Surprise, surprise, surprise

[Day Thirteen: Serially Found  Prompt: write about finding something found]

Moving day loomed large on the horizon. Just a week away. It was an easy move, relatively speaking; a five mile drive, that took 10 minutes. It was the first, actually, of two, but we wanted to be in the house by April 30th so we could wake up in our new abode on our anniversary.

We had been working over there since mid July the previous year, after my father had passed away. Cleaning out, sorting through and trying to arrange things inside so we’d be able to fit two houses into one. There was no specific deadline for the final move. But we also knew that everyday we were not settled into the new place, would mean we would be paying utilities on both houses that much longer, not to mention having to keep paying rent to the Sheriff (our affectionate name for the mobile park owner) for The Shire (yes, we nickname our houses – we nickname our rooms in the houses as well). It was non-stop work.

The amount of stuff a family can accumulate over 59 years of marriage was rather sizable. And having grown up in this family, I knew that very little was ever given away or thrown out. It wasn’t the mess of a hoarder’s house. My mom had been fairly immaculate in her house keeping. After her death, my father, not so much. But he didn’t accumulate things either. His routine was regular, and consisted of the few household chores he wanted to manage on his own, going shopping every other day or so. He did not bring new things into the house, but did not want to get rid of anything, either. It all had to remain just the way it was on the day my mother ‘left him,’ as he always referred to her passing.

On the surface, it looked like an easier job. But the reality of having to make the decision of what went and what stayed was fraught with emotional turmoil. Nostalgia was a rather annoying bystander. “Are you sure you want to throw that out?” Master Nostalgia would ask. And I would sit and wonder. But I didn’t really have time to sit and wonder. I had to get this stuff done. I soldiered on, and made, what I hope will become, my meditation room, a storage space for all, of which, I just couldn’t let go.

But we managed, by april, last year, to get the place cleared, and cleaned, enough, so we could begin sleeping over there. Then we would continue packing up the little house and piling boxes in the little car, to continue the process.

We got one of those company’s which claim they do any size move. That was a tip I’d gotten from a good friend who’d moved a few years prior. We tried to keep our nerves from ripping us to shreds. Mine have been known to send me to my knees, a weeping willow of a woman, crying that I couldn’t take it any more, which is not the same as, “I’m angry and I’m not going to take it anymore.”

I’ve often wondered what forces of the universe come in and throw monkey (my sock monkey cappie just yelled at me for using that term 😮 ) wrenches into perfectly and well thoughtout plans. I can point a finger at the rapscallion this time.

There we were, day of the move, and we go out of the park for a last minute run into town, and lo and behold, we FIND that the bridge which would allow us to get to the road that takes us to the new house, has been closed! WHAT????? No way! Are you kidding??? Come on, give me a break…. frantic calls go out to the movers…. you have to come all the way around from the OTHER side of the mountain – okay, there’s no mountain, but a rise in the road that used to have us seeing cars flying by at the top of our cathedral windows at night. How weird is that?

What would have been a 10 minute drive, was going to take us over 25 minutes, and into a line of traffic that was being detoured. The city/county – who knows – had found out our plans, and said, let’s get the Westcaw’s at all cost. Or at least that’s what it felt like.

So my find, was not expected, and not even remotely wanted.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Apr 22, 2015 @ 13:48:20

    OMG! I would have been an absolute basket case! When mom and dad died we cleaned out two houses and a shed so I KNOW how hard that can be. Nope. I would have laid right down on the street and shouted, “GOD, TAKE ME NOW!!!” Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Fimnora Westcaw
    Apr 22, 2015 @ 18:50:03

    Thank you! Two houses and a shed… Exactly what we had! LOL too funny. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. julz
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 20:56:10

    good luck in your new home – they say moving house is one of the most stressful things you can do – it seems it was for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. lightwalker1
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 21:55:50

    There always is a monkey wrench, isn’t there. Nice description of the frustration. In love and light Cheryle

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

