25 Songs, 25 Days

Day 11 – A Song on the soundtrack from my favorite movie

Once again, I find it difficult to pick just one movie as my favorite, and more importantly, since this is about music, it almost is more about a favorite song from a movie I loved.

Honorable mentions must be given to:

The Lost Boys: Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me

West Side Story – America

Harry Potter spanning all of the films and the music

Lord of The Rings: Fellowship of the Ring

But the winner is… because I loved the movie, and equally so, loved the music:

Star Wars A New Hope Chapter IV

The Throne Room/End Titles

Here is why this made it to numero uno.

I recall, back after the movie came out, I was living in Colorado. This was just around the time where they were opening theaters with more than one screening room. Having seen the film quite many times, was typical. Not so typical is that when I would go to the theater to watch another movie, where Star Wars was playing as well, when I would leave the first screening room, Starwars would just be ending, and I’d go inside and stand at the back of the theater to just listen to that magnificent soundtrack end credits.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 11:05:25

    I would have had an almost impossible time with this one. Although I had a really interesting experience once with TheOneRing.net. I flew out to LA to meet up with a group of them where we went to the Hollywood Bowl to hear Howard Shore conduct the score from LOTR for the very first time in public. It was so impressive to me because I get caught up in soundtracks and had never realized they usually have a choir with them at some point.

    It was a really cool trip overall. But we had tickets in the nosebleed section of the Bowl and I swear I thought I was going to die of a heart attack before we made it up there. It was a steep climb. No steps. All walkway. Best part was before the concert started, they welcomed all the members of TOR and had us stand up. It was great.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. somemaid
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 18:49:41

    I walked down the aisle as a married woman to this tune. Some of our friends and family didn’t believe we’d chosen a tune from Star Wars, but it fitted perfectly. Thank you for bringing back some happy memories

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 12, 2015 @ 20:25:52

      That’s so great!!! We chose end music from Robin of Sherwood for our ‘exit’ post ceremony.

      I’m so glad I brought you happy memories! Personally, I can’t think of what would be better than The Throne Room music for things like graduations. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. rommel
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 11:47:04

    Some classics and memorable scores you’ve provided. Nice choices!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 16, 2015 @ 12:32:03

      Thank you very much! I actual have a group of songs that I always play together, which include music from Star Wars, of course, Star Trek (various pieces from movie soundtracks, and opening credits), and Stargate SG1 and Stargate Atlantis.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

