A Brighter Day

The ground, she appears
From beneath her blanket of snow
Brown hues, dried leaves
All which sleeps below

It rises, in oozing islands
Amid the white, the drifts
Like mini cliffs of Dover
And moving symphonic riffs

The counterpoint, in cheeps and churps
Cheery songs with unknown words
Seeps merrily to my eager ear
Spring love tunes from happy birds

EMGN DESIGNS Presents:  Tuesday Treasured Tidbits

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. platosgroove
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 15:18:49

    Yes I have noticed the birds singing to each other.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Faraday's Candle
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 15:45:39

    How amazingly beautiful this planet is. All creatures great and small.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. calensariel
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 16:23:45

    What a beautiful breath of fresh air. I’m noticing the same thing around here.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. badfish
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 04:40:52

    Aloha: you write poetry, too? Nice reminder of Spring (is it?). We have no Spring here. Only two seasons: hot and dang hot.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 25, 2015 @ 13:50:57

      I used to write poetry a lot. Years back I belonged to a poetry group. I dropped out when we moved up here. I also wrote poems in my teenage angst days. I think I’ve done two since I’ve blogged. I would like to return to it one day.

      I think that it might be Spring. The jury is still out on that. They keep claiming 40s and 50s, but it barely makes it to the mid 30s. Today, I think it said 41 on the outside thermometer. It’s in the shade, so it true temps… We don’t get last frost until somewhere in mid May/early July. Growing up in the Big A, we had Spring when the calendar actually showed it coming in. Hot and dang Hot sounds a lot like Texas, at least six out of the 12 months.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • badfish
        Mar 25, 2015 @ 23:39:14

        I actually love writing poetry. I write bad poetry. But I love where my mind wanders off–to some other realm of reality/consciousness where everything seems lucid but isn’t, and every word I put on the page seems like it should be there. But shouldn’t.
        Yeah, TX is probably real close to the same meridian, where many of the world’s deserts lie more or less. I miss the feel of Springs, but not harsh winters.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Leave a Reply

