The Sandbox Writing Challenge – Differences

THE SANDBOX WRITING CHALLENGE – what it is about me that I feel makes me different from everybody else?

This is what Lady Calen of Impromptu Promptlings asks us to write about this week.

It’s funny (peculiar) that I’ve always felt like the ‘mush in between,’ which is my phrase for being just like everybody else, nothing special, and so on. I’ve never considered myself particularly brilliant. I’m smart enough, but that’s just it. Is enough, enough? I was stick thin when I was growing up, so that put me in the ‘non-compos-mentis’ category, from my point of view.

So now that I’ve said a whole bunch about what doesn’t make me different, there is the other side of the coin. What does makes me different?

I don’t hide the side of me which dwells in the dark. Or perhaps, hide FROM it. I live in the Light and the Dark. I think that I have not let my demons cripple me entirely. My visualization skills are huge; the things I can imagine, see in my mind; the places I create in my mind are all so vivid to me that I find it difficult to believe they are not real.

Oh, yes, my complete, unabiding respect for all beings. I’m a champion bug rescuer. I think that’s pretty different. I also am able to pop out of the duldrums pretty quickly.

I’m a Fae!!! oh yes I am. And I act like it. 😀

What I wonder is what others would say makes me different from others? I know people can see in us what we can’t see. Just saying.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com
    Sep 09, 2015 @ 12:52:41

    Hey Fim,
    Thank you for sharing! It’s nice to know more about you. I’ve been hoping recently to increase my own visualization skills…and am pleased to know now that you are Fae! : ). Ka

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 09, 2015 @ 13:00:39

      I think our writing does give everyone a good sense of who we are, but when we’re having to actually voice it, then it’s us saying who we think we are. 🙂

      Music really helps me go places when visualizing. It’s not even something I try to do. I hear, and seeing happens.

      Are you ready for this coming Turning of the Wheel? I can’t wait to hit the pumpkin patches. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com
        Sep 09, 2015 @ 13:54:34

        Hi Fim,
        I agree that our writing provides insight to others about who we are, as we are always developing and changing. I can say I am especially right now undergoing fire. Currently I am undergoing a very rigorous program and training. My whole purpose for writing keeps changing.
        We are here in SoCal… it’s so very hot. I can feel the energetic shifts but there’s no autumn like you are experiencing. I am as ready as I ever will be 😉 I could use visualizing to improve my memory right about now. lol. Oh, I love this marvelous life!
        Much love, Ka

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Sep 09, 2015 @ 17:14:37

          I know intellectually I’m always changing, but some how emotionally I tend to feel I’m still the same. There are so many aspects to self, that it’s hard to see all of our parts. Though I do associate certain inner feelings with particular aspects. I’ll think, ‘oh, that’s the procrastinator who’s in the driver’s seat.’ I can feel what part of me is in control.

          EEKS @ undergoing fire, though, in truth, that’s creation, energy – from my own personal sense of what that means. I have had my times of being completely in a program – like moving into this house. Then, over the winter that changed, when I went into hibernation (I do that in winter). When I woke up, in January, I found myself in the year of The Lovers, which I felt was about following my passions. And I have been, but the downside of that is I am passionate for a certain time, and then something else comes along. So I admire you for your fortitude in following your program and training.

          Is it humid at all SoCal? I’ve been in Northern California. We’ve had a rather coolish summer until this last month when it actually turned hot. Now it’s refusing to go down out of the 90s. And there’s no A/C – which I don’t feel we necessarily need most of the time.

          I have no memory lol Or that’s how it feels. Words escape me, and I have to turn around and look at the counter when I’m cooking to remind myself why I walked across the kitchen. I play games on the computer to keep my brain in training.

          Love and Light,

          Fim

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

  2. calensariel
    Sep 09, 2015 @ 13:08:41

    What do I see as different about you? There’s one word that comes to mind immediately. You’re “otherworldly.” I see you as “spread out over the world” on so many levels. But maybe that means the same as being Fae? 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 5 — What Makes You Different? | Impromptu Promptlings
  4. Colette B
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 06:37:27

    Great post for difference, I like how phrase things and Calen’s comment about you being ‘otherworldly’ certainly comes out in your writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. JoHanna Massey
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 07:30:17

    Lovely post. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Fimnora Westcaw
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 11:10:11

    Thank you for your kind words. It’s lovely to see you again. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  7. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 18:39:34

    You mentioned to Ka that you admired her sticking to her program and training. Well, I see you sticking to your talented passion of writing. You have a curvy path. And you stray off of it, which is actually part of it. A circuitous, intuitive, imaginative, tangential, dark and light, growthful on the road less traveled path. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 30, 2015 @ 19:20:21

      Oh, Mary, what an extraordinary way of describing what you see. It made me think, ‘I want to meet myself.’ because I’ve never thought about what the course of my journey has been, but it’s like a connection was made when I read your words, “You have a curvy path. And you stray off of it, which is actually part of it…” I suddenly understood something I might have been too close to, to see (if that makes sense?). But more so, is your elaboration, “A circuitous, intuitive, imaginative, tangential, dark and light, growthful on the road less traveled path.” I had to retype it to feel it, because my inner self is clapping and dancing, as my intellect reaches out and touches the words to feel their substance.

      I thank you for your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  8. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 20:37:42

    I love that!! Big grin…and dancing and clapping with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 20:40:12

    and isn’t it fun to look into another’s eyes and see ourselves reflected there?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 20:40:46

    Well….virtual sort of eyes…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 30, 2015 @ 22:33:40

      It often feels so real, here. Perhaps it is a matter of that higher part of ourselves conversing, and we’re getting those glimpses. The power of words which can paint the picture of us we can’t quite see unless its reflected back.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

