The Monday Music Medicine Show

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Welcome to the Monday Music Medicine Show!

When I stepped outside this morning, to see what the day was like, much to my surprise, I found this on the walk way:

IMG_0132

I’d like to think it’s way too early, but in 9 days, we’ll be in September, and it will be that time again, and we’ll see them coming down:

This version, and singer, are new to me. I discovered her while I was looking for the traditional version of the song, and stopped to click. Her name, Eva Cassidy, is familiar, but I don’t recall hearing her before.

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, what songs come to mind as the Wheel is near turning? What memories do you carry with you beyond their moment in time? You know I want to hear it. Please share a song that you associate with this time of year.

Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Aug 24, 2015 @ 14:51:47

    You picked one of my two favorite autumn leaves songs. The quintessential “Autumn Leaves” would have to be Nat King Cole, but my favorite version has always been the instrumental version by Roger Williams:

    However, I DO have a back-up song up my sleeve!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine Show — Autumn Songs | Impromptu Promptlings
  3. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine Show…..Autumn Songs | Spiritual Dragonfly
  4. jabrush1213
    Aug 24, 2015 @ 17:08:54

    Autumn is right around the corner! Probably my favorite season of all. This song reminded me of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:19:25

      Yes, everything about how the scents of the Earth are deepening, knowing that the cooler nights will begin to expand outward both ways – the sun going down earlier and coming up later in the morning. The feel of the change is becoming stronger! Songs of harvests and meals full of fresh grown veggies!

      I used to think of this time of year as returning to school, but it’s been so long that now it’s got a whole other association. I think I appreciate it more now.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com
    Aug 24, 2015 @ 19:01:22

    Oh oh! I love this Eva Cassidy song! My husband introduced me to her when we were starting to fall into our romance ;-). Now that we moved to California, we don’t really see much of autumn. Hoping El Niño will bring some much needed rains soon. Appreciating the seasons changing via your blog! Ka

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. badfish
    Aug 25, 2015 @ 01:40:10

    I think I really like her version! Is this also Mundane Monday post? I’m getting behinder and behinder again.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:35:41

      Oh, I thought about Mundane Monday when I took the picture, but only managed to get one post up. Shopping and mundane home stuff got in my way! So no, it wasn’t. 😦 Would have been perfect too.

      Heading over to check out yours. 😀

      Like

      Reply

  7. keebslac1234
    Aug 25, 2015 @ 08:52:37

    Eva Cassidy died too soon, a victim of cancer, I believe. Her abbreviated career had a good number of beautiful recordings. Perhaps here signature song is “Over the Rainbow.” Beautiful, beautiful rendition, wistful and all the adjectives that go with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:42:09

      I did not know she’d crossed over… very sad. But her music will keep her in our hearts. Yes, I listened to her “Over the rainbow.” I really found every song to be a treat! Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

