Interesting

Day 6: Today’s Prompt: Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year? Today’s twist: Turn your post into a character study.

Sometime during last year, I’d seen someone, now and again, that I thought might be very interesting to meet. There are those people who you just sense, there’s something about them that draws you in. It is often an air of enthusiasm which is contagious, and you sit and think, I need that kind of verve. But life gets in the way.

At the beginning of this year, suddenly she appeared, after a few months of not seeing hide nor hair of her. It brought a smile to my face to see her. She always had me thinking, I want to be just like her, when I grow up. This is the kind of person who is a combination of determined dedication, married with a daring-do which is inspiring.

I’ve always admired people who take the bull by the horns, jump in with both feet, and follow through with thoughts and ideas. She never seems to be running with the herd. Instead, she finds a way to make things she does, her own. If she was a singer, she wouldn’t sound like the original artist who recorded a song. It would sound completely different sung with her unique vision.

I had chance to meet her. I was wowed by her. She was so much more approachable than I expected. Open, and cheerful, she always had a kind word for those she came in contact with. You know those people who are helpful, like they will go that extra mile when someone is in need? That is her. She encourages me in my own endeavors.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ish
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 17:16:57

    “It is often an air of enthusiasm which is contagious, and you sit and think, I need that kind of verve. But life gets in the way.” …so true!

    Like

    Reply

  2. platosgroove
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 17:20:01

    Was she you? You also have your own voice. She should be glad to have met you. I bet ya’ll would get along famously!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. luciledegodoy
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 17:23:02

    This is short and crisp post which has absolutely delivered today’s assignment perfectly. I liked both the narrative as well as this person you described.

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 13, 2015 @ 18:48:53

      Thank you very much! It was difficult to write, for some reason. This year is still so new, and I felt connecting it to last year, even at a glimpse, might not have been in keeping, but the meeting was this year, so I feel okay with it! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  4. calensariel
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 17:27:21

    I got a very specific person in mind when I read that. An actress, Lindsay Duncan. Well her character Katherine on Under the Tuscan Sun. I fell in love with her and wanted to be just like her. She was fun-loving, guirky, her own person, yet at the end of her part of the story you found out how very vulnerable she really was. I really liked your piece. It had something very mysterious about it with her coming and going.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 13, 2015 @ 19:29:10

      Ah the coming and going… it’s a story I’ll tell to you soon! 🙂
      Off to food, glorious food.

      Like

      Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 13, 2015 @ 22:09:25

      I got your comment about Under the Tuscan Sun over in some place in my blog I had no idea about lol and I answered, but not seeing that here, I wonder if you got it. I think I said I was going to look up this character/actress so I could see who I remind you of.

      Like

      Reply

  5. calensariel
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 01:05:27

    Lord have mercy we’ve made a right mess out of your posts today! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. badfish
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 05:59:45

    I know this woman.
    Hey…I’ve been looking for the writing 101 badge…where do I find it?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. The Accidental Poet
    Apr 19, 2015 @ 19:47:51

    Cool blog post. You made me want to meet this person.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

