Let’s Talk Trash

I just want to  say this up front. Nobody tells me not to talk trash. I’m a rebel with a cause. Trash is so appopriate today as it is trash day here. On Wednesday we wheel out our big trash containers; one for recyclables and one for actual trash. This made me think of how different it was when I was a little girl. We had cans made of metal, with handles and a separate lid, which as a girl it wasn’t my job. That belonged to my dad and my brother the inside trash collectors who took it out and put it in the barrels, then had to taken out to the curb. there were no wheels. Now that’s where the differences end. It was all the same. but with no such thing as recycling. There were times when there was a difference in how trash was handled. When I lived in Wisconsin in an apartment complex, we had a huge trash thingy in the parking lot. Everybody took their garbage out and dropped it in. So differences were abounding depending on where you lived. There were no trashcans on wheels when we first lived up here. No those came years later, and in fact, I think it wasn’t until the 21st century that the wheelie trashcans came into being. In Dallas we had an alley behind our house, so we had to drag our trashbags out to the alley and put it in these plastic, but still round, with no wheels, barrels. It was there that things changed. That was also after Y2K. We actually got brandy new trashcans, with wheels, we got to put our trashcans outside in the front, on the curb, like the rest of the civilized world. So when we moved up here, this being before I got married, we still had round cans, but plastic was the fashion, and we had to almost soon as we got here, maybe within a year after moving here, had to separate the recyclables out and put them into little plastic box type things, Now, of course with more things being plastic, glass, tins, and paper, they gave us the second can on wheel, with a different color top so the trash man wouldn’t get confused, and mix it altogether, because you know as the song goes, it isn’t really trash until you mix it all together.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. HumaAq
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:18:47

    Ph I thought I’ll be reading some ‘trash’ talk hahaa.. I agree trash system is different at every vicinity you live in.. And it’s not always convenient. Our apartment’s trash days are mon, wed and fri.. Weekend are horrible because even with no party, trash can starts to fill up and stink.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. calensariel
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:27:50

    Loved the way you spring boarded into the prompt! They don’t recycle in the town we live in. HL and I do, however. We have to pay extra for a company to come get it. But I feel pretty strongly about how we treat this world. Interesting thing is, since we started recycling we hardly have ANY regular trash. Nice off-the-top-of-your-head post, girlfriend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 30, 2015 @ 16:17:57

      Thanks… it actually was something I fell asleep thinking about, so when I woke up, I came right in and sat down and wrote it. 🙂 It’s exactly 400 words too. lol

      In Dallas they didn’t pick up recycling unless we paid for it. But here, they do it, and require specific allowed items only. What we’re supposed to do with all the leaves, and branches, and what not I don’t know, but that’s mostly annoying 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  3. JoHanna Massey
    Nov 08, 2015 @ 08:06:23

    Committed to recycling.

    Where I fall down is that I have a nice assortment of cloth bags to use instead of plastic disposable ones at the grocery store and veritably leave them in the car when I actually go into the store.

    “Stick out your can.Here comes the trash man.”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Nov 08, 2015 @ 18:13:30

      Oh yes! I have so many canvas bags, and now the market has scanners, so I just go up and down the aisles, scan the item, and put it in one of my canvas bags. It’s all packed, and I just hand the scanner to the cashier and off I go after paying. No muss, no fuss! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  4. Faraday's Candle
    Feb 16, 2016 @ 13:44:09

    Hi Fim. In looking at your old post….we have supported each other for quite a while…wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

