25 Songs, 25 Days

Day 16 – A song that has made me cry

Well, this is easy. What song hasn’t made me cry, is more like it? Sometimes happy tears, but most time sad tears. And then you put a video with it, and I’m crying me a river (pun intended).

Still, there is one song that I can’t listen to without tearing up, and it is a sadness. It will be nine years in eleven days since my mother crossed over. It was something I dreaded for as long as I can remember. She was so precious to me; a loving, kind and caring woman. There wasn’t anything we didn’t walk about. We shared everything under the sun, and I learned so much from her.

In 2006, Mr. Quantum and I, moved lock stock and barrel up here, to help my aging parents out. Little did I know (or anyone else for that matter) I would have only six months before she would leave her mortal coil behind, and become part of All That Is.

I can’t remember when I heard this song for the first time, but it seems like it came into my life, right at that time, and it spoke so well of my loss, and my anguish. It still does today. Mostly it speaks of how lost I still feel without her.

To Where You Are – Josh Groban

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 11:12:50

    That’s so beautiful. I’ve never heard that one before. I think my favorite by him is When You Say You Love Me. Though I LOVE You Raise Me Up.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 18, 2015 @ 16:32:55

      Thank you. I also love Alejate. There is something about a song in Spanish that draws me in. I’ve also enjoyed songs in other languages that I don’t understand, but sound so beautiful.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Fimnora Westcaw
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 16:38:27

    Oh, yes! You Raise Me Up. I first heard it from Celtic Woman

    Like

    Reply

    • calensariel
      Mar 18, 2015 @ 17:57:20

      Are you an Anne Murray fan, bac? I could think of only three songs (other than Daddy’s Little Girl) that have made me cry. One was Old Shep. Dad used to sing that all the time. The first time I heart Honey by Bobby Goldsboro I was driving and had to pull off the road I was crying so hard. The other song is by Anne Murray. I spent the entire morning trying to find the words to it and I don’t recognize a title on any of her albums. I went through them all on her website. It was a song about a couple. She would get nervous when he’d be away, and when he’d come in late she’d say, “Where you been?” By the end of the song they were both in a nursing home, though separate rooms, and she couldn’t talk, until one day they wheeled him in to see her and she said “Where you been?”

      OMG… I thought I was going to die that song made me ache so much because I am EXACTLY that way with HL. You don’t happen to know that one, do you?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Fimnora Westcaw
        Mar 18, 2015 @ 23:04:07

        So interesting, we were listing to our oldies station over tea, and a song came on, and we were trying to figure out who was singing, and we figured it might have been one of the many Bobby singers: Vinton, Vee, Rydell, and Goldsboro was brought up, and Honey was mentioned. Synchronicities.

        I don’t remember a song like that by Anne Murray, and put in the lyrics and her name in a search engine. But there’s often a lot of songs that got left behind. I noticed these days, since a lot of ‘best of’ albums were released, some of the older stuff isn’t in there. I will check Allmusic and see if they come up with anything. Mr. Q calls me bulldog. lol

        Like

        Reply

      • Fimnora Westcaw
        Mar 18, 2015 @ 23:36:03

        I meant to say in the last post that “You Needed Me” is a specific favorite of mine. It can bring me to tears as well. I do have some of Anne’s songs. I think we’ have one vinyl in the house of hers.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • calensariel
          Mar 19, 2015 @ 00:08:01

          His lordship and I renewed our vows on our 35th anniversary with a whole big shebang. At the end of the service he and I lit an anniversary candle and they played Can I Have This Dance For The Rest of My Life. I was sooooooo teary.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

  3. Cathy
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 17:09:53

    New to me also – he does have a nice clear voice with good enunciation.
    I think we should all have vocal reminders of people we love (for me it’s my father’s favourite singer Josef Locke)
    On a lighter note (and not taking away from your memorial post) when I saw the word Cry for some reason I thought you were going to highlight the song by Johnny Ray lol
    Take care
    Cathy

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  4. calensariel
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 18:48:27

    Whoa! I had sent an email to Anne’s official site trying to find it this morning. It was Kathy Mattea, not Anne Murray. They answered me. I think I’ll do a Monday Music Post about songs that make me cry.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 18, 2015 @ 23:15:05

      I’m glad you found it! I’d never have. I’m not familiar with Kathy Mattea. But that song is such a tender song! I know exactly what you’re saying. The day we arrived up here back in ’05, we had to wait for a local train to our nearest station. He went off to look for something to eat, and I waited, and waited. I was freaking out because he wasn’t coming back. He stopped in the bathroom on the way back. What a mess I was. Sheesh!

      Like

      Reply

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 19:36:37

    Aw, losing your mom is the hardest! So sorry. Perfect song. I cry with that one too. Just one beat away. Whah. I feel you all around me, your memory so clear. Really an inspiring song and comforting.
    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. badfish2
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 21:06:35

    I’m a guy. I don’t cry at no stinking song. That’s my official line, and I’m sticking to it. But behind closed doors, one song makes me pause. Let It Be, The Beatles. It’s a rather long story that has to do with my nephew (whose name was Keith), who one day started crying when he heard this song, and could not explain why. Then a while later, he died in a car accident. And Let It Be helped us all get through that time because all we could do was let it be the way it was. When I hear the song these days, I still think back, and then just let it be.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  7. Good Woman
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 23:43:13

    Josh Groban is a great singer and this is an absolutely beautiful song. Sorry for your loss and I absolutely understand how this song affects you. I know the song and I know it would make me cry but I went ahead and listened to it anyway, so here I am reflecting on my greatest loss ever. But I’ll be fine…as will you I am sure…it keeps the memory alive by having these moments.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. Clare
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 18:10:42

    Hi Fimnora,

    I agree with Good Woman, Josh has an amazing voice and this song is so beautiful it is easy to understand the emotion it invokes – the words are so powerful.

    My mother passed away almost 20 years ago and still, for not apparent reason, I’ll think of her and start crying. More than anything, it’s usually the little things that set me off – a song or a poem – but seeing my mother reflected in the mirror or staring back at me in the faces of my children comforts me, knowing she is still here.

    Clare

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 19, 2015 @ 20:54:34

      Hi Clare,

      You know it’s so strange, because the years since my mom crossed over, when I’ve visited my aunt (father’s sister) she would tell me, “I can’t get over how much you look like your mother.” I never saw, until about three years ago. I’d had a hat on, and it made all the difference. I stood there staring. I DID look like her! Not all the time. I only saw it when I had a hat on.

      Yes, Josh has a wonderful, full voice.

      Fim

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Clare
        Mar 19, 2015 @ 22:04:42

        I only see my eldest brother every two or three years and every time he tells me that he cannot believe how much I look like Mum. I think the secret to eternal life is in what and, (for those of us lucky enough to be blessed with children), who we leave behind. In that, we are able to live on in others lives.

        You’ll never forget your Mum, but each passing year does bring a lessening of the pain.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Leave a Reply

