The Red Trunk Mystery

STORY A DAY: Sept. 2015
Day 2: Personal Prompt: The Tale of the Mysterious Trunk

This story is dedicated to those Quantum Hermit followers and friends who have wanted to know the story of The Red Trunk.

IMG_0121


Dropping in on The Little Couple who live in the Applesauce District of the town called Defying Reason, we find ourselves in the middle of a mystery. Of course, it is well known, that a mystery can not just begin in the middle. Where would be the fun in that? To tell this story, we must do the Time Warp, and understand the myriad moments leading up to the mystery of The Red Trunk.

As you might have heard, one year prior, our Heroes were dusting off shelves, sorting through all manner of family memorabelia, belonging to The Lovely Missus, getting ready to move into their inherited house in Defying Reason. When the wife of The Little Couple had been young, many, many years younger, around the time when she was playing dolls,’ on a very merry Hanukmas eve, a mighty special gift arrived.

Perhaps, it was simply a dream, for neither The Little Husband, nor The Little Wife were even aware of Defying Reason. Yet, the recollection could be the very thing which marked The Little Wife for entrance into Defying Reason, later in life. In the wee hours, betwixt and between the eve and the morn of the holiday, The Little Girl who would later become The Little Wife, awoke from sleep to find a magical parade of Elves, tip toeing past the beds of children who should not be stirring. Through sleepy eyes, The Little Girl spied a baby carriage passing by, inside of which was a child.

Sleep overtook The Little Girl, and when she awoke in the morning, and the family gathered for Hanukmas opening ceremonies, she found that there had, in deed, been a carriage, though smaller than she’d thought, and within was a beautiful Tiny Tears Doll.

Now, little girls in all the world, grow up and out of their desire to ‘play dolls,’ eventually, though it has been known that there is always that one treasured toy which a child will carry through their growing years, and somewhere down a long and winding road of life, they will find that coveted toy, once again. It will be a special moment, and on that occasion, faced with To Toss, or Not To Toss, the child will gently wrap the baby doll into her blanket, and place her into a Memory Chest.

The Little Girl had done just that, and it was one of two prized toys with which she could not part. The second toy was a little stuffed dalmation puppy, which The Little Girl had pleaded her parent’s to let her get after leaving the theater where a whimsical tale about 101 Dalmations had been shown. All children fell in love with a particular puppy from the moving picture show, and The Little Girl was no different. His name was Peppy, and she did get this stuffed animal.

Thus, placed in the toy box, next to Tiny Tears, The Little Stuffed Puppy, joined the treasure chest. When The Little Girl had grown to become The Little Woman, and her family moved away from her childhood home, she had found this chest and claimed it for her personal ‘must keep’ items.

Many journeys ensued, and The Little Wife knew her precious belongings were protected within the metal chest in the Town of Defying Reason, where she had moved, as was mandated by those who were called to become true residents of the little town.

And so it was, when The Little Couple were sorting through everything from her family, that she remembered distinctly the chest was last seen beneath the stairs, to where many of The Little Wife’s things had been moved when she had journeyed far, and journeyed wide, to a land beyond a Line which was named for a Mason and a Dixon.

At first, excitedly, she pulled things out from the space beneath the stairs, but non were The Red Trunk. As time passed, and she searched high in the attic, and low in the basement, her hope of finding The Red Trunk diminished. Whatever could have happened to it? Where would the parents of The Little Wife have put it? With a heavy heart, she continued the work of moving, and getting on with living in the Town of Defying Reason.

One afternoon, in the late autumn, when the leaves had fallen from the trees and the bushes, and the land was barren, as it becomes for the winter, The Little Wife was strolling the grounds which belonged to The Little Couple. Once before she had noticed there was a pile of wood, planks, actually, deep within the minor forested borderland, which in summer is not easy to see for the flora which grows in abundance.

The excitement which filled The Little Wife, was not of knowing what lay beneath the wood, but from the possibility of discovering something interesting. Stepping over the drooping skellital branches of once thriving brush, she pushed one plank off the top, and then another, and another until a gasp could be heard from The Little Wife. Standing wide-eyed, there, now rusted, and peeling, was THE Red Trunk! But what would have brought this into being?

Working hard to pull the latch away to lift up the lid, her spirits began to rise! She could not imagine the whys and wherefores of it, but the find alone would be worth all the saddness of believing all was lost.

The top creaked as it was pulled away from the body of the trunk. The Little Wife looked in. It was empty. A perplexed look came over her face, and she made her way back to the house, to bring The Little Husband out so they could both muse over the discovery, which still left a mystery looming large over them.

Defying Reason, once again, lived up to its name. For an empty Red Trunk does not make sense. The tale for this moment is at its conclusion, leaving the question, and the mystery of the missing Tiny Tears, and the Dalmation Puppy.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Sep 02, 2015 @ 23:18:12

    Clapping for you REALLY loudly! I swear, you could turn ANYTHING into a fairytale. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 03, 2015 @ 11:48:32

      Thank you! ( recorded the clapping, and am playing it on repeat) lol… I had said I was going to write the mystery of the Red Trunk after I did the photo challenge with it. And interestingly enough, the first Story A Day challenge was about people disappearing, so I decided to use that same prompt about things disappearing, and write tell the mystery of the Red Trunk… but it occurred to me it was SO Defying Reason, so my series is back in the game. I really enjoyed writing each additional chapter in that style.

      Like

      Reply

  2. shanjeniah
    Sep 03, 2015 @ 00:27:37

    Oh, a mystery literally within a mystery!

