The Sandbox Writing Challenge 1

Lady Calen at Impromptu Promptlings opens the sandbox!

You find yourself in a quiet room looking at your reflection in this beautiful old mirror. What do you see? Is there anything in particular you like about yourself? Is there anything you don’t like? Tell us about it.

Sometime last year, in the now closed Gaian Soul Circle, there was a woman who did weekly posts, and she referred to it as ‘Joy Seeking.’ One thing she recommended was when we get up in the morning and go into the bathroom, to look in the mirror and smile at yourself, and say, “I’m a joy seeker.” I may not always say that, but I do always smile.

When I look in the mirror, especially in the morning, gravity pulls against my body – because when you’re 65, that’s something that tends to happen. Of course, it might not have happened so much before I lost all my weight, but hey, I trade one thing for another these days. Anyway, my mouth tends to look pulled down as if I’m frowning. I’m usually not frowning inside, so the notable turn down leaves me feeling that I look pissed off. Flipping the switch, I smile, and if I remember, tell myself, I’m a joy seeker.

So to begin with, what I don’t like about my face (I’m NOT looking in a full length mirror, so forget it!) is that it’s not symetrical. That’s likely got something to do with the surgical reconstruction to correct a deviated septum when I was 16 years old, and which has slowly been deteriorating, so my face looks lopsided. Not liking that, I also don’t like the dark circles under my eyes, but that’s part of a whole other story.
Oh, and I don’t like my half eyebrows. Everybody else I know has nice full, all the way toΒ  the other side of their brow, eyebrows. Oh and what’s up with the age related disappearing lips? Not that I had nice full lips before, but now, they’re, meager. *sigh*

Once was (just maybe a year or two ago,) I hated my smile. Didn’t have a good smile at all. Didn’t like that my teeth are naturally dull. But within the last two years, when I smile, I can see the age lines crinkle up on my face, and I see my mother’s face sometimes, in my reflection. If I’m smiling because I’m really happy, then it shows in my eyes. They eyes too. Don’t know what I meant to say here…

I noticed that there’s a space between one of my front teeth, and the one next to it, which wasn’t there years ago. I actually like that. Go figure.

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 23:48:48

    Oh man! Disappearing lips! Yeah, I take issue with that, too. I always thought it was because I look too severe. But it’s just age related, eh? That makes me happier. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. badfish
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 23:49:14

    It’s almost noon where I am. That means you should be in bed and sleeping where you are, but no. I find you posting. I have not been reading nor responding, but I was trying to find the name of the spider you sent, and then I was on hotmail, then bam…there you are. I do not like everything you don’t like about my face. It’s also not symmetrical, and I’ve needed nose surgery for decades. Too scary. This was a very lovely-written piece, honest, brave. Please don’t ask me to write this prompt.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 14, 2015 @ 01:10:12

      I don’t usually go to sleep until 1:30 or 2am. Last night we were out looking for some of the meteors, from the Perseids’ shower. So now it’s about 1pm where you are, and I’ll be closing down in just a bit.

      I saw one name for the spider: The Giant Wood Spider.

      No worries, I’m not asking you to do this challenge. thank you for your words.

      Well, here I am again, in the middle of your day. πŸ™‚ Hope your vacation continues to be peaceful, and restful.

      Lights Out

      fim

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Ady
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 01:29:35

    It takes courage to write about oneself especially if it’s not achievements. I don’t like much of my face too, it’s too chubby and my nose,eyes seem to disappear too but my better-half says to me, when I will grow old, I will be the chubbiest sweetest thing around πŸ˜€ And I have often believed that the best age to look beautiful in one’s own way is at infancy,at prime youth and with all white hairs πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. kim
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 03:32:41

    Well done for writing this, it is sad that we find so much to criticise about ourselves, isn’t it? I also have the dark shadows beneath my eyes and have had problem teeth since an accident at 10 years old. I know it makes a difference to look in the mirror and consciously find something to appreciate, but it’s not always easy. (Did you know that losing half your eyebrows is a symptom of hypothyroidism? Just thought I’d say in case it might be an issue for you. My mum has it and her eyebrows are visibly small and thin.)

