A WHOLE LOTTA GREEN!

This is the “Gone To Green” series about a ‘corporate journalist’ aka big town gal, who ends up becoming the owner of a small newspaper in a Louisiana Parish. We’ve all heard the stories (from Doc Hollywood, to Finding Normal, mostly medically speaking), and while it’s nothing new, this quaint and curious story, which spans five novels, welcomes the reader with open arms, and treats us to a banquet of hospitality  unknown in the greater work-a-day world, not to mention what I like to call The 21st Century Disease.

There are intrigues, and a smorgasbord of characters, some of which go down smooth, and others of which bite back. Charming is a word I’d use to describe the homey sense of Green, once our heroine gets past the hurdles of adjusting to her life ‘turning on a dime.’ The mishaps of her first moments in town, follow her through the series, always keeping the reader wondering how in the world is she going to get out of traps of, first, being the new kid in town, to the uncertainty of becoming romantically involved, when she never feels sure she’ll stick with it, to finding an inner strength of spirit even while questioning her faith in Faith. There is small town political chicanery, dangers of going up against the ‘big boys’ as a woman out of her element, as well as the natural disasters that can take everyone by surprise and leave them often wounded and yet finding camaraderie in the strangest places.

Oh, and there are the recipes that are included in the books, so if you should crave some of the mouth watering food described there-in, you’ll only have to finish the book to get the details of the meals. Yum. Yum.

There truly is never a dull moment as each novel unfolds.

Bookworm Club Green SeriesGone To Green Book 1,

Goodness Gracious Green Book 2
Goodness Gracious Green Book 2
The Glory of Green Book 3The Glory of Green Book 3

Rally Round The Green Book 4
Rally Round The Green Book 4

Downtown Green Book 5Downtown Green Book 5

Thank you to The Bookworm Club for giving us the opportunity to talk about the books we love, and introduce them to others who might come to love them as much as we do!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 00:35:28

    That’s a long series. The only long series I’ve ever done like that is Stephen Lawhead’s Pendragon Cycle. there are six books in that one, but I only made it through four. Four seems to be my limit. Hey! You did good, kid!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Feb 28, 2015 @ 04:39:37

      Yes, it was. Though I’ve read a couple of other longer series books. Have you read the MYTH books, by Robert Asprin? Also, while not a series, so much, but I love the Gideon Oliver series which Aaron Elkins does.

      I’ll have to check out Pendragon Cycle. It sounds intriguing!

      Like

      Reply

  2. badfish2
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 03:07:34

    Very well-done post!! Hey, did you change your theme?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Feb 28, 2015 @ 04:41:48

      Thank you! And yes, I changed themes. I’ve been wanting to but wasn’t sure which one. I tried one other out for a day, but found the customize was difficult to work with. Then I saw this theme that someone else used and ‘made it their own’ as the saying goes. It’s a work in progress. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 01, 2015 @ 01:13:08

      @badfish2 (because there was not further ops to reply… Which of the themes was the very unique? The original, with the orange blossoms? Or the one that looked sort of like a blotter? When I prove to myself that I can be reliable enough to buy an upgrade, I’m going to work on combining the look of the other, with a sight like this that allows easier access. Please let me know which you were talking about. I have plans.

      Like

      Reply

      • badfish2
        Mar 01, 2015 @ 08:19:42

        The one with the orange blossoms. But this one looks very similar in ways. I think if I were choosing, I liked the softness of the previous orange. But this one really works well, too. It also is very unique. Is the one you have now Premium?

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 02, 2015 @ 01:49:32

      The one with the orange blossoms was my favorite, but it didn’t really have as many options as some others, like this one. No, this one isn’t premium, but if I do upgrade to premium (made a deal with myself that if I stick around, I get to upgrade, aka pay money, and then I’ll have greater ability to personalize it and I plan on adding the Orange Blossoms to this background so it combines the colors and the graphic!

      All my widgets were hidden in a side bar in The Fiore – Orange Blossom theme. So now they’re visible here, on an open side bar. Did you see I renamed by ‘about’ to Fim Noir so it’s right out there? Though the gray lettering fades until you hover over it.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

      • badfish2
        Mar 02, 2015 @ 04:05:16

        You’ve changed it to the paler shade. Do you like that better? And YES, I did notice the Fim Noir. And it does not really stand out, can’t see it well (Maybe bigger?). I popped for a premium hoping I’d stick around, but mostly because I was told it was a hassle to change later, though now, I’m not sure that is true.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 02, 2015 @ 04:52:22

      Actually on my screen, it is paler when I tip the lid toward me, and darker when I push it back. I think depending on the shade of the hue the writing will turn to white, (when it’s darker) and be darker font when it’s lighter. I have to look into whether I can change the ABOUT Fim Noir font size. I think it needs to be premium to do that, but not sure. I’ll have to tweek the color to get the gray to show up darker, maybe.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Faraday's Candle
    Mar 01, 2015 @ 20:20:13

    Always looking forward to your wonderful posts. Going off subject….beautiful theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Smile | Jumbleskine
  5. JoHanna Massey
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 09:05:47

    Got some great reading ides from the post and the comment section. I have been yearning for a series to retreat to this year.
    Thank you.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 12:48:06

    I hope you enjoy them! I thoroughly enjoyed each one, and was sorry when the series came to an end. I keep them in my favorites for when I want to go back to Green. 🙂 One of my favorite OMG type of sayings is usually Goodness Gracious Green, from the book of the same name.

    Like

    Reply

  7. calensariel
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 23:19:34

    I remember this post having seen the pictures of the books. Have you ever read anything by Jan Karon?

    Like

    Reply

  8. Fimnora Westcaw
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 12:45:04

    The name doesn’t sound familiar. But I’ll look and see what she’s got on kindle.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

