Half A MILLION STRONG

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Welcome to Monday Music Medicine Show!

“Dak’s Reckoning – Part One*

August 16, 1969 

There was magic in the air. 500,000 people had come together for music, good lovin’ and all that was great about growing up in this time of change, of revolution, of sex, drugs and rock n roll. Dakota Mazerion took a long pull on the joint somebody had passed him and thought about being part of these history making days, sending the blunt on its way to the next person. His band had driven hundreds of miles, even though they were not part of the amazing line-up of the country’s best musicians. This was their time, Dak knew. His time was coming. About that, he had no doubt. Life was how he imagined it should be. The world belonged to the young, even while run by the old, worn-down-by-the weight-of-their-self-delusion politicians.

Fuck growing up to become president. He was reaching for brighter stars. Riding the waves of the music he wrote and played, he was a soaring eagle, becoming part of a greater voice that would change the course of the world.

Leaning back, resting his head in her lap, Dak grinned up at the young woman he was sharing a blanket with; a blanket among thousands creating a patchwork human chain that criss-crossed the field in front of the stage.”

*This is an excerpt from a story I wrote nine years ago

~~~~~~~~

From The New York Times-Herald:
“The Woodstock Music and Art Fair in 1969 drew more than 450,000 people to a pasture in Sullivan County. For four days, the site became a countercultural mini-nation in which minds were open, drugs were all but legal and love was ‘free’.”

~~~~~~~~

I would be an alien if I did not dedicate today’s Monday Music Medicine Show as an anniversary of this a most significant day! What a perfect day, in fact,  for The Monday Music Medicine Show! This weekend marks, and celebrates, the greatest (IMO) music festival in history.

It was a veritable Magical Mystery Tour; four days of that univeral language called MUSIC with all its accoutrements.

Woodstock_poster

Which means, I will have to decide what song, for me, defines this event. The thing is there were so many amazing groups, and so much thrilling music, that every one of them could be the song. How does one choose from this immortalized list of performers?

Richie Havens
Swami Satchidananda
Sweetwater
Bert Sommer
Tim Hardin
Ravi Shankar
Melanie
Arlo Guthrie
Joan Baez
Quill
Country Joe McDonald
Santana
John Sebastian
Keef Hartley Band
The Incredible String Band
Canned Heat
Mountain
Grateful Dead
Creedence Clearwater Revival
Janis Joplin with The Kozmic Blues Band
Sly and the Family Stone
The Who
Jefferson Airplane
Joe Cocker and The Grease Band
Country Joe and the Fish
Ten Years After
The Band
Johnny Winter
Blood, Sweat & Tears
Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young
Paul Butterfield Blues Band
Sha Na Na
Jimi Hendrix / Gypsy Sun & Rainbows

This is when I had a V8 moment *hand to forehead!*

There is really only ONE song that should be played here; a song which was NOT played at the music festival:

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, is it fair to ask everyone ‘where were you?’ during Woodtsock? Probably not, as there are quite many people here who were not incarnate then. But if you have a Woodstock story to tell, whether from personal experience, or passed down through generations from your family and friends, you know I want to hear it. And please share a song that you associate with the event!

Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 20:01:06

    I was at a camp in West Virginia, and was really mad when I found out about it. I couldn’t believe I missed something so important! I was only almost 16, but I would have found a way to get there even if I had to hitch hike.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 17, 2015 @ 23:07:50

      Thank you, Mary, for sharing that. Do you have any music you associate with the event? I know I used the actual ‘song-of-the-same-name’ for my choice, but the one which stands out for me all these years later, is Santana’s Soul Sacrifice.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 20:03:07

    PS. Definitely the song I would have chosen, or Joni’s version.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. badfish
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 23:21:54

    Woodstock!!! The epitomy of a generation. I almost went there. But I went to Yugoslavia for the summer instead, on a foreign exchange program, which was also cool…because I can now say I was in Yugoslavia when now you can’t go there because there is no more Yugoslavia.
    I think I would have chosen a Janis Joplin song.I haven’t heard an Arlo Guthrie song for ages. I love Alice’s Restaurant!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine Show — Creedence Clearwater Revival | Impromptu Promptlings
  5. calensariel
    Aug 18, 2015 @ 13:42:18

    My pingback didn’t show up on here?

    Like

    Reply

  6. calensariel
    Aug 18, 2015 @ 13:47:31

    I edited the link and updated it just now. It should have shown up. Has it BEEN showing up before?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

