25 Songs, 25 Days

Day Two – A song that reminds me of my most recent ex-boyfriend/girlfriend:

Hmmm… I’m married 18 years (this coming May), so when was that last boyfriend… that ex? I need some definition…

Does it count if I’ve hung out with someone, for a couple of years, and had flirtations, but no real intimacy? I wonder if I should do a poll?

I’m going with, no he wasn’t really a boyfriend. He was just a friend who was a boy. Thinking further back… No, that was the same situation… best friends in college, and afterwards as well, and one tryst, and in the end, it turns out he was gay. That’s not an ex-boyfriend.

Moving on. Oh I know. The Colleague. We dated, took it to the next level… that constitutes a boyfriend. Now we’re cooking. So, what song reminds me of him….?

As to why: Life with him was probably risky in several ways. I can’t recall if we were going against some rules when we began seeing each other because of working together. There was a lot beneath the surface. I wouldn’t call him a rebel, but I’ll bet he would have liked to think of himself as one. The whole time, I’d describe as us ‘dancing around’ things, a bit like dancing with the waves, where you step in toward the water, and retreat as the surf rushes up toward you, and I’m speaking for the way both of us acted toward each other.

I listened to quite many songs, trying to put my finger what song made me think of him. I know we didn’t have an us song. It was in the 80s, so when I came across this song, and listened to the words, I’d say it best described the situation.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 16:09:47

    There are so many songs these days I’ve never heard of… Gish!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 04, 2015 @ 22:54:09

      Believe me. I’m right there with you. Though, through a thread in a forum we’ve been having a tournament of music. We nominate songs and everyone votes on which song they don’t like, to see who’s song is the last standing. I’ve been in the group for 9 years this year. We’re working with songs from the mid 60s – began the tourney back in the early part of this century. 🙂 So I’m hearing new stuff, and I’m adding to my playlist all the time. I also get new things from tv shows and movies. I’m really big on soundtracks!

      Like

      Reply

      • calensariel
        Mar 06, 2015 @ 20:10:28

        Ohh! Soundtracks! What kinds? My s-i-l made me the collection of soundtrack music. Love Last of the Mohican and (my personal writing favorite) Conan the Barbarian!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Mar 07, 2015 @ 05:30:10

          Some of my favorites (which are in a playlist) are Backflash, Pirates of the Caribbean, LOTR – mostly Fellowship of the Ring, the Harry Potter soundtracks, Camelot (the English series from 2011, BBC’s Survivor series (post apoc series), I Am Legend, Twister, Titanic (incidental music), Somewhere In Time, The Time Machine (2002 ), Twilight movies, Star Trek: First Contact, and Star Trek: Insurrection, Stargate, movie and tv series open and ending credits. Which of course bring up the various tv series soundtracks. Have you heard music from The Mole? goodness, I could go on and on.

          Like

          Reply

Leave a Reply

