Fun Facts and Quizzes

Who Am I?

Or, how about, who do I write like?

I came across this in a post from a new follower, KYROSMAGICA, and there was this little quiz thing, where you can put in a couple of paragraphs from something you wrote, and it analyzes your writing style, and tells you who you write like.

So I tried. Someone named William Gibson, is apparently my style. I shrugged, and found another of my stories, and did it again. Now I write like Ursula Le Guin. Another I’ve not heard of. Mr. Quantum has. He thought that was a cool style. Believe me, not knowing these authors has nothing to do with these writers not being known to others, only to my own tunnel vision on authors I tend to read.

Going on. I also write like Ray Bradbury, Oscar Wilde, Arthur C. Clarke, Somebody really obscure, I can’t remember. A last try now brings up the name Dan Brown! WOW, Dan Brown? Really. Can I make his money?

But it makes me think, am I a vehicle for various and sundry others who ghost write through me? And wouldn’t THAT be an interesting story?

Of course, the authors I love most, probably wouldn’t show up in an analysis of my work. Oh well, it was fun.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 13:45:50

    You write like you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 19, 2015 @ 16:14:17

      Actually, I’ve found that depending on what I write about, my style actually does change. Also, it was interesting to see how my writing changed over the years. But, yes, I did write like me. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. susurrus
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 15:38:18

    I tried the quiz and smiled to learn that I write like an American horror writer. Like you, I tried a couple more paragraphs, then got Dan Brown (obviously quite a common style) and a sci-fi writer. I was trying to get Oscar Wilde like you – that would have made my day! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. calensariel
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 15:53:47

    Ok then… Dan Brown, Vladimir Nabokov, Mark Twain. Kept getting Dan Brown over and over, but I got Mark Twain for my little piece about the country cleric. I felt honored!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 19, 2015 @ 16:26:03

      Oh! Then you’d be a favorite writer of Mr. Q! Mark Twain is his favorite. It’s a fun little quiz, though I’m sure they only use a couple of really well known authors (or maybe not… didn’t know who William Gibson was). 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  4. somemaid
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 17:24:47

    Impressive names. I agree with the comment above though. You write like you, and that is more than enough. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. sounja
    Mar 20, 2015 @ 09:56:43

    I just did this quiz and I write like Dan Brown too! I would not have guessed that for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 20, 2015 @ 19:57:19

      A lot of people have gotten Dan Brown. hmmmm. I really had not thought about what my style is. I write different kinds of stories, and I think my style changes with the genre. But it was an interesting quiz.

      Like

      Reply

  6. JoHanna Massey
    Mar 20, 2015 @ 17:17:54

    There has to be a story in this. Perhaps how there really were only a half dozen ‘writers’ assigned to the planet at one time and the rest of us just channel them. Never knowing that we are actually taking and writing down some form of cosmic dictation. Anyway, what a hoot!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. badfish
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 02:31:10

    I love stuff like this, so I tried it. I, apparently, write like the guy who draws Peanuts cartoons!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

