Love Lies Bleeding

The sound of the heart that aches

Thrashing like surf crashing ashore

tossed so carelessly, and crushed forever more

against the sharp tendrils of fear.

          ~          ~          ~

Would love leave me so torn,

Pieces of my life scattered

My mind shattered

numbed beyond repair

 ~          ~          ~

I bled upon the altar of your promise

swearing I would not plead

nor too, asking you to lead

but to pull me, begging, from despair

 ~          ~          ~

For if your love has taught me naught,

“I will not go quietly into the night

I will not go down without a fight”

And I will not turn away, without a care

I am honored by the delightful Calensariel, of Impromptu Promptlings’  who has extended an invitation to join the play within the pastures of poetry. You will be enchanted by her For The Love of Reading

Tis my hope that Lightwalker will join in our LOVE Fest, lending her own lilting voice to our joyful romp

You only have to link back to my blog and add your poem on your blog, making sure to include: ~The word “Love”, at least once. ~At least one adverb. ~At least one quote or motto, marked by quotation marks.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    May 07, 2015 @ 00:00:10

    Very beautiful. And don’t we all have experiences like that? Sigh…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 07, 2015 @ 17:53:29

      Yes, but it is these kinds of experiences which produces creativity we had not known we could give forth. I thank you for your words, and for inviting me to a place I’d never have gone on my own.

      Like

      Reply

  2. somemaid
    May 07, 2015 @ 05:19:49

    Beautiful poem, truly wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. platosgroove
    May 07, 2015 @ 08:26:52

    I retreat with my meger scribbling in shame in the light of your poetry 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