    What’s with this tiny comment box? I don’t like it at all… why do WordPress have to keep changing things that don’t need changing! Ugh.
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend Fim. x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 14, 2015 @ 23:01:27

      Thank you, Kim. Thank you for including info about the half brows. I know that I’ve never had full eyebrows. I looked at pictures from when I was five or six, and there’s just the half brow. But I definitely will keep that in mind.

      I don’t know much about why wordpress is the way it is lol… Maybe other themes would allow bigger boxes?

      Have a great weekend, as well! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. Key tapping teacher
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 10:53:05

    I love this. How often do we “smile” at ourselves? It should be done more often. I will from now on think of this in the mornings. I think I will write smile on my mirror, for those days I might forget!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 15, 2015 @ 10:09:39

      I know! Which is why I so appreciated the posts by the “Joy Seeker” in the Soul Circle. It really did have an impact on me, because I know I’ve always looked at myself with a critical eye. I’m trying to be less so, and that has helped me. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  6. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 10:57:53

    Isn’t aging just the weirdest? I am often so baffled by it. I totally underestimated the myriad of symptoms, the rate at which it happens, and that it would actually happen to me. The lips. That one I hadn’t anticipated, until it happened….but then why else do all the movie starts get their lips puffed up. Yeah, go figure.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 14, 2015 @ 23:04:26

      Yes, Mary, aging is the weirdest, especially since mentally I’m like 12 years old. Sometimes I think, ‘oh, look, there’s the old lady who lives in my medicine closet, looking back at me. Who is she?’ πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
        Aug 15, 2015 @ 09:49:03

        Did you see that movie with Meryl Streep and Steve Martin and can’t think of the other guy’s name. But Meryl and Steve get stoned for the first time in like 25 years and go to a party. She is in the bathroom and she looks in the mirror and seems so surprised. She says something like, “Wow! Do I really look like that?” Like that- just seems so strange to be in this body. What pisses me off the most is the memory loss and also the lack of strength. I hate not being able to do things that have always been easy. Grrrr. I love the wisdom part, though, and not caring about things that used to be upsetting. Priorities are different. And I sort of like slowing down a bit.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Aug 15, 2015 @ 13:13:28

          That movie sounds so familiar, and I can’t remember the name of it. Which segues nicely into the memory loss issue LOL But I do know what you mean, and I have it big time; simple words, and names, and places. But it’s not constant.

          I also agree about the wisdom part, though sometimes I don’t see it in myself. I agree, my priorities have changed. I’ve accepted that my path just didn’t take me where I would have liked, yet, as the song says, “you can’t always get what you want, but if you try some time you just might find, you get what you need.” And it’s true.
          I also like the slowing down – now if I just could do that during meals, it would be better for me. πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

  7. BroadBlogs
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 14:58:38

    Some interesting thoughts. As you age your life probably appears on your face more, And what does that reveal? I’m starting to notice a little line between my eyes which is telling me that I get what? Perturbed, annoyed, or something like that a little too often. Realized I need to Bring more joy into my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 14, 2015 @ 23:07:32

      Yes, more joy! That’s why I’m currently complete addicted to My Singing Monsters game. It’s a joy to make my own music, and be creative. Of course, there is the joy of sitting out in my back yard and communing with the Green Ones!

      Like

      Reply

  8. Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 19:19:14

    Fim, your writing is so sincere here and it makes me laugh. I laugh because your style feels so light and still you carry a lot of depth. The way you described your relationship to your reflection made me think of you doing a character study for a self-portrait. I love how you included the part where your smile has evolved into the familiar and welcome face of your mother. Warm regards, Ka P.S. I think i wrote this in reply to your reply on my blog… I got my mental wires in a bunch, but it’ll work itself out.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 15, 2015 @ 21:08:19

      Thank you, Ka, for your very kind words! I did see this in my email from your blog, as well. No worries, as my brain will simply think that I may have had a deja vu moment, which is always fun. πŸ™‚

      Bright Blessings,

      Fim

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  9. Barbara Franken
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 16:30:29

    And your shining light shines through you and makes everything alright… I love your sense of humor and lovely to meet you… Barbara

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

