This, That, and the Other Thing

Been MIA for a few days, on the writing front only, as I’m preparing myself for the Writing 101 course, coming up tomorrow. So a quick update on the last, long awaited 25 Songs, 25 Days post – that song I could listen to without getting tired of it.  I’m actually working on it, which one might wonder, what’s to work on… either you got it, or you don’t. Well, if you’ve been paying attention, there’s nothing so simple about how I approach anything. It’s gotten me into big trouble, but living on the edge is where I do some of my best work. Hopefully tomorrow, if not tonight, even, I’ll have it up for all to see. Just expect the unexpected, (as Jeff Probst – or was that Julie Chen? always said… Mr. Quantum to the rescue – it was Julie Chen).  That’s all I’m saying.

AND I have not forgotten THE 42 – Life, The Universe, and Everything; songs which were in the running for favorite song of all time. They will be posted once a week, one at a time.

FAVORITE SAYING QUOTE thingy: May the Force Be With You, and Remember, No Matter Where You Go, There You Are!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 19:31:47

    I have that quote written in my journal, too. One of my favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 06, 2015 @ 01:15:49

      Both have become like a mantra here. If one of us is heading off to do something we usually do a ‘see ya later alligator, after while crocodile,’ then ‘may the Force be with you,’ – response – ‘and with you’ and finally ones says, ‘and remember’ then the other, ‘no matter where you go’ and finally the response, ‘there you are.’

      It’s that Traditions kind of thing. Do you know the song?

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

      • calensariel
        Apr 06, 2015 @ 01:27:52

        There’s a song about that?

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Apr 06, 2015 @ 08:10:12

          The song “Tradition,” from Fiddler on the Roof. Great music. Will put up my favorite from that soundtrack one of these days!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

          • calensariel
            Apr 06, 2015 @ 09:52:22

            Oh yes, indeed! I love that entire album! My favorite which I used to sing to HL all the time was “Do You Love Me?” HIS favorite, of course, was “If I Were A Rich Man.” He even loves to stomp around the living room when he squawks it!

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

          • calensariel
            Apr 06, 2015 @ 09:54:55

            Bit of trivia for you… Did you know that Norman Jewison was directing both Fiddler and Superstar at the same time — on opposite sides of a mountain?

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Apr 06, 2015 @ 12:45:12

              I didn’t know. But very cool! Unifying 🙂

              And in some ways, going back to the comment above this, Fiddler on the Roof may be in my top soundtracks list lol If I had to pick a favorite, I think it would be TO LIFE!
              The dancing!!! Thrilling to watch, and gets me up on my feet… never fails! 🙂

              Like

              Reply

            • calensariel
              Apr 06, 2015 @ 14:20:05

              I just love that a lot of Jewish music is done in a minor key. Maybe? I’m not good with music that way. Like Sabbath Prayer from Fiddler. We used that for one of our women’s retreats. My friend Serge from Canada sent me the soundtrack to Schindler’s List. Some of that music just grabs my heart and twists it.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

              • Fimnora Westcaw
                Apr 06, 2015 @ 17:40:56

                Yes, you’re right. It’s that minor key music. It sounds and feels exotic.
                We saw Schindler’s List just last year for the first time. I will have to go find some of the soundtrack on You Tube. I am not remembering the music.
                Have you ever seen a movie, A Stranger Among Us? Melanie Griffith is in it. It takes place in the Hassidic community in Brooklyn, NY. She’s a detective, investigating a murder, but the story is a beautiful expression of the richness of the Orthodox life. The music is gorgeous. I looked for the soundtrack on You tube, but they don’t have it.

                Like

                Reply

  2. badfish
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 02:17:17

    Creep. Quit dinkering around with our souls and just tell us the dang song. It better not be a Beatles song. And I’m pretty sure it was either me or Buddha who coined the term: That’s all I’m saying.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. somemaid
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 04:20:41

    I agree with @Badfish tell us the song!
    I do wonder though if its because there are too many to choose from, that would be the problem I have.
    Love your favourite quotes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Tawni
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 07:43:40

    I’m doing writing 101 too!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

