The Monday Music Medicine Show

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Welcome to Monday Music Medicine Show!

This week, I’ve been working on a challenge concerning quotes, which of course, got me thinking about lyrics for songs. There are some songs which I love perhaps more for the words and the poetry in the song than simply the music draws me in. Which comes first, the music or the lyrics? (that chicken or the egg condundrum).

I don’t know for certain, but I do know when a song gets me because of how the words feel when my mind is infused with their magic, even if I liked the song because of the music first, it becomes more about the words for me.

This means, oh no!, I have to make a choice. But wait! No I don’t. I can, in fact, put forth two songs. Each very different, yet equally captures me within the web of woven words.

Here are two songs which I give to you for the prose.

The first is a lesser known song from Jefferson Airplane’s Surrealistic Pillow:

The summer had inhaled and held it’s breath too long
The winter looked the same as if it never had gone
And through an open window where no curtain hung
I saw you. I saw you, coming back to me

One begins to read between the pages of a look
The shape of sleepy music, and suddenly you’re hooked
Through the rain upon the trees that kisses on the run
I saw you. I saw you, coming back to me

You came to stay and live my way
Scatter my love like leaves in the wind
You always say, you won’t go away
But I know what it always has been
It always has been

A transparent dream beneath an occasional sigh
Most of the time I just let it go by
Now I wish it hadn’t begun
I saw you. Yes, I saw you, coming back to me.

Strolling the hills overlooking the shore
I realize I’ve been here before
The shadow in the mist could have been anyone
I saw you. I saw you, coming back to me

Small things like reasons are put in a jar
What ever happened to wishes, wished on a star
Was it just something that I made up for fun
I saw you. I saw you, coming back to me

By Marty Balin
The second is an early Bruce Springsteen classic, Born To Run, from his 1975 album of the same name:


In the day we sweat it out on the streets of a runaway American dream
At night we ride through mansions of glory in suicide machines
Sprung from cages out on highway 9,
Chrome wheeled, fuel injected
and steppin’ out over the line
Baby this town rips the bones from your back
It’s a death trap, it’s a suicide rap
We gotta get out while we’re young
‘Cause tramps like us, baby we were born to run

Wendy let me in I wanna be your friend
I want to guard your dreams and visions
Just wrap your legs ’round these velvet ribs
and strap your hands across my engines
Together we could break this trap
We’ll run till we drop, baby we’ll never go back
Will you walk with me out on the wire
Girl I’m just a scared and lonely rider
But I gotta find out how it feels
I want to know if love is wild
babe I want to know if love is real

Beyond the Palace hemi-powered drones scream down the boulevard
The girls comb their hair in rearview mirrors
And the boys try to look so hard
The amusement park rises bold and stark
Kids are huddled on the beach in a mist
I wanna die with you Wendy on the streets tonight
In an everlasting kiss

The highway’s jammed with broken heroes on a last chance power drive
Everybody’s out on the run tonight
but there’s no place left to hide
Together Wendy we can live with the sadness
I’ll love you with all the madness in my soul
Someday girl I don’t know when
we’re gonna get to that place
We really want to go
and we’ll walk in the sun
But till then tramps like us, baby we were born to run

by Bruce Springsteen

Now comes your part. Join in with your own beloved song because the lyrics are poetry to your soul.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jabrush1213
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 17:45:03

    Jefferson Airplane, a true classic band at its best. Two of my favorite songs from them are White Rabbit and Don’t You Want Somebody to Love

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  2. jabrush1213
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 17:45:03

    Jefferson Airplane, a true classic band at its best. Two of my favorite songs from them are White Rabbit and Don’t You Want Somebody to Love

    Like

    Reply

  3. trablogger
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 22:20:37

    I could never remember the lyrics. So I always enjoy the music.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The Monday Music Medicine Show for 6/29/15 | Impromptu Promptlings
  5. Trackback: The Monday Music Medicine Show for 7/13/15 — I Need You | Impromptu Promptlings
  6. JoHanna Massey
    Nov 08, 2015 @ 08:00:56

    Do love “Born To Run.” Fun post. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Nov 08, 2015 @ 18:06:12

      You’re very welcome, JoHanna. Thank you for stopping by the Show!
      This song is lyrically exquisite!

      Favorite line:
      “Together Wendy we can live with the sadness
      I’ll love you with all the madness in my soul
      Someday girl I don’t know when
      we’re gonna get to that place
      We really want to go
      and we’ll walk in the sun…”

      Okay, several lines.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

