In The Mood For Music

In the Mood for Music offered by the lovely Lady Calen who has a beautiful blog Impromptu Promptlings, picks up the pace with the question:

“Now who was YOUR first musical heartthrob?”

First heartthrob goes to, of course, George Harrison.

GeorgeHarrisonYoungGeorgeHarrisonbwresize  GeorgeHarrisonCowboy

george_harrison1_large

His is a story most people know. I was lucky enough to be able to attend at least three of his concerts, and of course I was front row center for The Beatles first two movies.

Most folks might not know all of the songs George was the voice behind, and of which he was the writer.

George Harrison during his Beatles days:

After his stint with the Beatles, he had a rather notable solo career. The one song which stayed with me the most was “Give Me Love.”

I recall, as we were moving in here, after we got the stereo hooked up, the first thing I put on was a tape; one of my compilations of all the songs I loved. The song which came on first (and I had no idea since I never label things) was “Give Me Love.” I felt like all things of the past 8 years were filtering away, and the house was being blessed with what touched me most. I sat back on the couch in the middle of stacks of boxes, and just listened, and sang, and I knew I was HOME!

An honorable mention would have to be Eddie Brigati of The Young Rascals fame:

How Can I Be Sure – The Young Rascals

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 00:21:00

    Now see! Between you and me maybe we’ve started a trend! I was thinking of doing Music Monday, but not starting till next week. Don’t know what the guidelines would be tho and whether I’d stay interested in it long enough. Whether to come up with a list of questions, something different for every week. Gotta think on it. Any input? Good stuff on George, btw.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 16, 2015 @ 10:48:33

      I’ve been thinking of doing events, since blogging 201, which I missed anyway, because of no internet, and had the idea for a Thursday Tarot Time. I also thought of a music Event, because music is such an integral part of my life. So I love your idea, and would have great fun attending your events. Music Monday sounds terrific! My thoughts about what kind of event have gone all over the map. What do you think about using genres for a month. So like, you might say, this month, every Monday, we’ll be working with Big Bands, and then each week, you can think of what specifically about big band music you love the most… like what big band music is the best to dance to? Or feature a favorite band week… Whose music people like best, and why, what memories does it bring up… that kind of thing? Then the next month move onto Latin, or whatever you think. And the questions or directions for that week’s post will probably bubble up to the surface. You can also have something like, what story does a certain song inspire, and have people write a story to it. Each person picks their own song, and uses it as the basis for their story, OR you can put a song out there, or do a poll for what song should be used. Lots of fun stuff. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. somemaid
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 03:50:30

    I love George Harrison especially his solo work. A few years ago I’d have to do waking nights at work. As the dawn broke I would get the bus home and listen to his greatest hits. A perfect sound track to a beautiful day

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 11:22:10

    My first music crush was Paul McCartney. I saw him his first appearance of the Ed Sullivan show, and he was just it for me. I was 10. If I had been introduced to the Beatles a little later in life, it would have been John. I think my all time favorite song is Imagine.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 16, 2015 @ 12:28:31

      I’ve always said, there’s a Beatle for everyone 🙂 I did love John’s work when he went solo, and I agree, Imagine is one of the most amazing songs. I love that on New Years Eve, after the ball drops in Times Square, they always play Imagine.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

