Rock My World

Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Today’s Prompt: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there.

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

______________________________________________________________________

My Dearest Guardian Rock:

I know we haven’t officially met yet – two pats on your head does not a meeting make, am I right, or am I right? Anyway, back to the we haven’t officially met part. We both know how it all went down last year. I know you know, because being part of All That Is, you’re in touch with All That goes around, and I’m part of that too. Anyway, you know it was a big ZERO on the journeying front. yadda, yadda, yadda. But let me get to my point.

I’m taking, as you know, this course at Blogging University, and I’m supposed to write a letter. The directions were to find a book, turn to page 29, and the word that pops out at me, I’m supposed to use that as a jumping off place. Yes, I know, when rocks grow up to become mountains, jumping off places, become risky business.

This jumping off place re: the instructions, said I could write to the word, and well, you’re my word; you my rock. *wonders why I get an urge to sing a song? – “I am a rock, I am an island…”*

I found you in my own book, which I’ve been writing for 900 years. Ah, I see you caught that; I’m prone to exaggeration. Page 29 was kind of hard to find, because my weird younger self, did the strangest thing and numbered the pages in each chapter, one through … and then Chapter two also began at page one. I’m sorry, but what demented person does that? Oh, me… yes, well, I’ll have to have a talk with myself on that one.

So anyway, are you still with me here? I actually counted through the second numbering sequence, and there on page 29, I see the word rock. Ah Hah! You KNOW what that made me think of, right? You got it. Last summer, when I was hot on the trail of journeying, I meticulously searched the back yard for that entrance into the ‘first’ world. That’s where they say – as you already know – it should begin. That nice oak between our house and the neighbor’s had the exact kind of hole for which I was looking , and it led beneath the tree. As luck would have it, right there, like the guardian that you are, I must say, you were quite inviting.

Dearest Guardian Rock

So I’m writing this letter to you to tell you that I hope we do get to meet, maybe this year, when I’m back in the realm of pathwalking, or is that pathworking? No matter, I know you know what I’m talking about.

Sincerely yours, with Love and Light,

Fimnora – the lady who lives in the white house across the yard.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ish
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:36:57

    Another neat idea as usual! You just know how to keep things fresh and interesting…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. calensariel
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:50:00

    Be sure to pack a lunch when you go journeying again. I doubt they have a Subway down there. Is Rock going to accompany you? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. gunroswell
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:52:55

    Nice twist! Well done!

    Like

    Reply

  4. platosgroove
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 13:54:37

    🙂 you make me smile

    Like

    Reply

  5. luciledegodoy
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 15:52:04

    I like your writing style. It is enticing. I like conversations and story telling.The letter is very interesting and well written.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

