Monday Music Medicine

With BIG thanks to my wonderful blogging Buddy, Calensariel at Impromptu Promptlings,  I believe I have arrived.

I’m at that time, I knew it was going to get here, but I didn’t exactly know what it would look like. What time, you’re asking… ? Well, after five fabulous months of blogging University and other such challenges, like from Story A Day, I now have to get organized, and decide what I’m going to do with my blog. Let’s face it, blogging is wonderful, absolutely, but disorganized blogging doesn’t work for me. I end up not blogging. Oh, I’m still here, hanging around, reading, commenting, which, actually is one of the aspects of blogging. But if I’ve personally not posted in my own blog, I’m falling down on the job.

I’ve thought long and hard about it, in the past months: what will I do with my blog? What will I bring to the world? Two things have remained steadfast in that Realm of Query. I love music. Something from Quantum Hermit MUST include music. And it began with the fun challenge 25 Songs, 25 Days where I spent the majority of the month of March, giving it my best shot. It remains unfinished, which is about to change. But there it is, now, out in the world, for all to see. I’m making this MONDAY MUSIC MEDICINE. I’m doing this on Monday because being the beginning the work week for a ton of folks, it’s good to begin whistling a happy tune, to help us on our way.

Calen and I were having a conversation in which she mentioned ‘earworms.’  I could only imagine worms coming to invade my ears… not for the faint hearted, to say the least. But she set me right, on what the earworm really is! And it is the driving force behind my decision to get this weekly event started off with a bang.

So, without further ado, here is my earworm, which has been dancing around in my head since I woke up this morning:

Now comes your part: should you have an earworm which has been dogging you today, please join me in celebrating this joyous, even if frustrating, musical tickle. Just find your song on youtube and post it on your own blog, with a ping back here to this NEW weekly event.

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

P.S. Event #2 will be coming to a blog near you this Thursday. Stay tuned to find out just what card I have up my sleeve. *wink*

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine | SHINE ON
  2. calensariel
    Jun 08, 2015 @ 13:00:24

    Giggle! Love it! I have earworms all the time. In fact, was thinking of looking into getting a “collar” to wear to cure them! But in light of your post… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • calensariel
      Jun 08, 2015 @ 13:03:03

      Not familiar with Paul Weller, but I love Gordon Lightfoot and especially this song. This guy has a real gravely, laid-back voice. NICE!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Fimnora Westcaw
        Jun 08, 2015 @ 18:13:48

        Oh, I first heard of him while watching Torchwood! If you don’t know the show, of song of his was used as a wedding song, and I fell in love with it, so went searching for more Paul Weller songs. I’ve become a rather big fan of his!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jun 08, 2015 @ 18:11:59

      hee, hee, hee 🙂 The way to ‘cure’ them is to listen to the song. It’s begging you to, you know it is. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • calensariel
        Jun 15, 2015 @ 12:26:18

        I followed a link back here and realized yours is one of the blogs I’m having trouble getting notifications from. Clare’s from B101 and W101 is another one. So I guess i have to click the button on the bottom if I want to get them. Sorry I didn’t address any of these… rolls eyes tiredly (still, even though I slept two hours after I talked to you!)

        Like

        Reply

  3. jabrush1213
    Jun 08, 2015 @ 17:55:10

    I love hearing about how music inspires people. There are many great things music is medicine to others.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. platosgroove
    Jun 08, 2015 @ 19:19:26

    Can’t wait!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. badfish
    Jun 09, 2015 @ 00:38:25

    Well, what a wonderful idea. But what is an earworm? A tune in your head? Never heard of Paul Weller before, but I like his voice, kind of gravely. And what else have you decided to do with you in your blog? I’ve been missing from blogville for a while…busy with life stuff. I may be back soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jun 09, 2015 @ 13:45:21

      Thank you! I figured it’s time to come up with some weekly happenings. An earworm is a tune that gets stuck in your head, and stays on repeat! It happens to me all the time. I only heard of Paul Weller while watching Torchwood, years ago, and fell in love with another of his songs. Then just searched for more, and voila, found them 🙂

      On the what else, tune in on Thursday, and you’ll see. If you happen not to get here this Thursday, the post will still be up and playing at this blog for as long as this blog shall live.

      Yes, I know you’ve been missing – I feel it everyday when there is nothing from that badfish out of water realm… Though I saw that you’ve actually put up a post, to which I am going soon as I push post here!

