25 songs, 25 Days

Day 19 – First song alphabetically on my mp3 playlist

‘Opie’s Wake’ – The Lost Boy

I have found so many songs, so much music in the background of TV shows, and the soundtracks of movies.

What draws me to a song? It might be a voice. It might be the music, the melody. It might be connected with the scene in which the song was played; something which touches me deep inside, for reasons I can’t even say why. I don’t know why. That’s part of my unfolding, and I won’t back away from something just because it is dark. Because we all have a part of us which is dark. It is the Yin and Yang.

This first song comes in that position because it’s got a quote mark before the first word. Alphabetically, it’s not in the right position. But it IS first on my MP3 player. So it gets played here. It’s on my play list for a combination of reasons. The character in the show, the situation for the that character, and for a line which speaks a great truth to me:

“I will not let my future go on, without the help of my Soul.”

I scrolled past the songs with numbers in them to find the actual one which would be the true alphabetical first. Oddly, both of these songs are from soundtracks, and both are dark and disturbing stories. So, in the end, either way, they really both are, a prayer for the dying.

A Prayer For The Dying – Original Soundtrack

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 23:52:07

    That is so beautiful. I’d never heard of the movie. Had to look it up. Is the whole soundtrack good? That might be something I’d ought to buy,,, Very Celtic and expressive.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 22, 2015 @ 14:14:21

      I don’t have the soundtrack, but do have the movie. Basically, through the movie the music is played. It IS beautiful. It is an Irish film, Liam Neeson is in it, early days.

      I’ve had the music on tape for 20 plus years.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Tawni
    Mar 22, 2015 @ 08:51:16

    I’ve found a lot of great songs too on movies and shows. They’re usually songs that aren’t super popular, they’re like hidden gems!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 22, 2015 @ 14:19:34

      Yes! Exactly. They are not often part of mainstream popular music or it’s the incidental music, which soundtracks often don’t include. I once made a tape (back in the days of tapes, before the Walkman (I think), of all the opening titles of shows that was on TV then. Old stuff – like Private Eye, Tripods, V (the original series) even the ending credits to John Carpenter’s 1984 The Thing. MacGyver, Miami Vice, MASH, Robin of Sherwood (which I did get the actual soundtrack for years later). I can’t even remember all the shows I’d captured. I wore it out lol But all were gems!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

