25 Songs, 25 Day

Day 15 – A song I love to sing along with

How do you cut down a list of songs you love singing along to, when you pretty much sing along to any song that comes on?

I suppose you can just list them all… this is my post and I’m not gonna take it anymore… cutting out, cutting down, and taking all the fun away.

Okay, realistically speaking, it says A – in quotes – song, so I can look at it this way. I got to listen all day, and sing along all day to these songs.

But I actually I made a criteria, at some point when it started getting on dinner time. No song can be included if I can’t remember the words, or if I don’t know the words. There is a difference. Not remembering, means I knew them once. But not knowing means, I have no idea what the heck fire they are. I make up my own, half the time. There have been Youtubes, I think, about the silly lyrics people believe are being sung. The boy-was-my-face-red type of hearing wrong.

So, now I have three songs left… sitting there, hanging out (sort of like that ‘thing’ in The American President – and if you didn’t see the movie, you gotta watch it to find out what that thing is). Two are songs I definitely know. One is a bit iffy, but I found a YT with lyrics, so does that count?

Okay, no.

Now I have two songs. How to choose? I mean, the other song will get an honorable mention, as I’ve been doing lately in this here little blogging event. But which, I ask you, which one gets the gold ring?

oh wait… eenie, meenie, miney (?) Mo

No. I don’t like that. It landed on the other song.

Oh, hmmm… that must mean the real song I love to sing along to is:

Honorable Mention goes to:

Fernando – ABBA

and

I Need A Hero – Bonnie Tyler

The other songs elminated, because I know ya’ll just won’t be able to go to sleep without knowing…

Diamonds and Rust – Joan Baez

Sweet Surrender – John Denver (it was my about me song, so I thought I wanted not to repeat anything).

The Hourglass Song – Robby Benson

Bird on a Wire – Katey Sagal

Christmas Vacation – National Lampoon CV movie

The Power of Love – Celine Dion

You Light Up My Life – Debbie Boone

If You Want to sing out, sing out – from Harold and Maude

Oh, and Everything At Once – Lenka, is a song I’m gonna learn the words to because it would be in the honorable mentions above if I just sit down and write it all out.

I can’t even imagine what I’ll answer when they ask me what my favorite song is… I don’t think I can choose. But that’s down the line.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 00:47:33

    That is also one of my favorite movies. That one and The Family Way with Haley Mills. Seen that one?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. julz
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 02:16:22

    oh dear – i clicked on your song – cos the actual title didn’t appear on the picture – not one of my favourites is Lulu – and she’s had enuf exposure lately – there was a full tv series on her life recently – but as you aren’t in the UK, you probably missed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 17, 2015 @ 10:56:40

      If you like the song, you might like hearing Katey Sagal singing it. But, even if I lived in the UK, I don’t have tv. We have dropped cable, and are going with Netflix for shows. It’s WAY cheaper. We get any news and weather from MSN, or TWC. And I don’t feel in the least bit out of the loop, since we don’t have to bother with commercials, and we get the streaming side while waiting for the DVD side to arrive. Life is good. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 10:47:24

    I love to sing along with everything too. There is no way I could even narrow it down to 20. I loved your story about you and your husband in your last post. I meant to reply, but can’t remember if I did. So sweet!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 17, 2015 @ 11:00:28

      It’s just a good thing nobody can hear me singing along. They’d throw tomatoes. lol But I do love it, and I sing along constantly, and pretend to whistle when there’s that part in a song, so it makes me think I can whistle 🙂

      Thank you about my hopeless romantic post. That is the one place where I did it right. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  4. susurrus
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 11:20:17

    I have different songs I like to sing to, dance to or just listen to. I always seem to have my dancing songs with me when I’m on a long distance flight, which is never very helpful. And I mainly sing alone in the car which protects the ears of my nearest and dearest but may alarm others in a traffic jam!

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 17, 2015 @ 15:34:36

      Oh yes! The dance to songs are getting bigger. I actually use them for exercise, too. That’s funny about always seeming to have your dance songs on long distance flights. My MP3 player lets be make folders and playlists, so I have it all. 🙂 The shower is also a good place to sing. It makes me think I sound better.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

