25 Songs, 25 Days

Day 18 – A song that I love, but rarely listen to

Back when I first found my way to the internet (before that, it was just all Prodigy), I met a woman from Portugal who introduced me to a singer, through an absolutely beautiful song. I couldn’t understand the words, but I got the passion, and pretended that the words I was mouthing, were actually what she was saying. I had no clue what the song is about, but I didn’t really care, since it’s brought me to such heights.

(I just looked it up, and she’s singing in Italian. And the English translation for the title of the song is “To the Stars.”

Enjoy!

Spent le Estelle – Emma Shaplin

Enjoy!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 20, 2015 @ 21:33:30

    My Adobe Flash plug in keeps crashing today. But I got to hear a little of it. She has a beautiful voice. I wonder if she sings opera.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 20, 2015 @ 23:35:56

      I am not sure if she does. I can’t imagine her not. But that song just gets me, and it could be an aria (or maybe not?) from where I am sitting. I know, of course, some operas, from growing up in a house where classical music was the norm. Though I admit it has never been a genre I’ve gravitated toward. I take individual songs one at a time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. badfish2
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 02:50:27

    Lovely voice…operatic, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 21, 2015 @ 17:00:40

      In style, yes. I don’t think the song is from an opera. She does have a beautiful voice though.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • badfish
        Mar 22, 2015 @ 00:36:27

        But what’s she saying? Same old stuff…I left my heart in…Pisa?

        Like

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Mar 22, 2015 @ 14:04:06

          LOL I don’t think so… but hold that thought…

          Quel cuor perdesti
          perun miraggio
          quel cuor tradisti
          odiar di piu, no puo!
          la mia voce, senti
          il suo dolor… o no?
          la tua spari
          e io, pazza, t’aspetto!

          Dimenticar
          o non piu vivere
          ormai, salvo
          la notte la notte la notte
          ah!

          CHORUS

          Spente le stelle
          col pallido raggio di luna
          piange l’amore
          che si lancia come l’onda poi se ne va
          vuota, la notte
          e la sua speranza breve
          ora sgorga l’amaro pianto
          un cuor ferito, disperato passa qua

          Dunque fuggisti
          i sogni vuoti
          dunque perdesi
          i bevi vortici

          Dimenticar
          o non piu vivere
          ormai, salvo
          la notte la notte la notte
          ah!

          CHORUS

          Spente le stelle
          col pallido raggio di luna
          piange l’amore
          che si lancia come l’onda poi se ne va
          vuota, la notte
          e la sua speranza breve
          ora sgorga l’amaro pianto
          un cuor ferito, disperato passa qua

          AND what you really wanted to know:

          That you never lost heart for a longer mirage that heart you betrayed can not hate more. My voice, felt his (unknown) … or not? Your shots and i, mad, your aspect! Been successfully combined or not longer live now, with the exception of the night, the night the night ah! CHORUS Turn the stars off with pale radius of moon mourns the love that launches like the wave then if it is empty, the night and its hope short now flows the bitter weeping one heart wounded, desperate passes here therefore stag after wounding dreams therefore empty you lost the drink whirls

          WHICH probably translates, in short, I LOST my heart in Pisa 😛

          Liked by 2 people

          Reply

Leave a Reply

