The Reading

As promised, I give you the PATH PRACTICE PERSONA reading I did on March 1. It is the follow up to my Touching Base With Myself post.

This is a really nice little spread  for a 3 card reading which I did weekly for quite a while back in ’14. It is a spread which consists of the positions of PATH, PRACTICE, and PERSONA. One reason I like it, is an aspect of using Tarot that I particularly love; playing with the cards. The idea is to split the deck up into 3 piles. The card which will represent the PATH consists of the Major Arcana, and the four Aces. The PATH is like the THEME idea. The question for this card is, “What Path will it best serve me to walk this week?” You shuffle, shuffle, shuffle. Then cut, and pic the card off the top of this pile.

So for this month, my PATH will be Bindweed.

Bindweed

I’m calling the Reading (I love to title my readings) The Bindweed Factor not necessarily because it is the first card drawn and comes into Position one which is the PATH. Mostly because it sounds cool. (in traditional decks, this card is known as The Devil). It gets lots of groans, and bemoaning, when pulled, because it’s misunderstood, like the infamous Death card is.

What Bindweed is all about is temptation, but what this card is really telling me is that it is time to take notice, as I make my way through the month, of the stumbling block of falling into old ways of thinking that don’t serve me at all. Don’t disaster think, for instance. Be aware of the temptation to step into the potholes which I know always bring me into my negative thought patterns. The KEY here is awareness of myself. It’s about mindfulness. If I walk through each day with mindfulness – and it’s a bit difficult to always be there (okay, it’s a LOT difficult) – then I can catch myself when I’m in a toxic thought pattern, which gives me a choice to get away from that sticky wicket. What am I about to do which might pull me away from living authentically? But, if I should step into the dung heap of temptation, no tantrums are worth the misstep; acknowledge it, accept it, and then to move on. No rubber necking allowed. And no bad mouthing myself for it. Seeking mindfulness in each moment affords me to live freely from that which does not serve my best interests.

Okay, so that’s pile number one.

Pile Two (or what’s behind curtain number two) is the PRACTICE which will best help me to move along this PATH. This second pile consists of the minor arcana, the number cards 2 through 10 – remember, we had the 1s or Aces in with the Majors. We also separate out the People Cards (Kings, Queens, Knights and Pages – traditional deck Court cards). Again, shuffle, cut, draw. I get the 10 of AIR.

gaian-tarot-ten-air

The Deck I use is Gaian Path specific, so it actually has a different take on the traditional Swords suit.

The Ten of Air as a practice to help me walk my path works well as a companion card to Bindweed. The tens are about completion, thus, are transition cards. Air/Swords governs the realm of Thought and communication. The Ten, thus, speaks of not getting caught up in negative thinking. It says, I have a choice. I can actually decide not to go into that lion’s den of self-loathing, or other such negative byways. As you can see in the image, the Geese are migrating, away. It’s like their saying, “I’m SO finished with that Brouhaha.”  It suggests heading  away from that tempting place ahead which I know from past experience, will disallow forward movement.  Yup, leave that addictive thinking behind.

Pile Three is the People cards, which represents the PERSONA I should adopt during this month, to help me practice and allow me to walk a successful path. Persona actually speaks of attitudes and behaviors I bring to life’s daily journey.

Today’s Persona is the Guardian of Air ( (aka Queen of Swords in a traditional deck).

Gaian Guardian Air

I think of this card as the ‘ah ah ah’ Lady. You know, the mother who wags her finger at you when you’re doing something which she thinks is unacceptable.  She tells me not to go there. She’s not going to stand for foolishness, dilly dallying, and such much. So, my attitude should be one where, if I see I’m heading for disaster, I’ve got to assume the behaviors of this no-nonsense gal. If I see my practice is not working, my attitude should be one of purposeful thought. Slap my hand as I’m reaching for the fire, type of behavior.

Looks out at the reader.

Oh dear, I’ve lost you…
Ah, Ah, ah, says The Guardian of Air
Right.

See how that worked? Nice, huh?

That’s my reading, and I’m sticking to it.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 17:55:00

    Those cards are really different. I’ve two sets of cards. One is Rider, the other is Rider Waite, if I’m not mistaken. I have a set of angel cards, too. I had to explain a spread of nine cards in the manuscript I still have to edit (Glencara’s Bane). It’s hare describing all that! I’ll put it up on the blog for you to see.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 04, 2015 @ 23:08:30

      Those are The Gaian Tarot, by Joanna Powell Colbert. I took my 101 refresher course from her last June. They’re gorgeous. I originally learned with the Robin Wood deck which is a take off on the RWS deck, which I do have. And actually I was surprised to see how many decks I’ve collected over the years even before I began learning to read.

      I’d love to see your reading! Thank you. Are you Google Plus at all? I have posted many readings there, as part of the Gaian Soul Circle.

      Like

      Reply

      • calensariel
        Mar 05, 2015 @ 20:16:06

        Don’t know what that is. Goggle scares me almost as much as facebook and twitter.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Mar 05, 2015 @ 22:54:02

          Google plus is actually gmail’s forum, as it were. I have a gmail address. So that allows me to have chats with friends who are also in gmail, and such. There are many ‘circles’ which is the same thing as a forum. It does have that ‘social’ aspect, but can also just be a touching point. I’m not on Facebook either. I was on twitter for a bit, but it really didn’t interest me after a while. The part that actually I became involved with was a music twitter spin off. Unfortunately, my computer was so old it couldn’t handle the lag of the community. It was just all about playing music, and other people would do like they do here, ‘like’ the song. You got followers. Very much like here.

          I’m uncertain if wordpress is actually connected to google/gmail. It seems to me when I joined google/gmail, the website part was wordpress, or maybe that is just the platform those I joined chose to use. I know there is another blogging community connected with google, called blogger. It’s where I had my first blog for Tarot.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Leave a Reply

