25 Songs, 25 Days

Day 21 – My Favorite Song

As it so often happens, after I dig through the piles of things because I just can’t settle on one, I get off my duff and search for that one elusive song which I remember with such fondness that there is an ache in my heart because I have not been able to find it.

I’d written down a few songs which I wanted to use to replace a duplicate (which in itself should have told me, if it was duplicated, it might mean it’s THE ONE.) HA!

What it meant was that I didn’t remember I’d put it in there, until I went through them and saw it was already in at the top of the list. Nuff said about that.

Point is, one of the songs I remembered from my childhood, from my mother’s record collection, felt so important to find. I mean, within the last year, from a tape recording of all the songs I’d collected from my mother’s records, this was the one which I was unable to find, was unable to even put on the tape. But I remembered it, because it was something so much more special. I considered that it might have felt that way simply because I could not find it. You know that one about that which got away.

So I’m sitting here, searching through Youtube for the URLs for the songs in my list, and suddenly that song pops into my mind. I stop and think about where in the house have I not yet searched.

I felt, as if in a trance, when I got up, and walked into the Romn Room. I peeked inside, switched on the light, and stared at what I already knew was in here. Then I scanned the top of the nearest surface, piled high with things which needed to be gone through. Yet I knew it was not there almost right away. I was thinking too small (45rpm). I felt like I’d just opened Tutenkomen’s Tumb, looking around at treasures from a time long gone. I walked slowly through, my eyes carefully watching for that elusive butterfly.

Across the way, in the opposite corner, on the bottom shelf of a bookcase, where I’d kept my own records when this room had been my own bedroom, I recalled there was still one group of LPs which I had not yet gone through.

I pulled out a chair, that was at a secretary desk, which was actually blocking the way to that bottom shelf. I sat down, the light not overly bright, but gazed at the albums. I pulled a couple out; recognized them. My heart began beating faster. Was I nearing this gem? This precious item? Ten albums pulled, remembering days back in the city house, my hands placing long playing records on a turntable, and bringing the arm over to rest on the selection I wanted to hear.

I reached a group of albums in which this song would have been a part. Three pulled out, turning them over, reading the back cover for the name. Not there. Then a fourth. The yellow cover, with the big red lettering, so familiar! I turned it over, and saw the name of the song! Could it be?

Taking the record, I walked out of the room and down the hall to our turntable.

The label looked familiar, and I placed the record on the spindle, lifted the arm and rested it on the outer edge of the record. It turned, and that wonderful vinyl whitenoise sound filled the air, then disappeared as the first moments of music flooded the room. This was it! I turned off the light, and sat in the dark, letting the music fill me. And it did, and thrill me in the same way I remembered it always had! And I KNEW, this WAS my favorite song.

I fully expected after having found my 42 songs, that I’d do that wild and crazy thing of playing each one, but sitting there, and drinking in the melody, I realized, I’d done it.

I understand the possibility that this build up may leave all of you sitting on the edge of your seats, waiting to see what could possibly be my actual most favorite song, above all others, may let you down.

My hope is that within the notes of 101 Strings, you will understand.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you: Malaguena – Soul of Spain

Trust me, I will NOT leave you hanging. Tomorrow, I’ll begin putting up “the meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything” – The 42.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 14:30:26

    Hot dog! I’m familiar with this one! We have a (is it) Reader’s Digest boxed set of 101 Strings (as well as several other sets from other artists), and I would bet my sweet bippy this is in that set. I can’t get to them where they are now or I’d go check. It’s an interesting piece for you to become attached to. Do you know why?

    I am SO going to challenge you to tell me what your favorite soundtrack is!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • calensariel
      Mar 27, 2015 @ 14:31:41

      And my son played it in orchestra in high school! (He was listening just now.)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 27, 2015 @ 23:24:10

      Oh wow, I just realized I didn’t actually say why I love it. Hmmmm. When I was young, probably even before I went to dancing school, I used to put on my mothers records, specifically Malaguena, and an album called “The Brave Bulls,” and dance to them. They’re so passionate, and sexy and romantic, and I still feel that. I still can’t sit still when the music is on. I took tap dancing too, when I was young. But aside from even that aspect, I loved the sounds of the castanets and the guitar, like the sound of horses galloping. And brass instruments! I think I’ve been in love with Latin music forever.

      Ah, my favorite soundtrack, would be as hard as my favorite song lol BUT what I find is that I have pieces from soundtracks which are my favorites. Many are in the 42. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. badfish
    Mar 28, 2015 @ 00:54:22

    You still have a turn table, lady? You realize this is the 21st century, right? Well, I have one too, somewhere in storage. I have always loved music, loved to dance when younger, but never really got into collecting albums (I think I was too…er…frugal). I have always loved Malaguena.

    But here’s the thing. And it’s getting spookier and spookier in here. I can’t sing. I must be tone deaf or something. I couldn’t carry a tune two feet in a wheel barrow. I can’t read music. But I had this one girl friend in college who played guitar (and side note: she was a psych major, her PhD thesis was about running her python threw a maze like a rat…I think she had a rat at the far end as bait). We were students, no money. We would sit on the beach and split one of those big beers (quart?) right out of the bottle and she would play. Good times. One day, I thought, damn, I want to learn just one song. So she taught me one song. I would play it over and over…until I got pretty dang good at it. You guessed: Mala-freakin-guena, dude.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 28, 2015 @ 14:08:27

      ROTFL! Yes, I have two turn tables. One is part of a cheap stereo we bought that included a turntable because we still have vinyl. I mean LOTS of vinyl. The other turntable was my father’s, so it was here, and was actually working when we moved in and started sorting through things. It is the first place we listened to anything music wise, even before we were sleeping here. So we’re set. We also have 4 vcrs 😛

      *grinning* yup, this is a case for the x-files. But if you’re gonna learn a song, I’d say Malaguena is a good, even if probably really hard one to learn. Me, I learned how to play (rhythm guitar) for songs like Saturday Night, and Tequila Sunrise by The Eagles, even got up on stage and played with a band, and some others. I was like on da road man! It was pretty cool. I still have my electric guitar, but it’s warped, and sad in the corner from disuse. I’m sticking to playing records, CDs, and MP3s because that’s what I do best with music. I’m a true appreciator 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  3. julz
    Mar 29, 2015 @ 06:32:41

    this reminds me of the old cowboy films that used to be on tele years ago and are getting revived now that the extra channels need something to run!

    quite liked it but not my bag!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 29, 2015 @ 11:54:27

      Interesting! But I can see that happening. There’s a whole new generation (more than one) who have never seen The Lone Ranger, or Tom Nix (?). But we haven’t had reception on our TV for about 4 years now. Netflix, on the other hand, through ROKU is most excellent!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

