The Lap of Luxury

Let’s say you’re not up to snuff – we’re not talking about films, so don’t go there – and you are the person in charge of keeping your place clean and tidy. But you know how it is when you don’t feel good. Last thing you want to do, or even think about, is how clean are my floors? Who’s going to keep the dust bunnies from becoming the killer rabbits from hell? Well, my friends, have I got a housekeeper’s little helper for you.

Back some years ago, Mr. Quantum and I fell in love with a show called Eureka, about this high tech town of geniuses, where there was this automated house. Everything was done BY the house. How cool would that be? So somewhere between then and a year or two ago we came across an automated vacuum cleaner, from iRobot (without Will Smith, sadly) called Roomba. This little gadget was AMAZING!

IMG_0059

We didn’t need to be sold on it. This was the future we envisioned way back in the 20th Century. How could we pass it up. We couldn’t. We didn’t. We bought our own, and entered the world of tomorrow. We named her Sarah, after the house in the Eureka TV series. What? you don’t name your appliances?

Anyway, it’s been over a year, now since we moved in here, and we never took her out of the box after we moved, so I’ve been lugging around, and pushing around the Dyson vacuum we have. But I just didn’t feel like doing that. Yesterday we took her out and I cleaned her (yes, she does require maintenance, but it’s quick and easy, like emptying one of the canisters that comes with any vacuum. We had to let her charge, as she’d been off her dock for over a year. But today, she was ready, and rearing to go and clean this house.

There’s more than just getting a clean house out of using an iRobot Roomba. There’s pure entertainment! And she fits under places like couches, and beds, and dressers and all those spaces you don’t even think about. It’s a hoot, watching her going about her business.

This is why I can sit here and write this instead of vacuuming.

Here’s a preview of an Roomba in action:

Roomba: Don’t move home without it.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 13:39:44

    Awesome! I gotta get me one of them! Eureka! We LOVED Eureka! I was broken hearted when they cancelled the series. And I hated Colin Ferguson’s character when he turned up on Haven. Yuck! Course I guess it was better than him sitting in the dishwasher or whatever it was in that commercial. I ALSO loved I Robot! The book AND the movie! You must be feeling better today, eh? {{{Fim}}}

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jul 09, 2015 @ 17:08:02

      I was just about to answer, when lunch needed to be served…
      YES, you should get one!

      We were sorry to see Eureka cancelled, as well. I remember him in Haven. Though I don’t think I ever saw a dishwasher commercial. Or any commercial with him in it.

      Q says, iRobot was a great book. I never read the book, but loved the movie.

      Yes, I’m feeling better, and I figured I better start posting again, or I might disappear into the woodwork.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Colleen Keehne
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 14:13:19

    I loved Eureka too! We have a Neato. It does the same thing but in a more logical way. On first run it maps the whole house. We have it run 3 days a week while we are at work. The only thing I have to do is clean out the dust bin. We LOVE it! It’s great to come home to a clean house.

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jul 09, 2015 @ 17:03:39

      Greetings Colleen 🙂 YAY! Eureka 🙂 I went to look up the Neato on Youtube. It looks like it does a great job too. I’ve never scheduled our Sarah to run while we were out, because we have stairs, and I like to make sure the ‘cliff sensors’ are working. Plus, we like to watch it. We don’t have TV, so it’s our entertainment LOL You’re right, it’s great to come home to, or just simply have a clean house without my being involved. Now if I could get a bot that will dust, do the dishes, and cook, I’ll have it made in the shade. 😀

      Like

      Reply

  3. calensariel
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 14:57:08

    Hey Colls! Fim, meet Colleen. Colleen meet Fim. You guys would like each other! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. HumaAq
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 16:22:44

    Oh i need that so bad.. Good read

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Keith
    Jul 13, 2015 @ 04:39:55

    He’s baaaaaaa-ack! Online, but slow, ma’am. I read your post on my phone, had to log in with name and website, didn’t do that. But then when I got back to the computer, I still had to list name and website. Is that a product of using my phone, or are you now requesting names and websites to respond to your posts, lady?
    I always wondered about those vacuums, whether it was just hype, or they’d do a good job of getting rid of dirt. Nothing worse than a half-clean house when you want a clean one. Better just to leave it 100% dirty, and not waste time. But if you get enjoyment out of the thing, that’s a different story altogether. I have a Dyson, too. But I also have a (ahem, lifts nose, flicks finger against it) maid…once a week. Very inexpensive where I live. Even cheaper in Bali.
    Which is where I now sit, counting chickens, and wondering what’s next on the list of things not to do. Sorry for taking so long to get back to you. And everyone.
    I’m now wondering what to write/post…more previous-travel stuff, a bunch of photos from Bali, a story of Bali, a fluff piece on Starbucks. Or just go offline again for another two weeks?
    oh…then your site wouldn’t let me post my comment…then I signed out, opened it again, more of the required info…let’s see if it posts this time….

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jul 13, 2015 @ 17:10:52

      Aloha, Dude! That’s your phone, along with wordpress and them thinking you’re commenting for the first time – first times have to be approved, but after that, it’s a free for all. Or maybe it’s that gravatar part of WP? I wouldn’t know how to put one of those things up.

      It’s not hype @ the vacuum… best investment – and wasn’t that expensive anyway – we made. She zips around the house sucking up the dust bunnies, and other crap that’s landed on the floor. She goes under the couch, and other low to the floor furniture. Most I have to do is just empty the dust bin, and clean off the rollers. And yes, it’s a total hoot to watch her.

      Oh, a maid, huh? Nice if I could afford it. But maybe when I’m in my 80s I’ll feel ready for that because I really won’t be going anywhere, so the money I save from just sitting around, I can have somebody come and clean the place up.

      Don’t sweat what to do next. Live in the moment – didn’t we go over this sometime recently. If you wake up and feel like posting, reading, or something or other online, go for it. Othewise, just sit back and enjoy being right where you are.

      Don’t worry about writing long comments here either. You know I love it when you come over for a visit.

      Peace out!

      Fim

      Like

      Reply

  6. Amy
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 13:13:13

    This little guy is very effective!!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Belinda Crane
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 05:12:20

    I think my cat and dog would be terrified! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

