The Sandbox Writing Challenge – Stillness

Time to go play in the sandbox, graciously provided by the lovely Lady Calen of Impromptu Promptlings.

Exercise 3: What is it that keeps you from being still?

When I saw that the actual prompt was, “What is it that keeps me from being still,” my first thought was, why on earth would I want to keep still? It’s actually not in my nature to be still. I’m a fire sign, the element which is about manifesting through action.

I suspect, it is why I’ve had some difficulty with traditional meditation. As I read through Calen’s own post, I thought that is something I would have written, since it describes WHY I am the way I am; or, really, just the way I am, but not why so much.

Generally speaking, panic disorder doesn’t leave room for stillness. However, I have learned a lot about managing my own panic condition over the years, and have used other, less STILL forms of meditation to reach the inner realms where peace, and calm reside.

I would ask, what is the definition of being STILL? I can be still physically, while my mind is a wild herd of galloping turtles. What will stillness bring to my inner journey? What is gained in stillness? All questions I still need to answer. Of course, those who are sky high in the journey of self discovery, probably already understands the need for stillness – and some other part of me does also.

Yes, I’ve had my times, especially in certain places where I have felt exquisitely calm. I can’t say that I was specifically still. A walk through the woods brings me to that place of peace, where frantic doesn’t live. Perhaps that is what stillness is for me.

Thus, the answer, being out in the place I’m most comfortable; in the midst of Nature, hearing, seeing, smelling, feeling, tasting, brings me a sense of stillness without having to sit still. Look at the picture up at the top of my blog. In that photo is my Stillness… For today, at least.

Oh, right. What keeps me from being still? My nature.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Faraday's Candle
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 18:38:48

    The girls actually learned the of being still if just for a moment to enjoy what nature had to offer. Great prompt and answer.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. jabrush1213
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 19:09:30

    A reflection on what makes us human and gets us out of bed in the morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 19:45:07

    Me too. I’ve never been good at sitting meditation. But in Nature…I can be very still for long periods of time, whether I’m leaning against a tree, lying down gazing at the sky, sitting on a rock being amazed by the layers of reflection, becominig a flower, walking, whatever. Just sweet, quiet stillness.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. calensariel
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 21:51:01

    As usual, Fim, you seem to stumble of the questions that go beyond the questions. What IS stillness is probably different to each of us. I wouldn’t have thought about that if I hadn’t been doing this with a group of people. Awesome. I loved what you said: Yes, I’ve had my times, especially in certain places where I have felt exquisitely calm. I can’t say that I was specifically still. And I realized the minute I read it that I’ve been in that place, too. Excellent post! (I’m going to put this on your ping so other people can read it.)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 27, 2015 @ 00:39:30

      Thank you! Those things occur to me, that are probably the most simple questions, but I feel like I’m an absolute beginner a lot, so simple concepts don’t always make me feel like I have ever come upon them before. Still, on the other hand, I’m not the same person I was earlier in my life, so maybe who I am is meeting these thoughts for the first time.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. platosgroove
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 22:26:46

    Sweet deep waters

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  6. badfish
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 00:26:15

    What are you, a puzzle, an oxymoron, or what. You get still in nature, but what keeps you from being still is your nature.
    I am never still. My mind is way more chaotic than a wild herd of galloping turtles. I fly past galloping turtles, make them look like they are standing still. My body usually doesn’t stop either.
    I did stop stuff for a while when I was truly in to meditation, and sitting in meditation in an ashram in India…for four months. And chanting. That will calm your soul. But then, you leave, and you are right back where you started…flying past herds of galloping turtles.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Aug 29, 2015 @ 22:36:07

      While it is my own nature to be kinetic, being amidst the greater Natural world and all the beauty and awe of, away from the maddening crowd of our own species, that is what centers me. I feel myself physically release the tension, and my heart fills with wonder and it is a joy to stand as part of it all, not separate from it. I love the sense of moving in slow motion. That feels more authentic a meditation to me than anything.

      You’re right. When I went to Womencircles, the week I spent there was magical, and for a brief few days after I returned to daily mundane life, I still was elated. But it didn’t last. I know it’s possible to be as centered in the middle of Times Square as in a forest, but I do not have that discipline. Perhaps one day, maybe I will. What I seek is to decide how to spend my time when it is mine. These days, I have more of that, and I don’t bother being out there, but seeking out the peace of Secret Spot Meditations.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • badfish
        Aug 31, 2015 @ 22:54:10

        Whoa…how do we respond to something as heavy as all that is what I’m saying. Wait…is that the Outer Limits theme song?
        But yeah…these days it’s what’s inside that gets you to the headspace you need to be in to feel…comfortable, or right, or ….natural, maybe.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Aug 31, 2015 @ 23:15:12

          Actually that might the perfect theme, as the places we go within our personal journey is pretty much the outer limits of our experience. As I read your words, “these days it’s what’s inside that gets you to the headspace kyou need to be in to feel…comfortable, or right, or …natural maybe.” Absolutely, and that may be why our journey takes turns we don’t expect – like ending up chilling in Bali and not traveling.

          Like

          Reply

Leave a Reply

