25 Songs, 25 Days

Day 9 – A song that makes me hopeful

“I believe in the good things coming!” the first line in Black as Night by Nakho Bear and Medicine for the People, makes me hopeful that the world will come together as one, and we will heal the Planet. It makes me feel that the thread has gone unbroken, and that in each generation there are those who represent peace, and that music brings us all together, like in the video. When I see young people following the path that many have walked before them, it’s encouraging, and brings hope.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 09:38:17

    Never heard that before. Quite catchy! It scares me how much music has passed me by since I tend to gravitate to the 60’s and before. Makes me feel REALLY old.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 10, 2015 @ 11:20:50

      I came across Nahko Bear several months ago, looking for some ‘spiritual’ songs. He impressed me quite a bit. He has this aura of being from the 60s which is what drew me in.

      I fully understand about gravitating to music from the mid 20th century. But I have found tunes through the later years that I suddenly realized were really nice. There’s a turnabout toward what feels like folk music… you know, the Bob Dylan, Joan Baez, Pete Seger, Woody Guthrie, not to mention Arlo. But there is also a lot coming out that I’m surprised is really likeable. Mr. Quantum tends to prefer the older sounds, even going back to the 40s big bands, which I also love. I like to think of it as feeling musically wise, rather feeling old. Those Golden Oldies could teach a thing or two to some of the younger musicians. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. Faraday's Candle
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 11:54:34

    Wow! How inspirational….”I surrender to your beauty”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

