Getting To Know Me

Many thanks to Ish, who brings us wonderful stories in her Musings of a Writer Wanna Be for presenting me with this Award! Hoping to get my award UP on my side panel when my customizer stops getting all snarky…

My first tour a duty is Getting To Know Me:

1.How did you pick your blog’s name?

Several years ago, in a land far away (5 miles, to be exact), a good friend of mine introduced me to a really interesting past time: Letterboxing! This past time has some excellent history to it. But we are Johnny-come-lately folk. We had to choose a name which would be used on the site for this treasure hunting activity. The naming of things, is a favorite game, in itself, so we (Mr. Quantum and I) were happy to sit and brainstorm on the particular handle which would incorporate part of him and part of me. Obviously Quantum belongs to him, and that makes me Hermit. This Hermit is paying homage to the Major Arcana Tarot card from the Gaian Tarot deck. Thus, Quantum Hermit was conceived. When I began blogging, it was easy to shuttle it over for use in my own blog.

2.What is the most delicious food you have ever eaten?

I’m laughing here. Mr. Quantum doesn’t believe that I have a favorite food. He doesn’t believe that I eat food. I’m always scowling at the idea of eating (but it’s really cooking)… So I actually DO have a most delicious food: generally cakes, cookies, but if we’re talking actual entre type food, French Toast! ANYTHING with bread, for the most part.

3.Which is your favorite book?

The Stand by Stephen King

4.What are three things you cannot live without?

I can’t live without Mr. Quantum
I can’t live without having access to Nature
I can’t live without music!

5.Who is your favorite fictional character?

Are we talking books? or any medium (e.g. movies, tv shows?)?
If we’re doing the book specific thing, Nick Andros or Stu Redman (if we’re going with books, wouldn’t you think the favorite character should be from the favorite book?) from The Stand.
Now, if we’re talking favorite fictional character in a tv show or movie, that’s harder.
Pops to mind: Robert Neville (I Am Legend); Ronon Dex (Stargate Atlantis); THEO (Jeremiah); Legolas (LOTR:FOTR); Javier Vachon (Forever Knight); Daryl Dixon, and Michonne (TWD) and the list goes on and on…. Lorilai Gilmore (Gilmore Girls)… The entire cast of Firefly.

6.What is your favorite quote and by who?
“What we have to do is to decide what to do with the time that is given us.” Gandalf, LOTR

7.Describe yourself in three words.

Spiritual. Driven. Neurotic

8.What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Twilight Saga movies (no cracks from the peanut or any other gallery)

9.What single quality do you most appreciate in people?

Sincerity

10.Which was the prompt you liked most in #writing101?

Day Sixteen: Third Time’s the Charm:
Prompt: Imagine you had a job in which you had to sift through forgotten or lost belongings. Describe a day in which you come upon something peculiar, or tell a story about something interesting you find in a pile.

11.What’s your favorite post that you’ve written? (Link, please!)

My favorite post, from my whole blog?

I had to go back and actually see what the prompts from Writing 101 were, so I got to sample each post. I have to say, the prompt above, and the story I wrote, and the memory of that moments really communing with the Green Ones, in the form of tree frogs everywhere, was a happy reading.
Tubby The Tuba Has Nothing On Me would be it, (within the course)

This was great fun!
More to come!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    May 08, 2015 @ 23:46:20

    That’s one of my favorite quotes, too. I’m going to have to break down and watch Firefly one of these days. My friend Jen’s been after me to do that for years!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 09, 2015 @ 11:13:44

      OMB!!! You’ve not seen Firefly! That is one of the best! The whole series, and the follow up movie, Serenity (which is what we named our house for), are excellent! Short lived, sadly, but iconic!

      Yes, when I hear Gandalf say that, I thought, that is exactly true. So now during any given day, that comes to mind, it’s how I end up doing what I do. LOVE it.
      My other favorite is “No matter where you go, there you are.” I heard that in the movie, The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension. GREAT cult classic!

      Like

      Reply

  2. jabrush1213
    May 10, 2015 @ 14:49:46

    I love Stephen King’s The Stand as well as your writing about the books you enjoy. Definitely, a well thought out and refreshing post.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 10, 2015 @ 15:37:54

      Thank you!
      And Yes!!! The Stand! I remember the first time I read it, and it is one of the few books which I’ve read more than once. I’ve actually read the original many times over the years, and then, when I heard an edition of the book was being released that included much of what has been edited out from the first publication, and had additional insight into the characters, I scooped that right up.

      An interesting other question I’d think would be, what was the first book you ever read (children’s books not included). For me that was Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger.

      What about you?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • jabrush1213
        May 10, 2015 @ 19:09:53

        I would have to say The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I love that book.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          May 10, 2015 @ 21:33:31

          There are some epic novels I read when I was younger. What I find interesting is that not all of them strike me the same way now. Have you gone back to a book you really enjoyed, only to find it doesn’t do it for you now? I’m not talking about books that we read as teenagers. I am thinking of the ones which have been either best sellers, or classics. Books with substance.

          Like

          Reply

  3. Ish
    May 10, 2015 @ 22:28:07

    Thank you for answering the questions.. I enjoyed reading them! Spirituality, Nature and Music the ultimate combination :)..

    “What we have to do is to decide what to do with the time that is given us.” I love that quote too….

    The books that don’t do it for me anymore are the ones by Ayn Rand…. Atlas Shrugged & Fountain Head… I was completely hooked and in awe of them and now it just doesn’t feel that way anymore….but I still enjoy the short storiess by Leo Tolstoy… and Maxim Gorky

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 11, 2015 @ 01:19:37

      You’re very welcome. I enjoy the process of answering questions, because it actually gives me an opportunity to learn some things about myself. We’re so used to asking others questions, but answering for ourselves, sometimes it’s interesting exploring things inside. So, thank you for your thoughtful questions.

      I know exactly what you mean about Ayn Rand! It feels like that belongs to another time, and perhaps, to another side/part of me. It shows me how I’ve changed.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  4. badfish
    May 12, 2015 @ 04:58:37

    just ducking in for a moment…yeah, answering questions seems to suit you well. The Stand? Hmmmmm.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

