The Wonderful World of Orb Weavers

WARNING: those squeemish about spiders may want to skip this post.
From the research after sighting, on August  1st, in the evening I met a Marbled Orb Weaver! I’ve never seen one, nor heard of one, but I’m really just beginning my journey into this quite fascinating realm.

We were going down to put the recyclables and the garbage out. We go down through the Landing Bay (our well named garage – because when you live on Serenity from the movie and the Firefly Series), you know there’s got to be a landing bay. Anyway, as we rolled open the door, and turned on the outside light, there in beautiful living color was the strikingly beautiful Marbled Orb Weaver, hanging out in her web, waiting on dinner, I suppose. She was stunning, and I managed to get some lovely shots of her, front and back:

IMG_0106

Orb Weaver

In the light it appeared to have an almost rectangular web. But as you can see in the pictures, it’s web is definitely an orb. It looks huge. But I think that the camera did enlarge it because I didn’t downsize the pic – WordPress does that for me. In the morning, I was curious to see if it was still there. I thought this, because last year, we had a resident spider just next to our front door, in the window pane to the left of the door. It remained there day and night, and I was surprised that the Orb Weaver had left. On the other hand, I also know that some webs which are constructed in the evening, will often be gone in the morning. I did not expect to see it again. In fact, we had to go out yesterday, so we moved the recycle bin out of the way to pull the car out of the landing bay. I thought I saw our new resident scurrying across the drive way up into the rock garden just off to the right of the bay doors. But the second night, it had returned. And last night, the third night, it had also returned. So I’m figuring it might just hang out beneath the lid, or the underside of the rim during the day.

Tomorrow, we put the bins out for collection for Thursday morning, though if we don’t have lot of recyclables in there, we’ll hold off for another week.

The female measures 14mm (???? not metric savy here) and the male only 10mm. I’m hoping to keep a log of how she fares during this season, and see how long she will be taking up residence here.

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Aug 04, 2015 @ 13:38:47

    So great! I was just telling Sandy at https://spiritofdragonflies.wordpress.com this morning about my experiences with orb weavers. They are sooooo awesome. I love watching them weave! Each day they weave a different web, and for me each one means something different. She has one at her house right now too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 04, 2015 @ 16:29:46

      Oh how wonderful to hear about your experience with Orb Weavers! Every night I look forward to going out to see her! Are yours showing up only at night? I’ll have to go and visit Sandy’s site too! This is the first year I’ve seen one! It’s very exciting! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
        Aug 04, 2015 @ 17:01:36

        In the mid 80s, one showed up on the side of my house and winter was coming, so I brought her in. Every night she wove a web, I swear, tuned into something I was going through. If I was all strung out over something, she would weave a web that made no sense. When I was together, she would make a perfect orb. She came in my dreams to help me with work dilemmas. It was an intense relationship for 2 years. Then there was one about 10 years ago outside the sliding glass door, so I could watch her every night in the comfort of my living room. I always look for them. They often have a cross marking on their backs. I love them dearly. I am so glad you have one. I think they are blessings.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Aug 04, 2015 @ 17:11:08

          Oh how wonderful to have lived with, and seen how her weaving mirrored your expression of your life then. I’m thinking this one has come along to remind me of some important things I’ve forgotten between last Fall and this year.

          I like that you had your own ‘TV-esk’ show right there ten years ago. I’ve spent much time watching this other spider who lives between the window and screen of one of the windows in our bedroom. Last year, when we moved in, there was one in the bathroom window. She was a great listener.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

  2. calensariel
    Aug 04, 2015 @ 18:45:26

    Oh spiders! Why does she have to do spiders! With Indy it was snakes. With me it’s spiders… But I WILL read your post as long as you keep them on the other side of the screen!!! Interesting name for one, btw… o_O

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Aug 04, 2015 @ 19:01:10

    Yes! Great listeners. You will NEVER guess what my spider’s name was. Yep, starts with a C. It really was nice with the one 10 years ago….the nature channel.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. jabrush1213
    Aug 04, 2015 @ 20:24:44

    Spiders from time to time scare me, but they do make beautiful webs.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 06, 2015 @ 00:21:05

      I’ve always felt a special rapport with spiders. I just went back and checked, and saw that when I drew from my Medicine Cards my nine totem animals, Spider was one – the card representing the West, which is Personal Truth, Inner Answers.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. badfish
    Aug 05, 2015 @ 00:26:11

    Spiders are scary. You are just getting spookier and spookier. I took a photo of a black spider this morning. This afternoon (night where you are), I find your post with that orange thing dangling. I tried to load a photo of mine, but it didn’t take. I thought I saw a photo in a comment once????

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 06, 2015 @ 00:28:45

      Like all beings, you have to respect them, understand that they have a place in the Universe, like all of us. I’d love to see your photo. If you have a place like photobucket, where you can keep your photos to post on forums, and places like in comments, then you can link back to it. You can add photos to posts direct from your computer or whatever device you’re using, but not really sure about comments. Youtubes can be placed in the comments.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  6. trablogger
    Aug 05, 2015 @ 08:37:05

    Indeed it look like a big web! I have never seen an orange spider! Now that you have camera, you can document all these stuffs 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. LDG luciledegodoy
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 02:45:16

    This is a very special spider. I’m not sure if I had ever seen one like that.
    I liked that you posted it. People are afraid of them in general but they are very useful, having a mission like any other animal, but eating insects it’s something that I like.
    I live alongside a canal in Amsterdam and for that I’m surrounded not only by ducks, geese, swans and birds, but many insects. I used to remove all webs from the plants in the past but I don’t do it anymore, since someone reminded of mother nature’s assigned role for the spiders.
    Another day I made a photo of one very cute-spooky one.
    Kudos for your post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 06, 2015 @ 12:27:02

      Until August 1, I’d not seen this one. We have many other spiders around the house, inside and out. Our garage is spider central. I’ve always felt a kinship with them. When we moved in last year there was one in the window of the master bath, and I’d talk with it, and watch it as it went about it’s business. There were some outside the front door that I would greet every morning, and wish happy nights to them before closing up for the day.

      I went and looked at my Medicine Cards journal, and found that when I first drew cards for my totem animals, Spider was one. Which now makes so much sense. I rescue all creatures if their in a place which is life threatening – like from other people in the house. Spiders are regularly on that list of rescues, since they love taking up residence in the shower.

      I so agree with you about Nature gives us all reasons, especially to help one another.

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the post! I did get a movie of it night before last, actually weaving her web. If you’d like to see it, I’ll post the URL for you. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  8. bettylouise31
    Aug 07, 2015 @ 15:59:06

    Good Luck with your project.

    Like

    Reply

  9. susurrus
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 05:53:34

    My Mum loves spiders so I never learned to be scared of them. In England, it’s rare to see one that could hurt you – I have to try to remember it’s not quite the same everywhere else around the world!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 15, 2015 @ 14:17:29

      We have some spiders here that can be harmful to our health were we to get bitten, and that shouldn’t happen if I pay attention to what I’m doing. I’m respectful of their boundaries, and seek not to ‘corner’ them. I’ve gotten fairly careful also about shaking out clothes, and such. If there’s a situation where we may have a close encounter, I usually carefully rescue them, and bring them outside. Bug cups and cards are a fixture in every room – we have many other crawlers, and fliers especially throughout the summer. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