    And his name was David March, and he was a stuffed cat, and I kept him in my cedar chest until well after I was a mother….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 03, 2015 @ 11:50:43

      Oh cool! David March, a good name for a stuffed cat! 🙂 I hope that I will find where they were hidden away, eventually. I can’t consider the possibility that they were tossed out. It just doesn’t make sense. But I did get a sock monkey two years ago, just to give my inner child a gift for the loss. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • shanjeniah
        Sep 04, 2015 @ 22:06:41

        I’m told that David March owes his name to two characters on General Hospital when I was three.

        I hope your treasures surface from wherever they’re hiding. and a sock monkey sounds like a sweet gift for that inner little girl with the broken heart. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Sep 05, 2015 @ 10:33:57

          I watched General Hospital for years, with many years prior and after, as it is still on, aunt tells me. I’m not remembering a character David March, though there are so many that have come and gone, that it could have been a character before I ever came on board to watch, or even after. It does have me curious, though 🙂

          My sock monkey is named Cappy, for the character from GREEK, and I bought an alpaca (because of watching McLeod’s Daughters) and I named her Tess, and Cappy fell in love with her at first sight, and they got married (I have no memory of when lol) and they have a little ‘alponkey’ who I named Claire (also McLeod’s Daughters). 😀

          Yes, my little girl gets lots of ‘air’ time.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

          • shanjeniah
            Sep 05, 2015 @ 19:10:42

            I believe it was two characters – one named David, and the other with the last name of March. I don’t remember naming him, but that was his name.

            I don’t know GREEK or MacLeod’s Daughters, but my son wants an alpaca, and my daughter often ‘breeds’ her toys across species.

            Because we unschool, and I have an 11 year old daughter, my little girl has lots of play time, too. She happens to like Vulcans rather a lot….

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Sep 05, 2015 @ 19:52:13

              Oh, that makes it easier to see which characters David March was named for. 🙂
              We saw GREEK and McLeod’s Daughters on Netflix, fell in love with both, and just had to have them. GREEK was easy, because it was on a cable station, but McLeod’s Daughters is an Australian series, so we’re able to get just season one so far. So many series have come along since that we love.

              Vulcans are COOL! And I was surprised that I also loved the current Star Trek movies. We’re huge Firefly fans! We watch it through out the Thanksgiving weekend every year.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

              • shanjeniah
                Sep 05, 2015 @ 21:06:14

                fly is on my to-watch list, with my son, beginning romorrow! I’ve been told by people who should know that I’ll love it. I do enjoy me some Nathan Filion, so I figure I’ve got a head start there. =)

                I also found the movies better than I thought they’d be. Happy, happy. They could have been so bad, so easily…

                T’Pol is my most favorestest Vulcan (sorry, Spock!). Because, well, she’s T’POL!! And her with Trip…I adore all that delicious friction….

                I would probably watch more things on Netflix, if I watched less Enterprise…but, now, why would I want to do that?!

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply

                • Fimnora Westcaw
                  Sep 06, 2015 @ 00:03:15

                  Oh VERY cool @ Firefly watching now. You will love Nathan in it. I remember him as Joey Buchanan in OLTL… He grew up just fine and dandy!

                  True enough if you have something you love watching, anything else can wait. 😀

                  Did you mention you’re over in FFNET? OR AO3?

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply

                  • shanjeniah
                    Sep 06, 2015 @ 01:09:53

                    I think I have an odd memory of a child with that name…if I remember the right face, and I totally might not, he was a cutie!

                    He certainly is one now. =)

                    I’m looking forward to getting to know him in Firefly.

                    I’m not at any fan fiction sites yet…I take these stories as seriously as my non fan fiction stories, and I’m still revising, and I’m very slow at that. I have a LOT of material, though, so, once I gain momentum, I will have plenty to share…in the neighborhood of 2ooK so far.

                    I think I’m going to start at Ad Astra, which is Trek-specific. I might branch out a bit later, but I’m just getting my feet wet, and I want to do it a bit at a time…

                    But any input on specific sites would be greatly appreciated. =)

                    Liked by 1 person

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 07, 2015 @ 01:32:09

      Answering an earlier comment because I ran out of replies LOL

      I wanted to tell you about a site which I wrote at that I think might be a good place for you to showcase your fan fic writing, or any writing, in fact.

      You mentioned:

      “I think I’m going to start at Ad Astra, which is Trek-specific. I might branch out a bit later, but I’m just getting my feet wet, and I want to do it a bit at a time…
      But any input on specific sites would be greatly appreciate”

      The site is Pan Historia. It is free to join, and there are already established (novels) where people can write in collaboration, or you can work in other places where you are the sole writer.

      http://www.panhistoria.com/

      There is a science fiction category, and they may have a Star Trek novel, or you can find a novel like Short Cuts where you can post solo.

      There is AO3 (Archive of our own) which broke off from FFNET to have greater freedom in what is allowed.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • shanjeniah
        Sep 07, 2015 @ 10:01:40

        I knew about FFNet – I’ve read there some, and my daughter does frequently – and AO3, as well. Pan Historia is new to me, but I’ll be checking it out this fall – once TnT let me go (a little; they’re rather stubborn, both of them).

        Because Ad Astra is Trek only, it feels like a good place to begin and get feedback.

        Like

        Reply

  3. Ady
    Sep 03, 2015 @ 07:27:27

    Quite a mystery with the box remained mysterious in the end !!!! I love fairytales 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 03, 2015 @ 11:53:08

      Thank you! I am still befuddled about it to this day. And writing the story just made Mr Quantum and I puzzle over it some more. The strange part is why was the trunk dragged out to behind the shed, and covered up to begin with? Real life, is so much stranger than fiction sometimes. lol

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  4. platosgroove
    Sep 03, 2015 @ 10:09:27

    She is so good at fairytales because she is one of them. Most well crafted my friend.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

