Pick of the Litter

The wind howled like it was angry with the sky itself. Livvy hunkered down in the corner of her room where the box sat; the box with the precious cargo. Six little kittens, and her mamma told her she could only keep one. But that was the hardest thing to do, just pick one, when they were all so cute. She watched them all falling all over each other, and tried to see which one had that something special.

The two gray tiger stripped ones weren’t identical. One had white boots, and one did not. The two pure white kittens, with blue eyes, were exactly alike. It was so hard to tell them apart. And the last two of the litter were both two tone. One was mostly white, and a couple of black spots, and the other was black with a white belly, and white paws. That little black and white one was smaller than the others. Mamma had called it the runt of the litter. Livvy figured nobody else would want it, so that was the reason she decided to keep that one. She named her Oshi.

The storm was still raging when Livvy climbed into bed with the small black and white kitten, and told her what her name was. “You’re gonna stay with us, because you’re the most special.” She leaned in close and whispered in the small feline’s ear. “Don’t ever listen to anyone if they say anything about being a runt. Great things come in small packages, Mamma told me once.”

She cuddled up with her new companion. “I know, I’ll tell you a bedtime rhyme. It goes like this: Hey diddle, diddle, the cat and the fiddle, the cow jumped over the moon.” Livvy giggled. “Isn’t that just the funniest thing?” The cat purred, and snuggled into Livvy’s arms.

There was so much to tell her about. Livvy thought about how her sister always was writing in that journal, and kept it hidden under her pillow. Livvy thought that was pretty silly, if she did not want anyone to know what she had written about, since everyone could find it and read it. Not that Livvy could, herself. She was not even in first grade yet.  But telling secret thoughts to her little black and white cat, well, that was the safest place to put anything.

Just before she was falling off to sleep, Livvy noticed that the storm had passed.  “Do you hear that? The storm is over. I bet it is because I made my decision to keep you. What do you think?” She fell asleep thinking about that.

In the morning, Livvy brought Oshi to her mother, who was in her bedroom, taking the curlers out of her hair. “Mamma!” she said, holding up Oshi.  “I want to keep this one. I don’t care if she is the littlest one. She will be happy here.”

Her mother nodded. “You know, you are now responsible for feeding her.” She waited for Livvy to acknowledge this.  “I will show you how to do that. For now that will be your chore.” Livvy smiled. This was her first chore.  “Becky will clean the litter box.” Her smile was even bigger. That would be the yucky part, and she did not mind at all.

Livvy and her mother walked around the house while her mother explained a few rules. “You will have to make sure that Oshi doesn’t climb up curtains.” Livvy could not even imagine Oshi would ever do such a thing.  “And cupboards and doors should be kept closed so the little kitty doesn’t get locked away.”  That sounded like a good idea. Her best friend had told her that their puppy had gotten lost, but had really just been locked in a kitchen cabinet.

Her mother’s voice brought her back from remembering her friend’s story. “And under no circumstances is the cat allowed to get on the table where Daddy is playing a chess game with his friend.”

“Yes, Mamma. I mean, not mamma. No getting on the table.”

Cradling Oshi in her arms while she brought her back into her room, she explained all of the rules that her mother had given her. “I know you’ll be a good girl, and we won’t get yelled at.”

Sitting on her bed, she pointed out all of the things she had, that were now also Oshi’s. “See that?” she pointed at the wall mural. It was a beautiful rainbow, and on the far right side was the pot of gold. “mamma told me that pot there with yellow things in it was that piece of resistance. What does it look like to you?” Livvy shrugged. “I don’t even know what that means. But, you know what? There’s going to be lots of time for you and me to figure out all the riddles of life.”

