t we? Seriously? Three times? Be still my heart… Loved this.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 05:27:27

    yes, George. There was a mystery to him. That lasted for a long while, but you’re right, we’re fickle at that age. I also had a mad crush on Eddie Brigati of The Rascals. and… and… yes, there was always one just around the next musical corner.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 16:14:19

    Oh my gosh, yes! I have many of his songs. He was born in New York, which makes me feel like he’s a neighbor. lol I did not see him in concert, would have if I’d been in the right place at the right time. I think my favorite (so hard to pick favorites) is “I Am, I Said.”

    Like

    Reply

  8. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 01:39:23

    Oh Yes! I would love to see that!
    Hmmmm that gets me thinking about possibly have some kind of weekly event – I’ve been pondering that – which either includes people having the opportunity to post their favorite lyrics from a song, OR, perhaps playing a snippet from a song and having people figure out what song it is, and whose it is. I’m just afraid that most of the songs I love would not have the larger audience. Not because they are not great songs, but because they are decades old.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. Shannon McArthur
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 16:11:58

    I’m decades old too but lots of people know me! Like a good song, I’m hard to forget… I think it’s a great idea and give us a reason to remember. I really like the coin prompt too.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Feb 26, 2015 @ 01:00:38

      Yes, tis true!!! Besides, don’t know why anyone would want to forget you, cause you’re AMAZING!
      And yes, the coin prompt was fun. I wondered what year I’d get. It reminded me of finding out which is the year of The Priestess. Mine was 1993, and I thought, what? What happened that year??? but, in truth, it was the second Womencircles I went to, and was even more life changing!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

