If I had a hammer, I’d hang a lotta pictures

Wall to Wall

[What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?]

I think I’ve grown a little since the days of my teen angst youth. I had any number of band posters adorning my walls. But that was just my room.

Before I got married, and when I lived in Wisconsin, in an apartment, I thought it would be cool to put up sconces, and I lit most of the rooms with candles. I even had a kerosine lamp or two on desks, or tables.

When I got married, we both continued a passion I’d gotten from my folks: calendars. We didn’t just buy one, to stretegically hang in a handy place. We bought four or five each and adorned our doors, and walls with them. Now we continue that tradition, but also have gone the route of wall hangings, some Southwestern in flavor, one possibly from Guatamala, in the bedroom, along with Spirit Sticks and two Dreamcatchers.

Back in the living room, at the top of the stairs, we have a floor to ceiling towel with scenes from Star Trek.

I got particularly decorative when we moved in here, and put up seasonal hangings on the wall which rises up to the top floor. Each one gets put on the front door, in it’s time of the year. Our Yule wreath is still there, because I don’t have a Spring decoration yet.

There are a couple pictures, of our family – Mr.  Quantum’s Great Grandpappy, and one of my Great Grandmother. Of course, our kitties grace that wall as well. Cappie the Sock Monkey is pressing me to put pics of him and his bride Tess, the alpaca, and their little Alponkey daughter, Claire.

There’s this nice old antique barometer, of the very old kind, with the glass filled with a nice blue tinted water, that should drip when the barometer goes in which ever direction it goes toward overflowing. There are two others, antiques, one up here, next to the family pictures, and one downstairs. There’s a cockcoo clock from Germany, my folks acquired during World War II, and the hallway heading down from the living room to the bedrooms are lined with pics, or calendars; one side for Mr. Quantum’s and the other for mine.

I’m reminded that we’ve placed floor mats, of nice wine, and fruit still life, on our kitchen wall since they didn’t work well as floor mats. There’s a hanging of the Irish Blessing, and I can’t say whether it is actually a wall hanging, but we put the valances from our previous kitchen windows up around the door ways into the kitchen.
And lest I forget, I have a Chinese caligraphy of the kanji which is the word, Chaos.

We have kept about five paintings from the many, many hanging around the house. They are originals which my parents either had commissioned from a Greenwich Village artist duirng one of the annual art shows they used to have down there. Four of them, two of which are hung in the spaces above the windows in the livingroom, and the other two remain in the bedroom above the closet doors. And one that my uncle painted, which is a favorite of mine, hanging on one livingroom wall.

Oh, and did I mention there are two little wooden shelves, which are bracketed to one bedroom wall. There is a vase (from Greece, I think) with dried flowers in it, and a statue candle holder of Kokopelli. And a corner three teired shelf behind our caddycorner bed with some woodsy scenes, and southwestern pottery.

This of course doesn’t really count the downstairs, except for the afore mentioned barometer. But we do have one wall down there, over the fireplace which is dedicated to all things Sea. Wonderful motifs of little fishing villages, and a wondrous collection of Boson’s heads representing all manner of ocean faring men, from pirates, to fishermen (my own grandfather being one of those who fished the waters of the Labrador), to Ocean liner captains, and beyond. The rest of the walls, not mentioned are floor to ceiling bookcases, built in, which is why my folks bought this house in the first place.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. somemaid
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 15:16:00

    We don’t have a lot of pictures on our walls just a few photos of the kids etc. What we do have is strategically placed Vinyl albums on display. We’ll often take a chance on an album with nice artwork. Loved hearing about the calenders and the Star Trek things love Star Trek.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 17, 2015 @ 17:48:37

      Ooooo album covers! Those were the best. A good size. What a great idea.
      Yes, I know you love Star Trek. 🙂 Those were the days.
      On the calendars, we often get the same ones (like Mr. Quantum gets ‘The Night Sky’ which shows what is above us at various times during the year. And I’m a huge fan of ‘Out on the Porch’). But we also have our personal other favorites. Like this year, I got a Walking Dead calendar lol… I keep it over here, off the wall, but inside a bookcase next to my computer, facing out, from the glass door.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. calensariel
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 17:15:19

    Eclectic musical tastes and eclectic decorating tastes. Loved the little history lesson. Felt like I was in the Time Machine going through the ages of your dwellings!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 17, 2015 @ 17:58:51

      Thank you! 🙂 The prompt made me think of how things changed for me, and how some of it stayed the same. I also wanted to make the house look different. While a lot of the furniture was already in the house, it is all in different places, and the décor is more suited to us.

      It’s interesting you mention The Time Machine, because that is Mr. Quantum’s favorite book and movie. He’s so Dr. Who Time Lord-esk. We have an old desk… you know the kind that has that pull-down part (not a roll top), which serves as a writing surface? It has a bookcase on top, with glass doors. We took the books out, and put most of Mr. Quantum’s clocks in there, and they are all wind up, and tick-tocking all over the place. We keep the doors open so it displays them. I thought I wouldn’t like the ticking, but I have come to realize that at times they sound like running water, like a stream… very interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • calensariel
        Mar 18, 2015 @ 00:13:16

        A French Secretary is what they’re called. I have one, too. Mine is small, though. That’s interesting about the clocks. I have a thing for chimes and I have them hanging inside as well as out. There’s an angel hanging by the window in our bedroom. It will ring if there’s a breeze OR if the furnace kicks on. I wondered if it would keep me awake, but nope. They make me feel like there’s angels present.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Mar 18, 2015 @ 00:30:27

          Ah, I knew there was a name for the kind of desk. I love chimes too. We had to rather big ones hanging off the gutters on the back deck, but had to be taken down when we had the gutters replaced. There’s a small one out front, and there’s one in the Romn Room (used to be my room before I got married, and then was my mother’s office, and the ‘cold room’ meaning the only room with a/c. Now, it’s just the ‘room of many names aka Romn Room 🙂 )

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Leave a Reply

