The First Monday In October Music Medicine Show

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Welcome to the Monday Medicine Show

Today is the First Monday In October – from the movie of the same name. Mr. Quantum and I have what we call our Wheel movies. These are movies we watch faithfully every year. The first Monday in October is the opening session of the Supreme Court every year. The film is based on the trials (pun intended) and tribulations of the first female Justice to sit on the Bench. The two main characters are brilliantly played by Walter Matheau and Jill Clayburgh. It was Q, who introduced me to the movie. He’s quite political minded and way more interested in current events than I am. Though I do have my causes which I support.

If you have not seen the movie, I am sure that you still might know that some of the music used in the film would be a March. You’d be right:

Other favorite marches I love:

This one reminds me of my mother. She was in the Women’s Army Corp, during World War Two, where she met my father, and of course, when the soundtrack for Bridge Over the River Kwai came out, it was one of the pieces my mom loved because of her fond memories of friends she made there. It’s actually called The Colonel Bogey March.

Another I’ve loved since I first heard it is Stars and Stripes Forever:

I’m a hugh fan of brass instruments, thus marches, and John Phillip Sousa, loom large in our collection of records, CDs and can also be heard on our MP3 devices.

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, in the military, or political music arena, which are your chosen tunes that you grew up hearing and are part of your culture?

Please share the songs that fit this situation. You know I want to hear it. Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. annacottage
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 10:18:30

    Who could not remember the theme from “The Bridge on the River Kwai” and William Holden one of my favourite Actors and the wonderful Alec Guinnes. Thanks for the memory, always reminds me too that is where my late Husband was with the RAF during the last War, mainly India trying to stop the Japanese getting through Burma to India. I was not even born then but I know the stories only too well and the film.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. calensariel
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 14:13:04

    Loved Bridge on the River Kwai. Here’s my contribution: https://promptlings.wordpress.com/2015/10/05/monday-music-medicine-show-marches/ 😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. jabrush1213
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 16:55:05

    Bridge on the River Kwai is a classic score. I think that it is fantastic that you were able to make a connection from the music with your own mother.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 05, 2015 @ 17:28:41

      Yes, it is a great and classic score! There are quite many during that period of WW2 movies that had excellent soundtracks. Might have to do a whole MMMS on soundtracks for WW2 films. 🙂

      With a mother who was in the armed services, and having a great many of her personal favorite songs from the 40s on my own playlist, it is a constant connection.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  4. Faraday's Candle
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 08:57:40

    Monday’s Music Medicine Show is wonderful all week long!! It a great way to start the week! There is something so vibrant about the sound of brass instrumental music!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. JoHanna Massey
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 16:32:32

    Mitch Miller! Haven’t thought about him and the music for years. So much a part of my growing up years! Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

