Dying Ember

Day Fifteen: Your Voice Will Find You

The landscape, pale in the dusky light, blinking in and out like a meager mirage on the desert sand, changed. The night was coming, hard, like the galloping of hooves; ghost riders on the wind. Shivering, I waited. It would come in and take me, stealing my sight, leaving me floundering around, as if a fish, flopping, gasping, fighting for last breath.

Inside, I knew it would not be so quick. It would linger over me, a tasty morsel, hardly sating its hunger. But in the darkness, another would awaken, rising silently, padding across the room.

Whispers would tease me, leave me straining to hear. I would imagine laughter between the words. It was amused. I sensed delight in its dance, felt the faint breeze brushing my cheek when it twirled, or lept, then noiselessly landing near. There. No, there. My mind would dart after it, like a motion sensor, seeking, yet never finding anything more substantial than the scent of its passage.

I imagined the inky dementors I’d read about, filling the room, and hear a faint sucking sound, knowing they sought to steal my breath. But no, not my breath; rather, my voice. They came, in the dark, when they knew no one would come any closer; no one would come and save me.

I would lie mute, a bloated beached whale, unable to save myself.

Nothingness.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:57:47

    That was very visceral! But about the whale, are you speaking figuratively or is it really the thoughts of the whale. I couldn’t decide because you said “floundering AS IF a fish.” That was pretty intense, girlfriend. You have a knack for scene building that I SO lack. Loved this.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 15:23:31

      Thank you! So, I’m sitting here trying to know what I might have been feeling, thinking when I wrote that. It comes out, like I’m simply the mechanism used to convey the message. But, I’m connected, on a base, primal level to Orca Spirit. When I’ve written on this level, I feel like I’ve been in a trance when I’m done, and I read it wondering who am I? LOL
      This is the third thing I wrote for this Prompt. I didn’t like the other two. I posted this one.

      Like

      Reply

  2. platosgroove
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 13:01:26

    I’m scared. She is good ain’t she?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Amy
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 15:04:45

    Hmm, I will have to ponder this one for awhile. Definitely got me thinking, which I enjoy.

    Like

    Reply

  4. badfish
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 22:07:49

    I commented on another person’s blog this week. She’s a pretty cool artist who wants to write, says when she paints she just does it, but when she writes, the art does not just simply flow out. I can see for you, the writing simply flows out. Sometimes subtle, sometimes slaps you in the face.

    You have a true gift, Spooky. Well, apparently, you have more than one gift. But you are able to simply sit and conjure “stuff” (words, stories, pieces of inner-you) that spills out on the page and fills it with image and emotion. Wonderful simile, wonderful imagery, wonderful. But…a “beached whale”? Really? I’d think it would be something more like a shark in a cage. A cheetah trapped in a zoo.

    I like your new avatar! But I must protest: you are spending way too much time on your writing and not my Hawaii tarot dang it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 23:14:10

      I’m smiling here, being called Spooky! YES!

      You know, for a while, right at the beginning of Blogging 101, I was taken completely by surprise at how I was writing, at the voice that slipped into the driver’s seat when I’d sit down to write a prompt. I’d been away from writing for quite many years. I felt completely cut off from this part of myself. It was actually very unusual for me to not write, and I thought I’d lost my ability to do so.

      Today’s post is very much more like the writing I used to do when I was spending time in writing communities. I actually wrote two prior posts after I read the prompt, but apparently not all the way, not far enough, so that I had a major rant. I put it away for a few hours, and came back when I got hit with an idea of another approach. But that didn’t seem to work. When I read it, I was like, no… not good. Then, this morning after reading your blog, I had a bit of a pity party… I felt like, I can’t write… Look at what you did! It was stunning to my eye, to my sensitivities. So after commenting on your blog, and posting the song, I went off and cried for a couple of hours, and came back and sat down, and what I posted is what just poured out.

      Beached whale… Well, Orca is my Whale. Orca is my Guide, and I can’t say how those words found their way in. I read it over, I had to leave it. It would be like revisionist history to take that out. I can’t do that.

      Okay, If Cheetah had come in, I’d have found that very interesting. I was just telling someone about my being able to snarl (in how it sounds) like a Cheetah!

      Thanks for the av like. I’m off to do the Hawaii reading… bbl.

      Aloha Dude!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

