The creation of a thousand forests is in one acorn

Day Twelve: Today’s Prompt: Write a post inspired by a real-world conversation. Today’s twist: include an element of foreshadowing at the beginning.

It never occurred to me that I would actually say it. But when I heard someone voice what I came to know, not once, but at least three times, I realized what I choose most often to grace my computer desktop background (and blog header), is perfectly evocative of what I heard someone say, just today: “You know what I miss most? Trees. All different kinds of trees; the big trees, like Redwoods, and Oaks, and pines and maples.”

I grew up in the Northeast, what I think of as tree universe. The highways are always lined with an abundance of at least a half dozen species of trees. We don’t have the redwoods here, no, but oaks, maples, elms, weeping willows, among others, and a rather large population of all kinds of evergreens.

My first actual experience with lack of trees was back in 1970 when I travelled across country, in a vw mini bus  – sorry,  I’m hearing music in my head – in a broken down Chevy Impala, that got us out to (get this) Manhattan, Kansas before it gave up the ghost, for a while, at any rate. I’m talking flat-land-city! In fact, I think it was like that half way there. Once we got going again, we ended up at our chosen destination, Boulder, Colorado. Yes, there were some trees around, but there was a serious lack of them. However, the jagged, snowcapped mountains made up for it, and sort of made me almost forget. I even moved back there in 1975 for about three years. What can I say? Masochist.

My next move to a treeless domain was in 1995, when I ended up living in an apartment in Kenosha, Wisconsin. There were many things that made me forget about the lush landscape of upstate New York. For miles and miles around, there were corn fields! And when you drove by at night, they sparkled with the light of a thousand fireflies! The occasional farm house had a clump of trees around it, but nothing much to speak of, otherwise. And we did have Lake Michigan, right downtown, where dead smelly fish washed up on the sands in summer for reasons I never could find out about.

My last memory of that fear of missing the trees came as Q and I were bound for Dallas on The Texas Eagle. I recall, as we pulled out of Texarkana, saying, “wow, I didn’t know Texas had trees!” Well, I didn’t know jack about Texas. It has four (if not more) distinct environments: The east, is more like the deep South, with bayous, and cyprus trees draped in Spanish Moss, that grew right up out of the water! East Texas has the humidity of the East Coast thing going on. My new husband assurred me that Texas did, indeed, have trees, depending on what part. Dallas managed a good bunch of varieties, including a Texas Palm! Who knew? But there are parts where its just downright barren.

The fact that we’ll be heading back down Texas way, into Big Bend Country, doesn’t have me worried about missing trees anymore. I figure I can go visit an arboretum now and again, to get me a fix of tree filled happiness.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erica
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 21:08:50

    You know what? This conversation should happen everywhere. I remember as a child and as a teen we had this pine tree that was lush and green right in our front yard. We lived in an apartment complex, but that tree held so many good memories for me.

    Even in winter around Christmas time, the rental office staff and my father would decorate the tree and grill right out front. Our doors were always open to guests for hot chocolate, food, entertainment, whatever.

    And then in the summer after tennis practice, my friend and I would sit near it on her blanket and listen to music while talking about nothing.

    Sad to say, the tree began to lose its branches(I suspect it had been torn off) and it is just not the same anymore. No cookouts, no decorating- nothing.

    Thanks for the post!

    Like

    Reply

  2. jabrush1213
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 21:16:31

    I grew up in the northeast and I understand your description of trees as a universe. I still live up here and the domain of trees is something I can’t imagine living without. When you described going away from the trees, I am able to imagine how life would be without them on the highways.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 21, 2015 @ 23:05:34

      In the good weather, there’s no place like the northeast, but in winter, I just feel all I can do is hibernate. I did a deep one this year, which is how I found Blogging 101 LOL
      There’s beauty everywhere, it’s true. Nature abounds in all places, but the lush forests, it’s just something I hope I’ll always be able to be near, in some way.

      Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

  3. platosgroove
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 22:26:02

    ” deep South, with bayous, and cyprus trees draped in Spanish Moss” That is getting close to the trees I know at least some of them. You know more trees than me except the ones Ive seen in Zimbabwe maybe. But the water and the cypress and the moss feels like home probably like you know your tree universe. IT shapes us I think and lin s us to home.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. calensariel
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 23:20:19

    Funny, I thought Wisconsin would be COVERED with trees. Don’t they have lots of lakes and stuff there? And that’s really interesting about Texas. My goodness. You’ve been spoon feeding me geography again, haven’t you! I never notice till it’s too late. I found this a very enlightening post, Fim. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 21, 2015 @ 23:44:37

      Thank you! There might be parts of Wisconsin which are forested. I lived in the southeastern part, on the Illinois border, and it was all farm land, and dairy farms, which required large parcels of grazing grounds.

      Minnesota is the 10,000 lakes state, right next door to the West. Lake Michigan, and Superior (I think) is there, but the interior, not sure how lake filled it is. There’s some, of course. Guilty pleasure, geography. If I ever find myself looking at a map, I spend hours just grazing. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  5. badfish
    Apr 22, 2015 @ 05:13:09

    It just keeps on keeping on. Getting better. Deeper. And you have good tales.
    And get this: I drove (not a Chevy) but your initial thought, a VW camper van, from Costa Rica to Fort Riley, Kansas…where it broke down. And I had to get the engine overhauled in Manhattan!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Faraday's Candle
    Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:09:48

    What a wonderful read for today Earth Day April 22nd. You have such a wonderful gift for making things come to live. Happy Earth Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