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 18:56:00

    Aw, what a cute, well written little story! I hope that kitten lives a long time and hears all of Livvy’s secrets as she grows up.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. amommasview
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 20:33:13

    Love it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. calensariel
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 22:53:59

    Sounded just like a little girl. Guess we still remember that time, eh? Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. badfish
    Sep 09, 2015 @ 00:08:26

    Fim, soooo sorry. I’ve been busy. And trying to write. And I was involved in a 10-car pile up. My car is totaled. That’s my excuse. But I see you are just plowing ahead into the realm of your writing, and look at you coming up with all this stuff!!! A piece of resistance…love it. Your inner child is kicking up its heels, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 09, 2015 @ 12:29:13

      Oh no! are you okay??? I admit, I did miss you! 🙂

      Trying to plow is more like it. It’s been really difficult. My Muse is pissed off at me. I’m not paying as much attention to her as I am to my monsters. Addiction to monsters is serious business. 😛

      Yes, my inner child, that’s who is demanding I play with the monsters. That’s my excuse.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • badfish
        Sep 11, 2015 @ 00:20:03

        I’m fine, a bruised knew, a dinged calf, a little blood on my pants. And some black stuff on my pant leg where my knee hit the dash, and can’t get the black stuff off (blood came right out).
        You’re mused is not pissed. YOu are writing something ALL the time. There’s only so much in a mind. Yours has more than many! And it harbors some fairly odd little stuff, too. And it’s spooky sometimes. So….let the inner child run and ramble with monsters. Monsters can be good.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Sep 12, 2015 @ 13:24:19

          Glad to know you’re fine. So I’m thinking… life in Bali chilled you out so much that you haven’t gotten your home legs back yet?

          I’m not writing as much as I was, and I thought A Story A Day would get me back into it, but… not. Those monsters, they’re holding me captive. Don’t mind it though. It’s a most wonderful game. Inner Child rulez!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

          • badfish
            Sep 15, 2015 @ 22:13:39

            Yeah, fine, but now I have to go through the hassle of looking for a new car. And then the onerous gig of deciding buy a new on or a used one. Then…a Bentley or a Yaris. Life is hard. I don’t think I could write a story a day!!! YOU rule.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Sep 16, 2015 @ 20:02:44

              I love buying new, or even used. It’s an adventure. Your old car, was it new? or used? Did you like it? No clue what a Yaris is, but I can google it, I’m sure. So, toss a coin. Heads it’s new, tails it’s used; heads it’s a Bentley; tails it’s a Yaris. You could put up a poll, of course, and let us (or the majority of us, at any rate) so we can help you decide. 😛

              You could do Story a day if you wanted to. Like, you do meditation every day, or yoga, or other things you wish to do. It’s a matter of (quote alert) “What we have to decide, is what to do with the time that is given to us.”

              Thanks for the kudos, but the only thing I rule is this roost. 😀

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

              • badfish
                Sep 16, 2015 @ 23:15:07

                I used to love shopping for cars. Now it’s a hassle (here). My old car was four years old, but looked brand new inside and out, plastic still on the back seat, only 30,000 miles. I’ll miss that car.
                A poll!! Yeah. No…no polls, lordy knows what you guys will demand next.I did look at a Harley, but that’s just plain stupid here.
                Ruler of the Roost…and cyber roost!

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 22, 2015 @ 01:25:55

      You’re just going to drop this bomb, and leave us hanging? Or are you going for the cliffhanger? So? What happened?

      Like

      Reply

  5. Faraday's Candle
    Sep 09, 2015 @ 11:01:35

    Wow! How do you come up with all these ideas? Oshi is such a great name for a kitten & it’s wonderful that you pay homage to it’s life with this story. Were you as creative when you were a child?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 09, 2015 @ 12:34:41

      Thank you! It’s funny, I never used to consider keywords, but I guess they really DO help. I saw black and white cat, and that was enough to have the story come tumbling out. Oshi was named for (or after, in a sense) my neighbor’s sister’s new born baby, Oosha. I loved it, and wanted to name my new kitten something similar, so I came up with Oshi.

      I used to write as a child, when I learned how. I wrote two poems which one of our boarders had published in a poetry magazine when I was five years old. I think it was the fact that I made up two words for one of the poems. Looking back I have no idea exactly what those words were supposed to mean. lol

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

