Monday Music Medicine Show – Soundtracks

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Welcome to the Monday Medicine Show!

Besides all the popular music I love, I have a huge section of soundtracks in my music library. Before they even came out with CDs that feature a show’s theme tune for TV shows, I’d made up audio tapes of my favorite opening and/or closing credits. Of course, before that I’d been collecting full soundtrack albums from movies and Broadway shows. There are many newer series’ music which have been added to my play list.

It will come as no surprise to anyone who knows me (or who was following my journey through the 25 Songs, 25 Days event back in March of this year) that it is impossible for me to find that very favorite of all songs, in any genre to which I listen faithfully.

It’s no different with soundtrack music. Since I’d thought of the television show themes first, as I was putting this post together, I’ll begin there. Recently (meaning this century) I’ve added quite many TV series’ themes to my playlist.

From the nice family shows category, this is a sampling of the ones which have made it into the car’s playlist – that both Mr. Quantum and I listen to while driving around town.

When we moved into this house, and set up our Roku, we found several feel-good shows to watch. What they have in common is they all take place in small towns, nestled away from the hustle and bustle of the big cities.

First on the runway is a show which takes place in a quaint little Colorado town called, “Everwood.”

What was special about these kinds of shows was the fact that the main characters were relocated from that big city life, to small town living. One of the first I remember of this kind of show,  and one of my still favorite old shows to watch, is “Northern Exposure.”

After Everwood, we found “The Gilmore Girls,” which endeared us from the very beginning.

After each show comes to an end, we always believe that we’ll never find that next show we’ll fall in love with. Strangely, after The Gilmore Girls, we found the Southern version – which I swear must have used the same set (for the most part) for the town. Now we’re in the midst – or rather heading down the final stretch of this series, but happily, they’re still in production, so new shows will be coming up. “The Hart of Dixie,” is as charming and as much fun as the Gilmores was, so we’re happily getting our daily dose of it every afternoon, at lunch.

Yes, I know… all of 11 seconds worth… Where’s the fun in that? So, I bringing the slightly longer version, end credits:

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, have you a favorite TV Series theme song?  You know I want to hear it. Please share the songs that fit this situation. Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine Show—TV Theme Songs That Keep You Singing 🎶 | Spiritual Dragonfly
  2. Colette B
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 09:29:53

    Thank you so much for sharing the northern Exposure theme tune -I’ve not heard it for years! Lovely dose of musical medicine 🙂 cheers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 22, 2015 @ 10:42:22

      You’re very welcome, Colette! My heart is happy that you have come to see The Music Medicine Show 🙂 Were I to choose to live in one of the wonderful towns in the series I showcased, Cicely would be top of the list! There was great magic and healing in the experience spent with those amazing characters, in that beautiful town.
      I’m only sorry that the DVD took away all the original music. But I still do have the original VHS tapes from the series. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine Show — TV Theme Songs | Impromptu Promptlings
  4. calensariel
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 11:24:10

    Another great week! But I have to add one to mine. Think I’ll do a second post!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine Show — TV Theme Songs (part 2) | Impromptu Promptlings

Leave a Reply

