Guatamala: Land of Trees

Not my own pictures, but I took a tour of certain things Guatamalan.

Guatamala means The Land of Trees! I just knew there was something about it that spoke to me.

The first thing I noticed on my way there was their flag, but more importantly their Coat of Arms:

Coat_of_arms_of_Guatemala_svg

It made me wonder, if I had my very own coat of arms, belonging to who I am, and representing me, myself and I, what would it look like? I actually liked Guatamala’s Coat of Arms.

Next on my trip, is one of the odd little interests I have, and tend to visit them where ever I go, are cemeteries. Especially the really old ones, and well, the exquisitely interesting one in Guatamala, that made me think of a song by John Cougar Mellancamp, “Little Pink Houses.” No connection what so ever, just the way my mind works.

cemetery-chichicastenango_27912_600x450

From the small to the rather large?

guatemala-pyramid_17779_600x450

Then I found in Antigua – did I know it was in Guatamala? – This beautiful archtecture. Old regal buildings, cobble stone streets! The history that echoes through them!

antigua-guatemala_27914_600x450

And just the colors, the quality of antiquity which speaks at every street corner.

antigua-guatemala_27916_600x450

The richness of color is shown in the very cloth woven there. I have a hanging on my wall, from where, I have no clue, but with the kind of endless possibilities, it could very well be from Guatamala.

colorful-textiles_27921_600x450

Adiós y gracias por todos los peces

Leave a Reply

