The Sandbox Writing Challenge – Perfection

The lovely Lady Calen has posed the question, at the playground of Impromptu Promptlings, what is my idea of perfection?

Obviously, Mama Gaia – All That Is. Of course, it should then follow that I am perfection. You are perfection. That said, why is there so much chaos? Perhaps, Chaos is perfection finding itself. Finding the patterns in the Chaos leads to perfection.

Is perfection the same for each of us? No, of course not, because the prompt is asking us what our idea of perfection is. Unless we all were to answer exactly the same, which I feel is highly unlikely, then that must mean perfection comes in as many guises as there are beings in the Universe.

Perhaps, perfection, being an abstract idea doesn’t exist… and doesn’t need to exist. It would make incarnation fruitless.

Food for thought. Welcome to the Beggars Banquet.

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. badfish
    Sep 29, 2015 @ 23:42:12

    Yeah, I think perfection is perfect. It may be the mind that clouds perfection from us, so that it might “seem” different to all of us. And if we could see out there in the cosmos (like Hubble has), we would see that the universe is a truly chaotic place, nothing stands still, things bump into other things and explode, things grow old and explode, things just explode for no reason, and if you get too near a black hole it sucks you in like a mad lover and never lets you go.
    So maybe you are right…either perfection doesn’t exist, or everything is perfect. Though when I look at my car sitting in the lot totaled…it doesn’t feel like perfection to me. Nor when I have to spend all that cash on a new car. But then, driving in the new car (with 12 audio speakers and a light that warns me of cars in my blind spot), things feel pretty dang good again.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

    • badfish
      Sep 30, 2015 @ 00:03:19

      I think my reply is as long as your post??? sorry…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 30, 2015 @ 10:15:00

      GMTA!!! And this line: “and if you get too near a black hole it sucks you in like a mad lover and never lets you go.” OMB!!! What an exquisite metaphor! It just rocked my world.

      Sad about the car. Brings the song, “It So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday,” to mind. Sounds like you’re driving in style now. In time, you might even find the years spent driving the other car have become dreamlike. Saw you say something somewhere that the end of one thing is the beginning of another. Transitions are constantly unfolding.

      Like

      Reply

      • badfish
        Oct 01, 2015 @ 22:02:44

        I had a lover in 1972 (oh, what a year!) who will never let me go. I hope she’s not reading this. A red head, and psychic! And a gold digger…but I had no gold. That was my 1972.
        And yeah, nothing as constant as change. I like the idea of a new beginning with change. Just don’t like spending the money on a new car I didn’t need or want. Isn’t there a saying about someone who always wants to moan about things?

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Oct 08, 2015 @ 15:03:45

          This shows up as Oct 1st, and I just got it in my email. I think they’re getting as bad as the postal service. Geez.

          LOL @ red head psychic. Won’t tell you the spookiness of that at all. 😛

          Hmmm… a saying about someone who always wants to moan about things? Let me think on that. First thing that came to mind was that one about the kid who cried wolf? Doesn’t seem to fit. But I’ll bet there should be a saying about it. As Lorelei Gilmore says, Oy with the moaning already (paraphrasing that).

          Like

          Reply

          • badfish
            Oct 10, 2015 @ 01:37:21

            Email…I know. And other stuff happens with things in WP. And hotmail. I hate technology when it doesn’t do what I tell it when I tell it…and FAST. My laptop is now acting up…going slow, twirly little balls of color…real SLOW.
            I love the Gilmore Girls!! Love them. Does that make me a wuss?

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Oct 11, 2015 @ 00:25:51

              YAY! @ loving The Gilmore girls… and NFW, you are NOT a wuss for loving them. They have brought much fun and laughter into our house! And it continues in the Hart of Dixie, which we have come to believe was made by the same people, and filmed on the same set… it’s pretty much GG Southern style. 🙂

              On the computer front… never let your machinery know when you’re in a hurry. Just hang out and let it do its thing. Remember to hit SAVE (or copy/paste it into a note pad for backup). Show that (pardon the expression) ‘bad’ boy who’s boss. 😛

              Like

              Reply

              • badfish
                Oct 11, 2015 @ 07:32:19

                I know…they were just so witty and cool and smart. And well, not bad to stare at a while. Funny though: the kid was outrageously gorgeous in Series 1 and the mother OK. At the end, the mother was hot, the daughter not so much. I mean we’re talking a few degrees here.

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply

  2. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 8 — What is your idea of perfection? | Impromptu Promptlings
  3. calensariel
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 00:27:57

    Absolutely marvelous answer! And I actually understood what you said. I bloomin’ amazed. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Faraday's Candle
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 10:12:24

    Perfection is too subjective and once you adapt to what you think is perfect, your definition of it changes!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 18:48:19

    I love your trains of thought!
    Hey, guess what! I went to retreats at the Edgar Cayce Foundation too! 1970 and 71. Haha. Love Virginial Beach.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Sep 30, 2015 @ 19:30:27

      I went in the early 80s! (I had to think for a moment when I was there, then remembered I was in Colorado in the 70s, after I graduated college.

      That place was so cool! We stayed at a hotel right on the beach, and one of the things which most remains with me is waking up early in the morning and walking out on the beach and seeing dolphins playing out in the ocean! The whole week was really great fun, and I found some books in the gift shop which I treasure for what they brought to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  6. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 20:33:26

    I never saw dolphins there, but I remember sea foam blowing on the beach on a stormy day. I loved that book store and the library. Such an interesting place!! It felt good. I just wanted to take in all the information there. I think the conference hotel was on the beach, but I camped nearby. I was only 17, and couldn’t afford a hotel. Another fun connection!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Colette B
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 21:48:14

    Interesting exploration of the prompt 🙂 I enjoyed the idea of ‘Perhaps, Chaos is Perfection finding itself’. I agree perfection is ‘an abstract idea’ so maybe doesn’t exist 🙂 enjoyed reading this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. susurrus
    Oct 06, 2015 @ 06:47:06

    What a great idea ‘Chaos is perfection finding itself!’

    I often think imperfect things are perfect: take songs for instance. Some of the bands I’m fondest of have singers who don’t sing in tune. Their singing may not be technically perfect, but something in the delivery or musicality or plain old attitude makes it seem perfect… to me!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 06, 2015 @ 18:20:07

      It’s like when a Persian (?) rug is made. There is always one small part which is not ‘in line,’ a small imperfection, which because of it, make the carpet perfect.

      I definitely know what you mean about how some singers’ quirks, can lead to something that touches me in my perfect spot. It’s the relationship between the one who delivers the music, and the one who receives it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  9. trablogger
    Oct 13, 2015 @ 02:06:33

    Come to India, you will find a lot of perfection (in chaos) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