      So, while I wish you merry travels, I do hope you’ll hurry back!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • badfish
        Jun 09, 2015 @ 23:16:01

        Yeah, seems like weekly happenings is the thing. But I’m lucky to get one post in during a week. I need to quit work, quit traveling, and sit and blog. Long before I started my blog, people told me that blogging required A LOT of time. I did not know exactly how much time they actually meant!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Jun 10, 2015 @ 08:22:09

          I had no clue of anything. I never talked blogging with anyone before this. Granted, I was in a few forums, but that’s different. I’s JUST commenting. So, yeah. a lot of time, but I decided how I want to spend my time, and this is it! 🙂

          Like

          Reply

          • badfish
            Jun 10, 2015 @ 21:40:58

            Yeah, I hear that. And I SEE that. And I envy that. You are a writing nymph. And I am not. You can’t feel sad for me though, I’m choosing my own life. And priorities change. Thank god, someone invented the “future.”

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Jun 11, 2015 @ 19:09:02

              You are doing what you should be doing, deciding what to do with the time that you have! Of this, I’m glad. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

              • badfish
                Jun 11, 2015 @ 23:34:10

                Thank you, Obi Wan. I have never thought about what I should do, ever. Let alone worried about it. Until now. I’m not worrying, I’m just thinking that there is only so much time in a day, in a life.

                Hey, take a look at Debbie’s comment on my last post…she’s suggesting we create a new blog…as though we had time! And call it Badfish and Chips. And post our comments to each other. I don’t have time for one blog, but I do like the idea of a post with people’s comments. But how would that look??? hmmmm

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply

                • Fimnora Westcaw
                  Jun 12, 2015 @ 22:34:24

                  I meant that what you are doing is what you’ve decided to do. It’s in the past a second ago. 🙂

                  Heading over to take a look at Debbie’s comment! Sounds interesting. Seems to me, in that kind of a blog, it’s really a hang out with no particular schedule, or requirements. Be there when you can, the rest will take care of itself 😉

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply

  6. metalflowermaker
    Jun 09, 2015 @ 08:20:17

    I remembered the name Paul Weller but from where had to google him looked up Peter Weller by mistake. He is not Robocop. Little brain this morning, not quite firing right yet. Paul was from The Jam and The Style Council, familiar voice.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jun 09, 2015 @ 13:48:06

      Paul Weller is a British singer, who first came to my attention while I was watching Torchwood. It was a fabulous little song which sent me searching for more by him. I now have three of his songs (including the one here) in my playlist!

      Oh, I’ll have to check out The Jam and The Style Council. I like to see where they’ve been, and how they’ve changed. Thank you for that info!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  7. metalflowermaker
    Jun 09, 2015 @ 08:26:29

    Reply

  8. kim
    Jun 09, 2015 @ 12:51:37

    Paul Weller takes me right back to the 80’s… I look forward to reading about more of your musical selections. Earworms around here are often not my favourite tunes – my children love to listen to Taylor Swift, Ed Sheeran, and youtubers and the like, who are not really my taste in music but I always seem to end up humming or singing them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jun 09, 2015 @ 13:57:32

      I can understand that, as well! I’ve often gotten a song that I heard Q listening to stuck in my head, and our tastes can be quite opposite, at times.

      I hope that the weekly event/challenge will give us all lovely earworms 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  9. somemaid
    Jun 11, 2015 @ 05:45:56

    Love Paul Weller but not heard that tune before. I currently have the theme song from a kids tv programme going through my head. Dogtanian and the Muskerhounds.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jun 11, 2015 @ 18:45:50

      If you haven’t heard “You Do Something To Me,” and “Wildwood,” you might like them.

      The question is, do you like the theme for Dogtanian and the Muskerhounds? I suspect Earworms can be both enjoyable, but also annoying 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • somemaid
        Jun 12, 2015 @ 02:57:38

        Love Dogtanian but when its constant it gets a bit annoying.
        Love Wildwood and You do Something To Me, but I think on balance I prefer what he did with The Jam. Personal favourites Town called Malice and Going Underground. (Think I might have The Jam as my writing music today 🙂 )

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  10. Trackback: Earworm Infestation #1 | Impromptu Promptlings
    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jun 11, 2015 @ 19:28:20

      My wonderful friend! What a terrific addendum to Monday Music Medicine! This is definitely a make my day moment! You can always, no matter the day, share your earworms with me! Oh, wow, A thought just flashed through my mind: A sign “Get your earworms here!” I can SO see that!
      Big smiling going on here 🙂 {{{Calen}}}

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

