25 Songs, 25 Days

Day 8 – A song that reminds me of my first love

This was more difficult than I thought it would be. I know the first time I noticed boys, was about when I was in 3rd grade. Though, can that be called first love? I carried a torch for him for more years than I care to admit.

Okay, so there’s that. But I looked at songs that were around, and I found very little that was more about first boyfriends, as opposed to first love, which could be, and was, unrequited. Most of those songs that I listened to were for girls singing about boys who were teenagers, not seven year olds. So sorry, Harry, I couldn’t justify you as an actual first love. But you’ll always be in my heart.

Moving on, I thought about who my next big crush was, and I’d say it was around the time I was 15 or 16 years old. Now we’re talking. All the Be My Baby, He’s So Fine, and Is it in his Kiss songs, were more along the speed I thought was actually appropriate for the ‘first love’ idea.

I knew right away who it was, so the right song was all that I needed to find. Is it perfect? Probably not, but it’s got his name in it. Now that’s pretty cool, and it was more in keeping with the wishing and hoping kind of song. That’s why Johnny Angel by Shelly Fabares works for my first love.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 04:19:00

    “So sorry, Harry, I couldn’t justify you as an actual first love. But you’ll always be in my heart.” I laughed right out loud when I read that. And I loved Johnny Angel. You know what else I like? Same family: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-vYuV3OmhE

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 09, 2015 @ 16:30:49

      I’m so glad you reminded me about the “My Dad” song. I watched an interview by Shelly Fabares and she mentioned it. I was going to go look for it, but got side tracked. Thank you!

      Yes, poor Harry. He should have made it onto the top of the list… 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. badfish2
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 05:27:35

    I had a number of “loves” when I was five or six. One girl carried my books home from school for me once. I don’t know why. I think maybe there are different versions of “love.” I’m sure she was in love with me. One girl kissed me (my first experience with garlic). Later, it was Patty. And the song was Don’t Fence Me In (Roy Rogers, I think), because I went on my first date ever with her to see a movie of the same name. But the all time fav is Sherry–Four Seasons. Cheri was my first grown-up love (if you call 16 grown up?). I still think of her (as she was then).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 09, 2015 @ 16:37:34

      Yeah, there are many crushes that happen when we first notice there’s something about those ‘others’ we swore we’d never even talk to, let alone, care for.
      That’s cool, a girl carrying your books home. I’d wager the why of that was she liked you. I’m LOL @ your first kiss = your first experience with garlic. Too funny.
      Obviously I think 16 is grown up enough to fall in love. What fun memories this little event is pulling out of those good old days. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • badfish2
        Mar 09, 2015 @ 22:47:47

        I wish I were 16 again and know what I know now. btw…I’ve always loved garlic.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Mar 09, 2015 @ 23:38:06

          Wasn’t it Bob Seger who sang, “I wish I didn’t know now, what I didn’t know then?” I think Against The Wind is one of my favorite songs. I think about how different life would be when I was 16 and I knew what I know now.

          I know I love the aroma of garlic being sautéed! Now I’m hungry! lol

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

          • badfish2
            Mar 11, 2015 @ 04:53:01

            Yeah, sauteed garlic! Let’s eat. And yup…it was Seger’s line. I’ve always wondered what it was that he now knows that he didn’t then.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Mar 11, 2015 @ 12:14:15

              Are you cooking? You gotta be the cook.
              I would imagine that Seger knows too much about life now, that he’d rather not have learned. We’re so ‘innocent’ in ways when we’re young.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

              • badfish2
                Mar 11, 2015 @ 22:28:35

                Not cooking, just fantasizing. But get this, I’m so lazy, I now buy garlic already peeled. I know, I’m spoiled. I had a very weird dream last night about my most-recent ex-wife, and I can’t shake…something, a feeling or ? I wish I didn’t know now what I didn’t know in those innocent days. But still, they were good days. Glad I remember them. Glad I “had” them. She used garlic a lot. Trigger?

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply

                • Fimnora Westcaw
                  Mar 12, 2015 @ 00:11:40

                  lol But you said let’s eat. So, you gotta cook. no problem getting your garlic already peeled. If you’re willing to pay for it. no problem.

                  Dreams. You’re right. Must have been the garlic that triggered them.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply

                  • badfish2
                    Mar 12, 2015 @ 23:11:14

                    OK…eat it is. I’m thinking either my Abu Dhabi chili, or my Machu Picchu quinoa with black beans and red peppers, topped with avocado. I try not to look at the price of food, but a couple pounds of avocados here are a down payment on a car.

                    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fimnora Westcaw
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 23:44:36

    @badfish2 I’ll go with the Machu Picchu quinoa! Yeah! Ouch @ expensive avocados.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

