The Monday Music Medicine Show!

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Good morning music lovers!

Welcome to The Monday Music Medicine Show!

This week – yesterday, if you’re me, and apparently the world at large agrees with me, for once, or not – is the Summer Solstice. This is the day which – if you live at the Equator – is the longest day of the year. It got me thinking about longest songs. I’m sure there are actually many more than we can imagine. For instance, it’s not just popular music that The Monday Music Medicine Show is about . It’s ALL music. But I want this to be about what YOU and I like the most. As I look back over the years, one specific song comes to mind as one of the longest I remember.

Thus, to celebrate the longest day of the year, this song strikes me as one of my favorites:

Some people may remember it fondly, while others may remember their parents love of it, and still others listen for the first time. Either way, this is my salute to the Summer Solstice.

Now comes your part. Join in with your own beloved piece of music which either represents the celebration that is the first day of summer, or simply is the song you think of when the idea of longest songs comes dancing into your world today.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. HeavyCloud
    Jun 22, 2015 @ 09:25:03

    OMG! My parents had it on a tape they used to listen to when I was a kid, but then the song went lost along with some of my childhood memories. Now I understand why I still love rock and progressive so much… Thank you for the gift. Cheers, HC

    Like

    Reply

  2. calensariel
    Jun 22, 2015 @ 10:42:16

    You stole my song! That’s without doubt the longest song I know! LOL And about the only hard rock one I liked. I’ll have to do some more thinking now.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • calensariel
      Jun 22, 2015 @ 10:44:26

      This is one of those songs I just couldn’t get the words to. I could have sworn they were saying “In the Garden of Eden, honey!” 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jun 22, 2015 @ 12:20:46

      It’s all of our song! 😀 But there are others that are quite long… I chose this mainly because it reminds me of the summer of ’69 (I think that was the year). But had I not used that, there’s Tubular Bells – Mike Oldfield, and let’s not forget Beethoven whose 7th Symphony (2nd Movement) is a favorite, and long song. Or any classical composer, for that matter 😀

      Like

      Reply

  3. calensariel
    Jun 22, 2015 @ 10:55:14

    Ok, got one. Though not the longest song, it was still pretty long for THEM. It was Creedence Clearwater Revival’s version of “I Heard It Through The Grapevine.”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. somemaid
    Jun 22, 2015 @ 12:35:51

    I think the longest song I know has to be 2112 by Rush.

    I was first introduced to Rush by my brother many years ago and still like to listen from time to time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Long Songs – Lynyrd Skynyard – Free Bird Live | Plato's Groove
    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jun 22, 2015 @ 18:51:58

      Brought this over here, since it came in way after I saw your own post about it, and I answered it over at your place! It definitely bears repeating 🙂

      *Runs up and hugs the stuffin’ outta you!!!!!!* This is THE BEST!!!!! And I have that record too! Well, I have everyone they made back in the day!

      I agree, it’s always too short. And I have a rule, Skynyrd can never be stopped in the middle of a song… If I’m out in the car just getting in from somewhere, if Skynyrd is on the radio, I’m in that car till the echo of that last chord fades! And I got a smile a mile wide right now!

      Thank you a million times over for this!

      Like

      Reply

  6. jabrush1213
    Jun 22, 2015 @ 17:42:56

    This is one of those songs that you never get sick of. One of the best songs to listen to at any time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

