25 Songs, 25 Days

Day 13 – a song that reminds me of a former friend

Wild Summer Nights – John Cafferty & The Beaver Brown Band

Once was, I and a friend, who I’d known since college, set out on a quest. The idea hit us one day, sitting in a Howard Johnson’s talking about what we wanted to do. It was summer, we were young and were ripe for taking on a world we only knew from the outside, looking in.

“Let’s start a magazine.” Magical words. We’d been up and down the east coast music club circuit. She was a photographer, and I, a writer. We were young enough to believe that if we wanted it, we could get it.

We kept on doing what we were doing, heading out to clubs, but with the added ability to get the inside scoop on life playing music, trying to make it to bigger arenas.

The most memorable night from those days took us to New Haven, Connecticut, where we were at a club, watching John Cafferty and the Beaver Brown band. These are the guys behind the voice and music for the movie Eddie and the Cruisers (which came out a couple of years later), but they were the essence of that Jersey Shore sound, Stone Pony regulars. Great tunes, and definitely danceable. I found myself really ‘groovin’ to the music that night, and danced around letting the music take me where it wanted, which happened to be on a table at the side of the stage.

As the band played their last song, a woman selling flowers came over, and handed me a rose. She pointed to a young man, and said he bought it for me. We talked for a few moments, and he said he enjoyed me, enjoying the songs. Why that was just about the nicest thing. Such unexpected moments are what made those our Wild Summer Nights!

I haven’t seen my friend for well over 15 years. People go in different directions. But every now and then, a song comes along that reminds me of her.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 22:27:22

    What a fun story. Isn’t it just great to look back on those times? I know music takes me right back to certain times, experiences and friendships. They say smell is the strongest memory sense. Sometimes maybe, but Music! Now that is really what flashes me to times long ago. I have no idea what you look like, but I can sure see you dancing on that table!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 14, 2015 @ 23:43:39

      Thank you! I agree, it’s great to suddenly find a memory that was buried in obscurity. Yes, both scent and sound are very strong transporters! When I was trying to think of someone who was once a friend but who has moved off in her own direction, I put on my playlist, and listened to the songs, to see what flashed for me. It was another song from Eddie and the Cruisers that came up on the list, but Wild Summer Nights really expressed a good part of our adventure.

      Like

      Reply

  2. calensariel
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 00:02:00

    Gawd! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your story of adventure! I so totally get that. And how storybook romantic about the rose. And I LOVE the song — though my favorite track from the Eddie and the Cruisers album is Boardwalk Angel. What I love most about the album is the sax!

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 15, 2015 @ 00:32:44

      Thank you!!! This is one of things about the 25 songs, 25 days. I’m being reminded, excavating, so to speak, things that have been lost, forgotten, and I’m suddenly there again! It’s SO interesting that you mentioned Boardwalk Angel, because that is the song which came up on my playlist, that reminded me of my friend, and those days, and I recalled the Wild Summer Nights tune, and knew that it was the foundation for the story! I actually like Boardwalk Angel best as well. Oh, and the sax is by far the best part. Like Bob Seger and also like Bruce Springsteen… 3 groups which fearture saxophone, and which makes a wonderful difference in the quality of the songs.

      The sax player in the Eddie and the Cruisers movie is actually a member of the Beaver Brown band.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • calensariel
        Mar 15, 2015 @ 00:37:50

        Yeah, I did know that. You know, I really didn’t like the second movie. I was so disappointed in it. But I’ve worn out a vinyl album AND a CD of the soundtrack. I was really sorry that Boardwalk Angel didn’t make the cut for the movie. But sure glad it was on the soundtrack. John McCafferty and Michael Pare sure do have similar voices. That amazed me. I love Tender Years, too. That’s funny that BA is the song that came up.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Mar 15, 2015 @ 11:44:05

          I agree about the 2nd movie. It lost the magic. It moved away from a time where I dwelt. Soon as I unpack the videos, I’m looking for that movie. It’s time to watch it again. And yes, Tender Years is beautiful! I also really liked On The Dark Side. In fact, there’s a tourney in which I have been taking part, since 2006, and I actually got On The Dark Side to the winning spot! I also loved the keyboard in their music.
          Memories are made of music 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

  3. Trackback: “Boardwalk Angel” | Impromptu Promptlings

Leave a Reply

